HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:23 AM
use the 4s luke, use the 4s...
scrub monkey's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Booyal
Joined Sep 2012
850 Posts
Discussion
Voltage dropper

I've had it up to here (imagine holding hand at head height) with the ubec. I've got this ubec and this switch with a 7.4v 1000mah lipo. In order I've got battery, switch, ubec, rx. I haven't got the little blue plug on the ubec but I've got an old servo plug which the middle and one outside wire have been joined as a substitute. I have a faint light on the orange rx but it won't rebind. I want to know if there is a method to drop the voltage other than with the ubec. Or am I missing something. It is in a 40 size profile with 5 standard size analogue servos. Btw the orange rx is just for setting up the servos on the bench. I'm using a different system altogether to fly it.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idproduct=4319
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idproduct=4309
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idproduct=9170
scrub monkey is offline Find More Posts by scrub monkey
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 09, 2012, 09:45 AM
Registered User
Florida
Joined Aug 2004
4,062 Posts
If you have a spare 4 or 5 cell Nixx type battery around, just power the bench receiver with that, plug the battery into any unused channel and leave the bat channel open for the binding plug.
Rodney is offline Find More Posts by Rodney
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:02 PM
use the 4s luke, use the 4s...
scrub monkey's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Booyal
Joined Sep 2012
850 Posts
I don't have any nixx batteries as I don't have a charger for Nimh or nicad batteries. I only have a balance charger for lipo (hence the reson for using lipo rx pack.
scrub monkey is offline Find More Posts by scrub monkey
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:47 AM
use the 4s luke, use the 4s...
scrub monkey's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Booyal
Joined Sep 2012
850 Posts
I got it sorted. The ubec must have skipped a step in the factory as it had no capacitor on it. The other one that came in a box of spare I bought had one on it and it worked first time.
scrub monkey is offline Find More Posts by scrub monkey
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion RC Hook and Bait-Dropper ROV/Boat Massastan ROV - Remotely Operated Vehicles 5 Nov 12, 2012 11:10 PM
Mini-HowTo UFO halloween candy dropper project justkeepingbusy Power Systems 1 May 19, 2012 02:38 PM
Discussion 'Voltage Droppers' sabre2 DIY Electronics 10 Nov 04, 2007 07:56 AM
Plastic Flour Bomb(Egg) Dropper...Check It Out putt_13 Electric Plane Talk 27 Sep 11, 2002 04:25 PM