SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 29, 2012, 06:15 PM
United States, FL, The Villages
Joined Oct 2010
4,001 Posts
Discussion
EF Torque 2818T/900

I did a search on this motor back several years and don't find what I need.

I have a 2818t/900 that I had in an EF Yak 54. The poor Yak got re-kitted and I'm going to use the motor/ESC in another plane from 3DHS. Shaft is straight and true and everythings turns smooth and free.
The EF plane had the motor behind/inside the motor mount box and the 3DHS needs it outside the box. I bought the proper X mount and prop adaptor, BUT I have no clue how to reconfigure the shaft. Since I did not buy this motor new, I have no paperwork/instructions. I am not a new flier, but I am new at reconfiguring motors. I usually buy what I need for a plane, but I do have the correct stuff for this new one, just has the pointy end ( ) of the motor coming out the wrong end!
Help?

Thanks,
Don
dkrhardy is offline Find More Posts by dkrhardy
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 29, 2012, 08:24 PM
Jack
USA, ME, Ellsworth
Joined May 2008
17,141 Posts
This Scorpion video covers it nicely:

http://www.scorpionsystem.com/buildi.../change_shaft/

And the hints here at Maxx products are good too:

http://www.maxxprod.com/mpi/tips1.html#Shaft_Reversal

If as you slide the shaft forward or turn it around, if you find you do not have a grub screw flat in the right place or a snap ring groove in the right place you can add those your self. And if you ever need to replace a shaft all you need is one that is the right size and at least as long as you, you can always make it work:

Making and Replacing a Brushless Motor Shaft - http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1240725

Jack
jackerbes is offline Find More Posts by jackerbes
Old Oct 29, 2012, 09:04 PM
Old age is not for sissies
Dayton Intl, Ohio, United States
Joined Jan 2000
7,992 Posts