HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 06, 2003, 11:32 AM
The figure "9" Specialist
aeronca's Avatar
A Barrier Island in New Jersey, USA
Joined Oct 2003
3,500 Posts
DC Power Supply for Triton Charger?

I am veryinterested in the Triton Bwttery Charger from Great Planes for its fantastic versatility and wide range of batteries it is capable of charging. However, it is DC powered and I would want to enhance its use at home. Has anyone been successful in using a DC power supply running off 100 VAC to power this charger? Any recommendations??

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Aeronca
aeronca is offline Find More Posts by aeronca
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 06, 2003, 01:00 PM
The Hun in the Sun
vonJaerschky's Avatar
Canada, BC, Comox
Joined Nov 2003
7,471 Posts
I am running my Triton at home from a converted computer power supply. Works like a charm! There is a website where I got the instructions from. I'm at work right now and don't have the link, but I will post it when I get home in a couple of hours.
vonJaerschky is offline Find More Posts by vonJaerschky
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2003, 03:05 PM
The Hun in the Sun
vonJaerschky's Avatar
Canada, BC, Comox
Joined Nov 2003
7,471 Posts
Here's the website: http://www.rcbatteryclinic.com/ just scroll down the menu on the left until you come to "PC Power Supply For Chargers".
vonJaerschky is offline Find More Posts by vonJaerschky
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2003, 04:14 PM
Registered User
Florida
Joined Oct 2003
56 Posts
I just built one from the instructions from RCBATTERY clinic. Cost $4.00, I bought the plug in posts and the socket for the 1157 light bulb from Radio Shack. I didn't like the screw and washer instructions for hooking up the charger. I don't like anything that clips on, to easy to short out and cause problems. The light bulb also tells you that the power supply is turned on, I didn't use the resistor.
George
RAGBAG
RAGBAG is offline Find More Posts by RAGBAG
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2003, 04:33 PM
The Hun in the Sun
vonJaerschky's Avatar
Canada, BC, Comox
Joined Nov 2003
7,471 Posts
I also used the light bulb. It's a great indicator that the power supply is on. And I put a pair of jacks on instead of the exposed posts, too. Easier, and I think safer, too. I also didn't like the idea of the exposed post becasue it would be too easy to short them.
vonJaerschky is offline Find More Posts by vonJaerschky
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2003, 07:30 PM
Pompano Hill Flyers
Miami Mike's Avatar
Miami Lakes, Florida, USA
Joined Mar 2003
8,486 Posts
Lots of folks here have bought these:

http://ramboy.com/cosel.htm

Miami Mike is offline Find More Posts by Miami Mike
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2003, 12:13 AM
Registered User
member73's Avatar
Wakefield, MA
Joined Feb 2001
769 Posts
I'm using one of the supplies Mike pointed but added a little. You can take a look at the project here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...t=power+supply

It only took an evening to put together.
member73 is offline Find More Posts by member73
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2003, 09:49 AM
Pompano Hill Flyers
Miami Mike's Avatar
Miami Lakes, Florida, USA
Joined Mar 2003
8,486 Posts
I don't think your 10A power supply from Hobby-Lobby is the same as the 13 amp supplies from http://ramboy.com/cosel.htm, but your box project does looks nice.

The web site warns that those Cosel power supplies will be sold out soon.
Miami Mike is offline Find More Posts by Miami Mike
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2003, 01:59 PM
Registered User
member73's Avatar
Wakefield, MA
Joined Feb 2001
769 Posts
nope, not the same, but close enough. Just make sure the physical dimensions are the same.
member73 is offline Find More Posts by member73
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2003, 12:17 PM
Registered User
mattk17's Avatar
Dallas,TX
Joined Jul 2001
1,656 Posts
If you want a nice quiet dc power supply that will even run 2 chargers at once if necessary, take a look at the 25amp unit from radio shack. I have owned mine for about a year and it is whisper quiet and built very well. Picked mine up for $59.
mattk17 is offline Find More Posts by mattk17
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2003, 02:50 PM
Which way is up?
Ft Myers, Fl
Joined Feb 2003
1,512 Posts
I'm using a 10a power supply from Radio Shack. Probably over a year old and runs fine. I power 2 or 3 chargers at a time with it (unless the packs are over 10 cells, then have to drop to 2 chargers).
jbird is offline Find More Posts by jbird
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2003, 07:39 PM
Registered User
Elizabethtown the Hub City of Kentucky
Joined Dec 2003
119 Posts
I agree with the Radio Shack power supply.
I tried the PC Power supply but it didn't work for when I wanted to charge the transmitter pack at a fast charge.
Kydave is offline Find More Posts by Kydave
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2003, 08:46 PM
Fiberglass dont bounce???
RandyK1's Avatar
Zion, Il.
Joined Sep 2002
2,408 Posts
Those Cosel power supplys from Ramboy are hard to beat at $19.00 ea ! I love mine, never had a problem with it. I modified mine abit also, just no box....R....
RandyK1 is offline Find More Posts by RandyK1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2003, 11:58 PM
Registered User
RC_Pile-it's Avatar
Oak Lawn, IL
Joined Nov 2003
43 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by member73
I'm using one of the supplies Mike pointed but added a little. You can take a look at the project here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...t=power+supply

It only took an evening to put together.
member73:

Is that a Radio Shack enclosure that you put the Cosel in?

I ordered one but would like to do something to protect the AC lines.

Thanks,
George
RC_Pile-it is offline Find More Posts by RC_Pile-it
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2003, 09:33 AM
Registered User
Ohio
Joined May 2003
2,083 Posts
Cosel Power Supply Enclosure

Here is what I did to enclose the wire strip of the Cosel power Supply. The enclosure is from Radio Shack part number 270-283A called Project Enclosure with PC board. The cost was under $4.00. I drilled holes for rubber grommets and drilled out the upper holes to accommodate sheet metal screws. I then cut out the lower ones with hobby knife to get more room for the wires. It fits perfect and by having it installed along the right edge you can see the "on" light. Didn't plan for it, but it worked out thay way. I didn't install lower sheet metal screws because it is tight enough wthout them. I hacked up an outdoor power cord with ground rated for 10 Amps. I didn't need the PC board, just the enclosure.

Good charging,

Ed
no stick is offline Find More Posts by no stick
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Need Help Making A Power Supply For Triton Charger Rcpilet Batteries and Chargers 3 May 04, 2006 08:14 PM
Do I Need Exactly 12V from my PC power supply for a Triton Charger? Canada Goose Batteries and Chargers 17 Dec 29, 2004 10:17 AM
Using Computer Power Supply For Triton Charger Question Canada Goose Batteries and Chargers 3 Dec 27, 2004 02:07 AM
what spec power supply for Triton charger? Astro30 Batteries and Chargers 21 Jun 13, 2003 10:39 AM
Power supply for triton charger help ehooper Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 14, 2003 08:23 PM