HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:07 PM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
Ok, Back from my reserve sequence,

I put each (1s) cell with my B6AC charger and discharged each one to 3.85v. Took the best ones and recharged them to 160mah capacity using my parallel 1s lipo harness (Or, should I have to specify 960mah total for the six in parallel charging instead?).

Now I do have some 7(1s) lipos that when put into the storage discharge they dropped like rockets that ran out of fuel!.. And I am considering recycling charge / discharge.
But Houston ... We have a problem!!. The menus show no charge/discharge cycling.!! only for the NiCd/NiMh etc types, but not for lipos....Soooo The big question is :
How do I cycle charge discharge them (Lipos)?

Thanks again for your help

Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:09 PM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
........And, can I recycle them in parallel? Since all of them have the same residual voltage?

Thanks again.
Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:20 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Livermore
Joined Jan 2012
946 Posts
Only my ichargers have cycling for LiPo. My cheapo AC6 does not. So you have to cycle manually. You should have a "discharge" mode on your charger. This will take the batteries lower (3.3V probably). Then charge them back up. Then repeat. If you don't have a discharge mode in your charger, either get a better charger or you can connect a motor to the to run them down. Just don't go lower than 3.3V. Some people also use light bulbs to discharge batteries.
rhodesengr is offline Find More Posts by rhodesengr
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 05:39 PM
Registered User
Petefoss's Avatar
Oxford, Michigan, United States
Joined Aug 1999
2,453 Posts
I use the NiMH discharge capability on my Turnigy charger to discharge. It lets you set a current and a cutoff voltage. The LIPO discharge got to 3V/cell and you sent the number of cells. Too low IMHO.
Petefoss is online now Find More Posts by Petefoss
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:23 PM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
Thanks for your replies.

Petefoss, what does IMHO stand for?. And if I can charge in parallel, can I also discharge in parallel as long as all 1s cells have the same voltage?

Thanks again.
Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:49 PM
Registered User
Petefoss's Avatar
Oxford, Michigan, United States
Joined Aug 1999
2,453 Posts
In My Humble Opinion.

Yes you can discharge in parallel. Just make sure cells are at the same voltage when you connect them. It's much safer than charging that way since if they are in parallel they are at the same voltage. I don't like charging in parallel. Too much chance of bad things happening.
Petefoss is online now Find More Posts by Petefoss
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 09:54 PM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
Thanks again Petefoss.

I will try it tomorrow, and keep you posted.
Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 08:38 AM
I live on LiPos
RcAirplaneNoob's Avatar
United States, DE
Joined Jul 2012
691 Posts
I had the same problem and it turned out i somehow had the motor trimmed to 0 i probably have to thank my brother for that one.
RcAirplaneNoob is offline Find More Posts by RcAirplaneNoob
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:00 PM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
Thanks for your reply RcAirplaneNoob, however, I am preety new into this arena although I am learning a bunch!. What do you mean by 0 i ? Whas it that you programmed your esc for a lvc of zero volts? I understand that is too chancy of ruining your lipo!

Take care.
Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Last edited by Turbopropdrive; Nov 25, 2012 at 11:03 PM. Reason: Wrong smiley between words.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:04 PM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Should I or shouldn't I? JSS4 Off-road Cars 18 Apr 09, 2012 12:00 PM
Question T-REX 500 RTF, should i or shouldn't i? D-Sci Electric Heli Talk 3 May 19, 2009 04:23 AM
Discussion Should I or shouldn't I? lrsudog Life, The Universe, and Politics 131 Aug 20, 2006 02:43 PM
Should I, or Shouldn't I? squidbait Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 2 Jun 23, 2004 09:31 AM
Piccolo Deal, should I ... or shouldn't I johnbyrne Micro Helis 3 Jan 05, 2004 10:33 AM