Thread Tools
Old Dec 31, 2012, 02:06 PM
hemiblas is offline
Find More Posts by hemiblas
Registered User
United States, CO, Aurora
Joined May 2009
669 Posts
I'm not sure if it matters, but my turnigy plush esc have trouble with my ntm motors. I've switched to something better since then.
hemiblas is offline Find More Posts by hemiblas
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2013, 07:55 PM
TTRotary is offline
Find More Posts by TTRotary
Rangers Lead the Way
Joined Mar 2010
2,485 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dacono Air View Post
check the magnets as well, just a guess but if there's one askew it could cause overlap timing problems (if that makes sense)
i agree. The reviews on HK have complaints of loose magnets on this motor. This is getting old, stupid and annoying. It may have been tolerable when their outrunners were $25, but at $45 and up nowadays, it is unacceptable.

You may want to also be sure your ESC is set on high timing.
TTRotary is offline Find More Posts by TTRotary
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 08:11 PM
hemiblas is offline
Find More Posts by hemiblas
Registered User
United States, CO, Aurora
Joined May 2009
669 Posts
Are we supposed to be running these on high timing?
hemiblas is offline Find More Posts by hemiblas
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 12:24 PM
TTRotary is offline
Find More Posts by TTRotary
Rangers Lead the Way
Joined Mar 2010
2,485 Posts
Yes.
TTRotary is offline Find More Posts by TTRotary
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 12:30 PM
theheed is offline
Find More Posts by theheed
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
33 Posts
i tried it with one of my newer lipo's and although there was a slight pulse, it was only one. itr was hooked up to my watt meter and hardly a drop in voltage.

re tested on the first pack and the pulse was slightly harder. looks like esc trait to me? funny its all turnigy..

im runining my plush on low timing by the way.

once i get it mounted and propped up ill put results up.
theheed is offline Find More Posts by theheed
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 05:32 PM
TTRotary is offline
Find More Posts by TTRotary
Rangers Lead the Way
Joined Mar 2010
2,485 Posts
I have many Plush controllers in use (basically all I use) with everything from ARC EDF inrunners to Power 110 outrunners and have never had an issue with them, let alone a timing issue. I have to suspect a motor issue here. I have a NTM 5050 as a spare motor and will hook it up tonight to a plush and see if there are any issues.

Edit - re-read your post - you need to be on high timing...that's your issue right there.
TTRotary is offline Find More Posts by TTRotary
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 05:45 PM
Hookedbad is offline
Find More Posts by Hookedbad
Registered User
Joined Jun 2013
4 Posts
I ordered this motor for a Ultimate foamie biplane scratch build that I blew up to 60" it is coming in at 9 pounds AUW I have a Turnigy dlux 100A SBEC Brushless Speed Controller and I was and a Turnigy nano-tech 5000mah 6S 25~50C Lipo Pack I was planning on running the 15x8 prop that the sight said would supply 6.15kg of thrust but after reading hear I hesitate ...will this motor be enough for the plane and what prop should supply its max thrust without burning it up
Hookedbad is offline Find More Posts by Hookedbad
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 07:05 AM
soaringtuna is offline
Find More Posts by soaringtuna
Registered User
Canada, ON, Guelph
Joined Jul 2004
206 Posts
I've been contemplating this motor for a 7.5-8 lbs decathlon from seagull, 14x7x3 prop on 5s because I have a few. Good option, or do I keep searching for a different motor?
soaringtuna is offline Find More Posts by soaringtuna
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 09:35 AM
Doug Bartley is offline
Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Registered User
Doug Bartley's Avatar
Canada, ON, Owen Sound
Joined Oct 2008
3,685 Posts
Another issue that may be cropping up is Plush Esc's have no means of adjusting the PWM rate! I have used them very successfully on motors designed for 8pwm. Some of the HK motors seems to prefer a 12pwm rate. I have some Sk5055-320's that ran ok on the 8pwm, but only produced 550watts on 6s. Changing the pwm to 12, it immediately jumped to 1050watts!! I used the TZ85A Esc with its programming card that allows the pwm rate to be changed. The actual timing should be changed if the motor stutters or screeches at any rpm. Normal default on any esc I've used is Low. If a motor stutters, I'll go up to Med first, and only High timing if it refuses to cooperate. Be sure that all connections are 100% as already suggested, that can cause the stuttering/ screeching too. On anything over 4s, I use the HXT 6mm connectors to assure 100%connections. fwiw Doug B
Doug Bartley is offline Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 09:41 AM
soaringtuna is offline
Find More Posts by soaringtuna
Registered User
Canada, ON, Guelph
Joined Jul 2004
206 Posts
Any thoughts on the reliability of this motor now that it's been used a while? Looks nice, just wondering about longevity.
soaringtuna is offline Find More Posts by soaringtuna
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 05:50 AM
spikerspike97 is offline
Find More Posts by spikerspike97
Registered User
Joined May 2015
78 Posts
HI everyone

