HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 27, 2012, 09:18 PM
Joined Oct 2012
1 Posts
Discussion
Getting Myself and My Dad Back Into RC Planes

Ok, small background here, I graduated a few years ago with a bachelors in Electrical Engineering and Physics, and am currently emplyed as a low voltage control systems engineer. I have some modeling and basic RC experience, and lots of motorsports (cars, trucks, motorcycles, boats) experience, so I'm quick to learn the details of RC planes. Don't be afraid to throw out complicated terms and jargon.

My dad used to be very much into aviation and RC planes, but hasn't done much in the hobby for about 20 years. I thought it would be really cool to buy a nice RC plane for him for christmas that we can fly together. I have my heart set on a multi-engine warbird. The first model me and my brother build with my dad when we were young was a B-17.

I don't mind buying a RTF or ARF kit, but I'd rather build a kit and choose my own motor/battery set-up. I plan on buying 2-3 more planes (probably 1 every christmas), so I want to get a battery and TX that I can use on several different platforms. I don't really want to get a "trainer" plane, since my dad will do most of the flying, and he's very experienced, and I want something that I will continue to fly, not something that will collect dust after my next build.

I have my eye set on the B-25 kit from HobbyKing:http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html
since I want something with flaps, retracts, and bomb bay, and I suspect it will fly pretty easily. Its $99 for the KIT, or I can get a ARF (minus batteries & RX/TX) for ~$300.

I've put some preliminary choices together for a complete package with the KIT and I think I can save quite a bit of money, and build a better plane with the KIT over the ARF version, but I'm nervous that I'm headed in the wrong direction.