HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 01, 2012, 03:04 AM
Joined Jul 2012
54 Posts
Discussion
#47 Model Airplane Building Clinic >> “Great Planes P51 Mustang"

Hello everyone (or anyone)

As I use the internet as a great source of information for building but never added anything myself I decided to join in on the clinic. Normally I do house modifications and that sort of stuff but I am all finished at home and with family members. So it was time for a new hobby and thought building models will be fun. After lots of build reads and the Airfieldmodels website I decided it should be fun and would give it a try.

I was planning on building a trainer such as a SIG Kadet, Robbe Charter or something like that. Unfortunately there is not much choice for kits here in the Netherlands and these were all not in stock so my wife got me the P51 from great planes for my birthday. As I have no flying experience this just means I get to build a trainer after the P51 .

Anyway to keep it short I have built a couple of Guillow rubber band models when I was 12 or so 20 years ago so I will consider myself a newbie. I will be building the plane by the book as I have no idea what to expect. As the price of everything is high I want to extend the build time and I will do this by adding the optional mechanical retracts. There are many threads on how frustrating retracts are so I guess I will see if this was the right choice along the way.

I have completed several steps all ready and so will add these the coming days.
Harare is offline Find More Posts by Harare
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 01, 2012, 03:36 AM
Joined Jul 2012
54 Posts