HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 26, 2012, 10:29 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,262 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brushless55 View Post
Think I may pick up a DX8 for the inflight Telemetry for this baby!
Doh! I've got a DX8 and didn't even know that this receiver was telemetry capable. I'll have to check that out. I've never used that feature before.
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 26, 2012, 10:46 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
8,114 Posts
What telemetry does the Edge semd?
erkq is online now Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 10:53 AM
Registered User
Ahmed_A's Avatar
United States, NY, New York
Joined Dec 2006
226 Posts
Just looked at the manual for the rcvr and it does not say anything about being telemetry compatible.
Ahmed_A is online now Find More Posts by Ahmed_A
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 10:57 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
8,114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahmed_A View Post
Just looked at the manual for the rcvr and it does not say anything about being telemetry compatible.
Thanks. This is what I was suspecting.
erkq is online now Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:17 AM
Registered User
United States, NM, Santa Fe
Joined Aug 2011
411 Posts
reassessment

balanced the stock prop, removed spinner.
much quieter now--much more thrust too even with stock prop.

flew in 8mph wind--no probem at all, I correct my assessment earlier--actually
this plane is quite good in wind.

I landed with no power for most of the approach and just had a little throttle
burst made for smooth landing.
flyrtim is offline Find More Posts by flyrtim
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:18 AM
certified crash instructor
Scottsdale Arizona
Joined Dec 2009
2,215 Posts
Adding telemetry to the edge will add too much weight between rx, tm1000 and sensors. I use telemetry on my carbon z yak, use an audible alarm for esc temp sensor and a vibrate alarm for low voltage which tells me to land asap. I never have time to check the dx8 screen during flight. I did notice hh has orange tx gimbal sticks with a 3 position switch built into the stick, would be great for changing rates. I think a rotary stick would be great, you could use it for fpv camera panning, thrust vectoring or changing pitch on a heli etc. A feature I would like to see in tx are adjustable grips, the dx8 has side and back grips but I think they only come in one size, it would be cool to have oversize hand grips for sides and or back to fit different hand sizes, maybe make little grips for the younger ones!
slo-fly is offline Find More Posts by slo-fly
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:19 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,262 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyrtim View Post
reassessment

balanced the stock prop, removed spinner.
much quieter now--much more thrust too even with stock prop.

flew in 8mph wind--no probem at all, I correct my assessment earlier--actually
this plane is quite good in wind.

I landed with no power for most of the approach and just had a little throttle
burst made for smooth landing.
Yes - she will certainly float in very nicely for landings. I was honestly suprised with exactly how floaty this plane is!!
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:39 AM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2008
6,355 Posts
There's some great deals out there on DX6's, but I Never liked the large case. Feel's strange in my hands, compared to my Hitec A9. So it looks like I'll be going with the DX7s for this one.
Ducati Mechanic is offline Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:39 AM
Registered User
USA, CA, Chico
Joined Feb 2011
3,249 Posts
So what do you guys think of this prop for this plane ??

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ries-Propeller
Airman74 is offline Find More Posts by Airman74
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:42 AM
Registered User
USA, CA, Chico
Joined Feb 2011
3,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brushless55 View Post
What battery and flight times are you getting with your 540?
I'm using Zippy compacts 500mah 35Cs ,, have my timer set to 4:30,, usually have 20-25% remaining when I land,, but depends on my throttle management,,
Airman74 is offline Find More Posts by Airman74
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:44 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
8,114 Posts
Hey, Ducati, what the heck did you do?? I can't quote you because... well... you know...

Is the DX7 smaller than the DX6i/DX8? I have both and they feel the same size to me. I had to re-learn how to fly. I used to be a "pincher" and I had to learn to be a "thumber" because the case is too big for me to comfortably pinch. But that's done and I'm comfortable with it now.
erkq is online now Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:46 AM
Registered User
United States, NM, Santa Fe
Joined Aug 2011
411 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airman74 View Post
I'm using Zippy compacts 500mah 35Cs ,, have my timer set to 4:30,, usually have 20-25% remaining when I land,, but depends on my throttle management,,
I have my timer on 6:30 for nanotech 460 25c--with 30% left.
I fly slow most of time though.


try #2, anyone using 800 or 850mah?
I suppose battery will move 3/8" toward tail if I do use that heavier batt.
flyrtim is offline Find More Posts by flyrtim
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:53 AM
certified crash instructor
Scottsdale Arizona
Joined Dec 2009
2,215 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airman74 View Post
So what do you guys think of this prop for this plane ??

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ries-Propeller
I haven't tried that prop but it looks nice, I'll see if I can pick one up today and amp, watt test it.
slo-fly is offline Find More Posts by slo-fly
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:53 AM
Registered User
USA, CA, Chico
Joined Feb 2011
3,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighead93 View Post
Do you have to do anything to use the GWS props? Anyone else notice how loud the vibration from the landing gear is in flight?
The hub of GWS is a little thicker than stock prop,, so you'll have to sand it down thinner and slightly enlarge the spinner openings to make it fit,, or you can turn spinner nut around backwards ... My buddies edge's landing gear rattles like crazy in flight
Airman74 is offline Find More Posts by Airman74
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:56 AM
Beast 60E Maniac
SLK Count's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Feb 2010
930 Posts
800+ would be possible if the high fits....
-
Bad news from our bulletin board- one user lost prop and spinner while he gave power for takeoff. One of the little hexagon pin thread (stud) screws wasn't fixed.
BTW...does anybody know what size the tool for these hexa pin (stud) screws is ? Is it inch or metric ?
SLK Count is offline Find More Posts by SLK Count
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product E-flite 300 A6M5 Zero BNF Basic Afraidtoregister Electric Warbirds 1102 Dec 23, 2014 08:00 AM
Sold BNIB E-flite UMX Beast 3D BNF Basic AS3X (EFLU4850) plus EXTRAS peterswolf Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Sep 14, 2012 08:43 PM
For Sale E-Flite MSR X BNF Basic edition daign Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Jun 01, 2012 09:59 PM
Sold Edge 540 3D ARF by E-Flite freirem Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Feb 28, 2012 07:38 PM
Discussion A6M5 Zero 300 BNF Basic by E-flite BlazingStar Micro Ready-to-Fly 2 Feb 03, 2012 03:22 AM