HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 12, 2012, 12:55 PM
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Aug 2011
30 Posts
Help!
DLE Throttle problem

I bought a new DLE 20cc Gasser and I'm having problems with the throttle. During setup I adjusted the throttle travel on the servo so that it will open all the way and close all the way when I move the transmitter stick. Once I started the plane for the first time, I noticed that at 1/3 throttle the engine was already running at full RPM. The Idle was normal.
This is my first gasser and everything I've learned has been on countless hours of reading here through these threads but canít find anything on this problem. Since I'm a rookie with these gassers I didnít adjust any of the needles from factory. Is it simply just needle adjustment or do I have to set the travel of the servo a lot less? Please Help.
By the way, the engine started on a dime great little engine.
Mikep0011 is offline Find More Posts by Mikep0011
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 12, 2012, 02:21 PM
The Prez....... again
United States, IA, Rockwell
Joined Jul 2011
3,937 Posts
From what I understand this is kind of a characteristic of the gas engines. I've heard some will introduce a throttle curve to help smooth out the transition from low speed to high. Make sure you have the correct size prop so as not to load the engine to much reducing the RPM at WOT.

Hopefully, someone will be along shortly to confirm this info as I'm not 100% sure of it all.

Ken
kenh3497 is online now Find More Posts by kenh3497
Old Nov 12, 2012, 03:04 PM
white lake michigan
Joined Oct 2004
3,756 Posts
You need to set the throttle up as close to the diagram at this link. Scroll down the page to post 21 for the diagram. You might want to read the whole thread seeing as its your first gasser.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_8673009/tm.htm#
unclecrash is offline Find More Posts by unclecrash
Last edited by unclecrash; Nov 12, 2012 at 03:09 PM.
Old Nov 12, 2012, 03:05 PM