HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 10, 2012, 04:16 PM
United States, OH, Amesville
Joined Nov 2012
149 Posts
Discussion
An old newbie... a new oldster...

Hi,

I'm Dan. When I was a kid (LBJ was president) my dad had an RC plane. It was soooo expensive I seldom got to fly it. Mostly I flew control line planes. I always wanted an RC plane, but back then it would have cost a whole summer bean picking money. Too much.

I "grew up", got a job, got married, all that stuff. Then a few months ago I was digging through my closets and I found a Gentle Lady kit... I forget when I bought it - it had been sitting there for years. I decided it was time.

So, I scoured the internet to find blogs and forums about Gentle Ladies. This forum has helped a LOT. I've been cutting and sanding and gluing for a couple of months. During that time I've become attached to my plane - acetone helped.

Meanwhile, the bug had bitten me. I didn't want to wait the month or so until I finished my Gentle Lady. SO, I bought a Hawk Sky. It arrived yesterday. I charged the battery, built it up, and waited for this morning.

This blog will be about my ... learning curve.
Dan_D is offline Find More Posts by Dan_D
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 10, 2012, 04:29 PM
Joined Nov 2012
149 Posts
Flight 1

Okay, it's MORNING. Time to get the Hawk Sky into the sky. I carry everything out to our hayfield and set up a table. I turn on the transmitter, I plug in the receiver. I get...

BEEP *wait* BEEP *wait* BEEP - None of the controls work. Do I have to bind it? I try this, I try that. Nothing.

Checking this forum, I find that the Dynam transmitters need to bind to the receiver within 12 seconds, while the lights are flashing. Well, those furshlurgener red connectors on the battery are NOT conducive to such rapidity... so, a little work with an Xacto, and now they are redesigned, tapered, and slide nicely. BUT, it still protects the contacts. I can connect in 4 seconds. YAY.