Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 01, 2012, 06:43 PM
Joined Dec 2008
72 Posts
Discussion
Chrysalis or Spectra/Spirit

Hello all,

I am in the market for an electric glider kit. I have been flying RC for 8 years, and want to try my hand at gliders. I like how the both of these models have interchangable wings with their sister model. I would like to buy an electric model for now, and have the option of switching to a pure glider if i decide to pick up a hi-start at some point.

I plan on chucking the stock power system on the spectra in favor of a 200-250w power system with a folding prop, and probably using hitec 5085 or 5245 servos and a 1300 3s lipo.

What are the good and bad of both?
Forced_Inducti is offline Find More Posts by Forced_Inducti
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 01, 2012, 07:54 PM
United States, MA, Waltham
Joined Dec 2001
6,856 Posts
If I'm not mistaken, the Spectra is an electric version of the Spirit. The Spirit's tail is too short, making it annoying to fly compared to other gliders that are available. If you put enough gear in the Spectra, it might make up for this flaw, but then it will be heavy. (The gear adds very little to the moment of inertia, but increases the weight, the flight speed, and therefore the forces on the tail. So it's like having a larger tail.) Or perhaps when they came out with the Spectra, they fixed the tail??

You may want another opinion as I'm known to be outspoken about the Spirit. Then again, I started to build one, tried flying other people's examples, and abandoned the project!

The Chrysalis 2m is a nice, well thought out kit with good instructions and materials. If it handles similarly to the 1.5 meter version, it should be very nice. I've flown the 1.5 m myself, am building the 2 meter. And I might even finish it someday!
lincoln is offline Find More Posts by lincoln
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: paper blast tube test
Old Nov 01, 2012, 10:10 PM
AMA 353531
United States, CO, Colorado Springs