Old Nov 04, 2012, 05:06 PM
United States, KY, Bowling Green
Joined Nov 2012
12 Posts
Question
What the Heck Have I Got (NOOB HERE!)

Hey Folks,

Joined as soon as I noticed that HobbyKing had a forum;

At the risk of sounding like a 'one-timer', I'm gonna make a few statements to indicate my interest, commitment, and proficiency level, and move on to my first post, which is--yes--a BIG, Dumb, NOOB of a question, I'm quite sure:
(Spoiler: My question is basically "What is it?").

Basically, I've been interested in flying R/C stuff for years--just the flying stuff, mainly electronic, too. I never once enjoyed even the idea of owning an R/C car; for some reason (basically--FLIGHT!!), I just enjoy doing R/C 'e-flight' stuff so far.

I'm fairly poor, so I don't have ANY expendable income, so...'That's no fun', I know.

I recently moved into a 'shangri la' type neighborhood, where I have tons of land (acreage) and blindly bought an R/C heli, only after shopping for years, and then, only USED, and only a small, 'toy', WiFli unit, which I'm sure you all know as having been sold originally at Radio Shack--an app-controlled device.

I rate my experience with that little chopper at around a '10' (1 to 10), because I quickly realized how much fun I was having, even at around the mere 5 mins. of flight time on an hour-long charge (at least--the thing's like my phone...yeesh!).

I solidly trounced it right-out-of-the-box, and quickly 'broke' it in pretty much literally, crashing it around 30 times my first night out.

I said 'out', I meant it--yes, I took the thing outside the first flight, because the box said 'indoor/outdoor', and heck, sometimes I almost believe one or two things a politician says, even (esp. if I voted for him)...

SO...

Loved it. Hooked. Modded it twice the first couple of months I had it (Trust me--blog forthcoming if I can see some support on THIS question I have here).