HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 02, 2013, 02:10 AM
Pants first, then shoes
Joined Jan 2011
2,762 Posts
Paul, send me a PM with your email address.
Stacky is offline Find More Posts by Stacky
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:42 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
Finally got a maiden in. Still windy but sheltered a bit where I am so was able to do a test flight.

Aquacopter Project X (5 min 13 sec)
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:11 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,370 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
Finally got a maiden in. Still windy but sheltered a bit where I am so was able to do a test flight.

http://youtu.be/w0kiJZf670A
Looks good. What kV motors are you using? I hade 1300kv motors in mine to start. Plenty of power and flew great...but pulled high 50A total and the battery got hot. I dropped down to 1050kV, but now it's less responsive and drifty, and likes to yaw itself (on its own) all the time. I'm thinking some 1150-1200kV motors would be a nice in-between...but I don't have any without having to place an order. I hate having to order $50-$60 in motors to just 'test' them. Perhaps I should just use my 800kV's and go 4S...
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:14 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
Using MS2216 900kv motors on it with the 10" props, seems to have plenty power.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:22 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,370 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
Using MS2216 900kv motors on it with the 10" props, seems to have plenty power.
Thanks. I have 9" ones on my 1050 motors...tried 8" but they just didn't have the power.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 02, 2013, 05:04 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Thanks. I have 9" ones on my 1050 motors...tried 8" but they just didn't have the power.
I had 9" on for first test but it seemed far more sluggish, granted that was with a 3300 lipo as well. I may give the 10" CF and wood GemFan props a try on this to compare as well.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 07:16 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
SNOWCOPTER (2 min 54 sec)
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 07:46 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
Another snowy video with repaired props...

SNOWCOPTER 2 (4 min 21 sec)
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 01:30 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,370 Posts
SNOW!!! Yech, Brrrr, Cold. It does look like your Aquacopter is flying good though.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 03, 2013, 01:36 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
SNOW!!! Yech, Brrrr, Cold. It does look like your Aquacopter is flying good though.
Ya it handle nice actually. With the 3300 lipo it is noticably more sluggish though. Surprisingly its actually lighter than the FLIP FPV frame, it is 878g without lipo vs 951g on FLIP.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 11:15 AM
Don L.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Joined Feb 2006
939 Posts
MikroKopter Build

I've had a couple of MK quadrocopters gathering dust since I moved to hexacopters a couple of years ago. I decided to have a go at stuffing the ESCs, FC, NC, and GPS from one of them into the Aquacopter frame. I didn't expect that the power distribution board would fit through the opening, but it did. So, I'm using that, too.

Even before I started down this path, I decided I would mount the battery underneath, along with a plate of some sort for mounting a camera or other stuff. I still have some homemade CF quad center plates, so that's what I'm using.

Here are a few shots. More, later.
dleroi is offline Find More Posts by dleroi
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 10:23 PM
Don L.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Joined Feb 2006
939 Posts
I can't decide between 3S and 1100 KV motors or 4S and 760 KV motors, both with 10" props. Any suggestions?

This arming connector housing from RC Accessory, Inc makes an ideal battery connector if you want to mount your battery outside.
dleroi is offline Find More Posts by dleroi
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 10:32 PM
aka Helidaho
AeroVideoUS's Avatar
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Jun 2010
2,712 Posts
Nice work... I was thinking of doing the same thing for a camera mount/landing gear. Just wondering what you did, if anything, to seal the holes on the bottom?
AeroVideoUS is offline Find More Posts by AeroVideoUS
Last edited by AeroVideoUS; Feb 05, 2013 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 05:57 AM
Pants first, then shoes
Joined Jan 2011
2,762 Posts
Paul, one thing I did to seal holes was to use nylon washers but to put silicone sealer on them before puting the bolt through and tightening up. The sealer then got squished between the nylon washer and the case.
Stacky is offline Find More Posts by Stacky
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 07:35 AM
Don L.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Joined Feb 2006
939 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroVideoUS View Post
Nice work... I was thinking of doing the same thing for a camera mount/landing gear. Just wondering what you did, if anything, to seal the wholes on the bottom?
Thanks.

I'm using 3mm rubber washers under nylon washers for the bolt holes and a 5/8" rubber washer and silicone sealant for the battery connector.

I don't know how I'm going to seal the motor wires, yet. I'll use sealant between the rubber grommets and the frame, but I may try hot glue inside the grommets, after the wires are permanently in place. I think I can get the hot glue to flow around and between the wires better by hitting it with a heat gun. Problem is, I don't know how much heat the frame can take. I guess I'll find out.

-Don
dleroi is offline Find More Posts by dleroi
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Anyone Seen These Before? Bought from Trendtimes.com? scas Dock Talk 2 Jun 14, 2012 09:13 PM
Discussion Anyone seen this before??? F27QFlyer Parkflyers 10 May 11, 2012 03:21 PM
Discussion Anyone seen this before??? F27QFlyer Hot Online Deals 7 Apr 25, 2012 02:43 PM
Discussion never seen these before (pic) Excogitate Electric Plane Talk 6 Apr 03, 2012 02:59 AM