I have ordered an NTM prop drive 50-50. Is it enough for a 1700mm/68" cap 232 4.2kg weight with engine on 6s?
spikerspike97 is offline Find More Posts by spikerspike97
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 12:24 PM
Doug Bartley is offline
Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Registered User
Doug Bartley's Avatar
Canada, ON, Owen Sound
Joined Oct 2008
3,685 Posts
I'd use a 5060 sized motor on a 10 lb plane, with a kv around 400-440 for a 16" prop or drop to a 380 kv and use 17". IMo the 5050 580 is maxed out on a 14" on 6s, despite HK claims.
Even then be sure to do the magnet checks and tighten in all set screws with Blue Locktite.fwiw HK has the SK3 series motors in both 5050 and 5065 sizes, in 320, and 430 KV.I'd use the 430 with a 16/17" prop and the 320 with and 18" on the cap232. Doug B
Doug Bartley is offline Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 01:15 PM
hemiblas is offline
Find More Posts by hemiblas
Registered User
United States, CO, Aurora
Joined May 2009
669 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spikerspike97 View Post
HI everyone

I have ordered an NTM prop drive 50-50. Is it enough for a 1700mm/68" cap 232 4.2kg weight with engine on 6s?
This is just me, but I would go with a slightly bigger motor for that large of a plane with a lower kv and the ability to run a larger prop. That is a pretty high kv motor for its size and as mentioned 14" prop on 6s is about right. I think I had a 15" but I'm 6k feet above sea level so it works out to about the same.

Also, do you want to do 3d? or just sport flying. That will make a difference. I always like to overpower my planes just in case of a stall.

I bet it could be done and the plane will fly scale, but dont expect to push the plane to any limits with that motor.

No info on longevity on this motor, the only plane I built with it lost radio signal on its first flight and it hit the ground at 100mph in my tower razor, running a 15" prop, 6s 5000mah and castle 100A esc.
hemiblas is offline Find More Posts by hemiblas
Last edited by hemiblas; Aug 24, 2015 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2015, 08:21 AM
spikerspike97 is offline
Find More Posts by spikerspike97
Registered User
Joined May 2015
78 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemiblas View Post
This is just me, but I would go with a slightly bigger motor for that large of a plane with a lower kv and the ability to run a larger prop. That is a pretty high kv motor for its size and as mentioned 14" prop on 6s is about right. I think I had a 15" but I'm 6k feet above sea level so it works out to about the same.

Also, do you want to do 3d? or just sport flying. That will make a difference. I always like to overpower my planes just in case of a stall.

I bet it could be done and the plane will fly scale, but dont expect to push the plane to any limits with that motor.

No info on longevity on this motor, the only plane I built with it lost radio signal on its first flight and it hit the ground at 100mph in my tower razor, running a 15" prop, 6s 5000mah and castle 100A esc.
Well I have already ordered it. So I don't have the possibility to change, I just wanted to say that the plane weights 4.2kg with engine, battery, and all things around, slightly less. I have ordered a 15x8 prop. I hope it works ^^
Other tips from your side?
spikerspike97 is offline Find More Posts by spikerspike97
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2015, 08:29 AM
hemiblas is offline
Find More Posts by hemiblas
Registered User
United States, CO, Aurora
Joined May 2009
669 Posts
Yeah if you were planning on running a 15x8 and not a larger prop, then this motor on 6s will work just great.
hemiblas is offline Find More Posts by hemiblas
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 4258 turnigy ntm motor on sebart angel 50 theheed Power Systems 0 Nov 06, 2012 08:54 AM
Discussion Turnigy Park480 vs NTM Prop Drive Series 35-30 NetCode Power Systems 10 May 17, 2012 05:40 PM
For Sale Turnigy NTM 42-58 500kv LICobra Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 Feb 10, 2012 03:55 PM
Sold Turnigy NTM Prop Drive Series 35-30A 1400kv scottc39 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 6 Jan 02, 2012 07:12 AM
Question How similar are Turnigy, SK3, and NTM motors? wopachop Power Systems 5 Nov 28, 2011 12:33 PM