HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 10, 2013, 06:50 AM
g0t rabb1t?
ABLomas's Avatar
Lietuva, Vilnius
Joined Jul 2011
1,306 Posts
Re-tested the same sandisk class10 32GB card on another gopro black, 2.7K with protune. -2C outside, no way it could overheat.
First clip (3 mins) ok, stopped, started and it stopped recording after ~1minute. So, easy to reproduce with another camera too...
ABLomas is offline Find More Posts by ABLomas
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 10, 2013, 07:40 AM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United States, WA, Mason County
Joined Mar 2001
3,879 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgearuk View Post
Mudlark, as you say crazy as its not been out long.. Did you buy yours over in the US? The reason I ask that as I've had one or two probs with mine, not used it enough to investigate what's causing it, but have had serval lock ups and one time a real hot camera and seemed to flatten the battery in no time, so just keeping an eye on what everyone else is doing..
I brought it brand new off a member on here as he had 2 of them, but he lives in the US.. If I have a problem I'm sure I can get the receipt from him.. But not sure where I would stand..
Sounds like your having the same over heating problem as me. Battery shows up as flat but once it's cooled down it's only half empty.
Yes got mine out in the States whilst visiting my fiance.
Turns out that she has the receipt and hopefully she'll fine it today.
I assume that if you can get the receipt of the seller, being in the UK shouldn't be a problem.
I'd try and get it first and then get in touch with GoPro. I had a prompt reply as if they are expecting to get a few of these.

Good luck
mudlark is online now Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 07:42 AM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United States, WA, Mason County
Joined Mar 2001
3,879 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABLomas View Post
Re-tested the same sandisk class10 32GB card on another gopro black, 2.7K with protune. -2C outside, no way it could overheat.
First clip (3 mins) ok, stopped, started and it stopped recording after ~1minute. So, easy to reproduce with another camera too...
I tried mine in sub zero and it still overheathed
mudlark is online now Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 08:17 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,271 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudlark View Post
Sounds like your having the same over heating problem as me. Battery shows up as flat but once it's cooled down it's only half empty.
Yes got mine out in the States whilst visiting my fiance.
Turns out that she has the receipt and hopefully she'll fine it today.
I assume that if you can get the receipt of the seller, being in the UK shouldn't be a problem.
I'd try and get it first and then get in touch with GoPro. I had a prompt reply as if they are expecting to get a few of these.

Good luck
Cheers, wondered if you had.. That sounds like what happened to mine, it was after I was playing with the settings, then had wifi on did a test record and was flat in no time and pretty hot to the touch.

Also seems to freeze a lot switching on/off wifi and different devices.
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 05:49 PM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United States, WA, Mason County
Joined Mar 2001
3,879 Posts
Found my receipt
Just waiting for GoPro to reply.
Then just need to figure out how long it'll take to post back to the US and then back to the UK.
I recon Three weeks.
mudlark is online now Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 01:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
252 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudlark View Post
I tried mine in sub zero and it still overheathed
Anyone had overheating problems with silver edition, or is it just black one?
dziedrius is offline Find More Posts by dziedrius
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 01:43 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
27,678 Posts
I haven't heard of any big issues with White (HD equiv) or Silver (Hero2 equiv), but then
they don't have all these high bitrate video modes that the Black does.

Did some testing in 2.7k mode tonight with my Sandisk and PNY cards.
Got it to fail many many times with both, but seems to happen more with the Sandisk cards.
It fails most often after only 3-4 seconds, but sometimes after a minute or two. Several
lockups after powering down after a failed record attempt. Got hot once.
Had to remove the battery about a half dozen times. This is my 2nd H3 Black. :|

Did some benchmark testing of the cards, and the PNY card is faster (11-12.5MB/s write speed)
versus the Sandisk (8.9-9.9MB/s write). That was a surprise.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 11, 2013, 01:53 AM
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
2,920 Posts
i got a silver in december, only because the blacks weren't available here yet, and have been pretty happy with it. absolutely no problems, except for the crappy 3rd rate micro sd cards i bought
CrashAffinity is offline Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 11, 2013, 04:24 AM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Pretoria
Joined Feb 2011
665 Posts
My batt on the black ed is very poor i canot charge it and leave bat in and exspect it to hold it charge even if wifi is switch off
Andre6553 is offline Find More Posts by Andre6553
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 11:35 AM
DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
quad007's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
871 Posts
i use samsung SD cards and have not had a problem with the black except copying via USB. 2.7k, 1080, everything works
quad007 is offline Find More Posts by quad007
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:56 PM
Registered User
yosemitez's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Nov 2010
509 Posts
Got my GPH3 replacement today from GoPro after getting a RMA on 1/31/13. Not to bad just 2 weeks. Mine had similar overheating, stop recording issues and sandisk lockups.
yosemitez is offline Find More Posts by yosemitez
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 & KK2.1.5 CPPM with EZUHF
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 07:45 AM
Registered User
sickwitit's Avatar
Lewisville, TX
Joined Sep 2010
355 Posts
Anyone use this type of cable to power your Hero3 with the 5V from your Rx?

http://www.rc4y.com/av-output-cable-...ro3-p-533.html
sickwitit is offline Find More Posts by sickwitit
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 12:53 PM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United States, WA, Mason County
Joined Mar 2001
3,879 Posts
Well I finally got my RMA number from GoPro.
And luckily I only have to send it to Holland.
Got to be quicker than all the way to the States and back.
mudlark is online now Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 04:03 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2006
314 Posts
I asked this question before but no answer. So I tried anyway and it works fine. It shows on the gopro as charging, but the gopro won't run without the battery, so I think the battery is still being used, just not at as fast a rate. I haven't tested overall bat life yet, maybe ill do a test to see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sickwitit View Post
Anyone use this type of cable to power your Hero3 with the 5V from your Rx?

http://www.rc4y.com/av-output-cable-...ro3-p-533.html
dartmouth01 is offline Find More Posts by dartmouth01
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 04:46 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,192 Posts
I had a weird thing happen yesterday with my GoPro3 Black.

I started recording and went for a flight and came back and only 5 seconds recorded.
The camera would not record again and none of the buttons worked and I had to take the battery out.
Did it a bunch more times and still would still only record a few seconds and then the camera would lock up.

I tried many times with no luck.

I hooked the Scandisk class 10 32gb card to the computer and saw all the files and they were only a few seconds.
I saw a TRASHES file and went in there and that folder had almost 20gb of videos and files.
I though I deleted everything after I uploaded to the computer but somehow things ended up in the TRASHES file.

I emptied that file and now the camera is working again.

So I don't get what's going on.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold *SOLD* NIB GoPro HD Hero 2 Motorsports Edition plus NIB GoPro Wifi Combo Kit. jbj620 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 11, 2012 11:54 AM
Discussion FPV using GOPRO HD Hero 2 + bacpac WIFI Link69 Multirotor Talk 4 Feb 26, 2012 07:24 PM
Build Log HD FunJet v2 (mini) build log with GoPro HERO HD jbpilot FPV Talk 14 Oct 31, 2010 09:36 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 09:40 AM