HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 04, 2003, 06:15 PM
Aurora Builder
United States, MD, Lusby
Joined Nov 2003
3,437 Posts
Best Micro Heli For Newbie

Hi all,

I know this question has been asked multiple times and is really an opinion question. Anyway, I am a complete heli newbie, although I do have a summers worth of Realflight Deluxe training plus FMS w/ joystick. Also, I fly R/C airplanes (electric glider and glow powered .40 trainer, both soled, glider test flew (2nd plane), "outrageous" power for a trainer (i'm sure somebody has done more, .46 O.S to get out of once tall grass at a flying site, don't fly there anymore, not an issue with grass). I have some paramaters that I would like to be met: A: Is a micro heli B: can be flown outside and inside C: can be flown outside in high winds, preferably 10-15 mph with gusts to 20 (many windy days in Maryland in spring and fall, much less in june and july, though we still have a few) without to many long and expensive mods. D: Relativly Cheap! (excluding comp/reg. radio, getting a comp radio anyway)

In my research the CP Hornet or Piccolo seem the fit the bill, though the Hornet more. According to the Model Airplane News review, the CP Hornet is supposed to handle Highish winds easily and be easy to fly, although this is probably a somewhat biased review. I also know the Piccolo is abit "stronger" tending to pop apart in crashes instead of break.

Sam
samc99us is offline Find More Posts by samc99us
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2003, 08:30 AM
Frequent flyer
Grand Forks, ND
Joined Aug 2002
632 Posts
Quote:
Is a micro heli B: can be flown outside and inside C: can be flown outside in high winds, preferably 10-15 mph with gusts to 20

You might have to lower your expectations a little, most glow heli pilots i know won't go up in winds 15+!! micro helis in general, especially the ones you will start on (fixed pitch) are basically limited to under 5 mph.