HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:21 PM
hey whats burning?
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Oct 2007
666 Posts
I put rudders on mine and they do help a lot. I used two HS65's, ran one more wire for the signal and pulled the power from the existing servo wire. Then crimped my own plug at the tail so theres only one connection.
metalbender4by is online now Find More Posts by metalbender4by
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2006
29 Posts
Very Nice......
power67 is offline Find More Posts by power67
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:36 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2006
29 Posts
Metalbender, do you have a scale? can you weigh your tail group and let us know what it is?
power67 is offline Find More Posts by power67
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:56 PM
hey whats burning?
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Oct 2007
666 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by power67 View Post
Metalbender, do you have a scale? can you weigh your tail group and let us know what it is?
Its 5oz's with out the booms. Heres a couple pictures of how I did the wires. I put velcro on the two plugs and the stab so once there plugged in i stick them to the velcro and they wont unplug.
metalbender4by is online now Find More Posts by metalbender4by
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:24 PM
hey whats burning?
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Oct 2007
666 Posts
Heres a picture of the rudder linkage. I also added rear wing tube to help controll the movment in the booms. It really made difference in the way the plane handles.

I also used a db15 plug for my sero wires and my gps so theres less wires to plug in. I kept my video wires seperate to avoid any interferance.
metalbender4by is online now Find More Posts by metalbender4by
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:26 PM
hey whats burning?
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Oct 2007
666 Posts
Oops. I forgot a picture.
metalbender4by is online now Find More Posts by metalbender4by
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 06:38 PM
If it's to be, it's up to me.
subsonic's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jan 2007
3,069 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalbender4by View Post
Its 5oz's with out the booms. Heres a couple pictures of how I did the wires. I put velcro on the two plugs and the stab so once there plugged in i stick them to the velcro and they wont unplug.
I like your four pin servo connectors. Where did you get them?
subsonic is offline Find More Posts by subsonic
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:09 PM
hey whats burning?
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Oct 2007
666 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subsonic View Post
I like your four pin servo connectors. Where did you get them?
I get the housings from http://www.hansenhobbies.com/. They have a bunch of sizes. They even have the latching connectors. Then I crimp what ever number of wires I need.
metalbender4by is online now Find More Posts by metalbender4by
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:17 PM
Registered User
USA, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2007
484 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalbender4by View Post
I put rudders on mine and they do help a lot. I used two HS65's, ran one more wire for the signal and pulled the power from the existing servo wire. Then crimped my own plug at the tail so theres only one connection.
Any chance you could try flying with only one rudder active? I'd love to know if that is sufficient. Given that the design starts with zero, I hope one is enough.
Reegor is offline Find More Posts by Reegor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:24 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,488 Posts
Sufficient for what? It flies just fine with no rudders.
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:43 PM
hey whats burning?
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Oct 2007
666 Posts
I added rudders because I like using them. Makes nice flat turns, slip into tighter landing spot and if I decide to do landing gear I can steer it. That being said the plane does fly great with out them, its personal preference. As far as only using one rudder, it would probably be fine. I've seen other twin boom planes that use just one.
metalbender4by is online now Find More Posts by metalbender4by
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 10:46 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Huntington Beach
Joined Dec 2012
405 Posts
wow page 5
CambriaHobby is offline Find More Posts by CambriaHobby
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 03:30 AM
define("BEASTMODE", "1");
KeithLuneau's Avatar
United States, LA, Moreauville
Joined Jan 2002
4,359 Posts
Just a quick peak at my finished belly pan and decals to keep the thread moving...

Installing the last few bits now, should have it in the air by the weekend!
KeithLuneau is offline Find More Posts by KeithLuneau
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:34 AM
FPV Engineer
skyhunter_1's Avatar
China, Fujian, Xiamen
Joined Nov 2012
79 Posts
use Multi- rotor pan
skyhunter_1 is offline Find More Posts by skyhunter_1
Last edited by skyhunter_1; Jan 31, 2013 at 06:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:34 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Huntington Beach
Joined Dec 2012
405 Posts
Sky Hunter1
Is that the new landing gear kit?
CambriaHobby is offline Find More Posts by CambriaHobby
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product New FPV PLANE: Bormatec FPV rclab1 FPV Aircraft 108 Mar 16, 2014 08:29 AM
Discussion Discrimination against individuals professing strong belief in the supernatural? H2SO4 Life, The Universe, and Politics 62 Feb 26, 2014 02:46 PM
Cool Skyhunter - New 1.8m twintail FPV/UAV EPO platform vigor FPV Talk 58 Nov 26, 2012 05:54 PM
Sold Complete FPV Plane, Ground Station, Autopilot, Dual Camera 27x zoom + more NEW crd Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Mar 09, 2012 09:22 PM
Sold Complete FPV Plane, Ground Station, Autopilot, Dual Camera 27x zoom + more NEW crd FPV Equipment (FS/W) 5 Mar 06, 2012 07:01 PM