HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 06, 2012, 10:58 PM
USA, WA, Ellensburg
Joined Mar 2004
206 Posts
Question
How to make leading edge stock?

Can anyone tell me what type of router bit would be needed to make leading edge stock? There was a thread at:
http://controlline.org.uk/phpBB2/vie...690571ff2a835a

on the Barton controlline forum about that but the bit being recommended is not available here in the USA and have not spotted an equivalent that is sold here. Does anyone know of such a bit sold here in the US?
Mooney_Driver is offline Find More Posts by Mooney_Driver
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 07, 2012, 12:12 AM
Reduce the drama...
USA, OR, Damascus
Joined Apr 2004
4,044 Posts
Roundover/ Beading router bit
http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?p...7&site=ROCKLER
http://www.homedepot.com/Featured-Pr...&storeId=10051
rick.benjamin is offline Find More Posts by rick.benjamin
Last edited by rick.benjamin; Nov 07, 2012 at 12:34 AM.
Old Nov 07, 2012, 03:52 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,453 Posts
harborfreight.. home depot, lowes, ace.. etc ..etc very very common bit. easier to just buy from the LHS
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Nov 07, 2012, 04:13 PM
Reduce the drama...
USA, OR, Damascus
Joined Apr 2004
4,044 Posts
Mooney_Driver lives in Ellensberg WA.
The link to Home Depot in Yakema WA.
Rural farming, forest country
Old Nov 07, 2012, 06:54 PM
USA, WA, Ellensburg
Joined Mar 2004
206 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick.benjamin View Post
The 1/8" radius is cheap enough right now but wonder what size(s) are actually needed? To make a 1" x 1" leading edge stock or 1"x3/4" or even 1/2" x 1/2" what bits are needed for example?

I also got the impression from the Barton thread that just a regular round over bit would not actually do it since they are more circular than eliptical and the eliptical round over would be required. Am I mistaken?

Thank you.