HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 06, 2013, 06:39 PM
Smoke on , go !
zaguruinzasky's Avatar
Verona - Italy
Joined Jan 2007
2,522 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timnilson View Post
We just launched LayerLens for the GoPro 3.
I suggest you to use black nylon for better image contrast (search mattbox for more clarifications).

I would love to have the layerlens with ND 0,9 and 1.2 filters to blur almost completely the prop and have a more cinematic image motion...
zaguruinzasky is offline Find More Posts by zaguruinzasky
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2013, 06:40 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
27,683 Posts
Hard to say. Very few people have had it lock up during recording, but it has
happened. Problems seem to be more prevalent with the first batch of cameras,
so there may be a hardware issue which they've addressed. My remaining issues (locking
up while charging and randomly within menus) have led GoPro support to tell me to go for
a replacement. It'll take a bunch of proven reports before I trust it as a flight camera.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 06, 2013, 06:42 PM
Smoke on , go !
zaguruinzasky's Avatar
Verona - Italy
Joined Jan 2007
2,522 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
My remaining issues (locking
up while charging and randomly within menus) have led GoPro support to tell me to go for a replacement. ian
replacement? then it's should be hardware problem indeed... thanks ian
zaguruinzasky is offline Find More Posts by zaguruinzasky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 06:48 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
27,683 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaguruinzasky View Post
replacement? then it's should be hardware problem indeed... thanks ian
Of course they gave me various other advice before this. They're not claiming
that the replacement will absolutely fix my issues, but they've run out of other
options.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 06, 2013, 07:03 PM
Ready to fly MRs
Sid3ways's Avatar
Swanton, OH
Joined Jul 2007
4,981 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthyfatboy View Post
Are you kidding me? Now I'm going to have to make another order once I get my camera! Looks nice.
I bought mine about 2.5 hours ago ago I got the 2nd to last one. I assume they are gone now. LayerLens makes a great product.
Sid3ways is offline Find More Posts by Sid3ways
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 07:08 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
27,683 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaguruinzasky View Post
I suggest you to use black nylon for better image contrast (search mattbox for more clarifications).

I would love to have the layerlens with ND 0,9 and 1.2 filters to blur almost completely the prop and have a more cinematic image motion...
It's a flat lens so could trap just about any filter in there you want.
There are various options like that being sold for the stock Hero3 housing already,
including a polarizing filter.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 06, 2013, 07:13 PM
Smoke on , go !
zaguruinzasky's Avatar
Verona - Italy
Joined Jan 2007
2,522 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
It's a flat lens so could trap just about any filter in there you want.
There are various options like that being sold for the stock Hero3 housing already,
including a polarizing filter.

ian
I know, but I don't want the housing, I would like to have it in the layerlens (lighter). Maybe I could cut some of my glass NDs.. but I like ready made accessories ;-)

I saw the pola, but without exposure compensation I think there are crushed blacks in the final image, at least in few of the pola videos I saw. Anyway the result is not bad.

Thanks
zaguruinzasky is offline Find More Posts by zaguruinzasky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 07:22 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
27,683 Posts
I'm saying the layerlens should work the same way. Just trap the filter between the
screw on ring and the clear lens.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 06, 2013, 07:25 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
United States, CA, San Ramon
Joined Oct 2002
2,540 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timnilson View Post
We just launched LayerLens for the GoPro 3.
http://www.getfpv.com/layerlens-for-gopro3.html

This new version comes with a cast acrylic lens that is scratch resistant on both sides. New lenses are available in packs of 3 lenses.


Sweet! I just ordered one! How heavy is this lens assembly?
crazyj is offline Find More Posts by crazyj
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 10:22 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,192 Posts
Got my new GoPro3 Black attached to F450 until my TBS Discovery comes in the mail.
Just curious what others are using for the the video settings.
I made 30 second recordings on every setting and it seems 1080 60fps looks the best to me.
I can't tell too much difference between all the settings.
What settings are you guys using.
GOPR0018.MP4 1080 60FPS (0 min 43 sec)
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Last edited by jasper7821; Jan 06, 2013 at 10:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 10:31 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
27,683 Posts
I still mostly use 1080p@30fps with Protune off. Image quality is better than
previous cameras and bitrate is reasonable. 60fps doesn't buy you much unless
you plan to slow the video down at some point. Vimeo and YouTube still won't
play back at any higher than 30fps.
Only significant change I've made is that I use Wide mode more than I used to
because Hero3 has less barrel distortion than previous Heros.

If I do really want to do something with slow motion, I go all the way to 720p@120fps.

If I want to fly in low light or at night, I use 1080p@30fps with Protune on as it
will not apply any contrast so can see deep into the shadows. May have to do
some post processing to clean up sensor noise and maybe even add a touch
of contrast. If you shoot at higher frame rates at night, the video will be darker
because it just can't let as much light in, per frame.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Daemon; Jan 07, 2013 at 12:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 12:21 AM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,192 Posts
Cool, thanks.
There's a lot for me to learn about this camera,
I still have to learn to edit as well.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 08:11 AM
Registered User
tushev's Avatar
USA, NY, New York
Joined Nov 2008
1,498 Posts
I just want to report, I got a lock up during flight on the 8 minute using Sandisk 16gb C10. Hero3 black 1080/60fps.
When using Transcend card same specs- so far so good.
tushev is offline Find More Posts by tushev
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 11:33 AM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United States, WA, Mason County
Joined Mar 2001
3,879 Posts
I have been using mine as my main FPV camera and has been fine.
I got mine from best buy almost a month before Gopro finally started to sell them.
Mind you I haven't done the latest update. Was hoping to wait till it had been proven to be sound. Any problems ant-one/
I tend to fly with settings 1080-30fps medium oritune off. Sandisk 16gb C10.
Do not realy see any lag whilst flying, managed to track my mates quad reasonably well.
It it went out of shot that was more to do with me.
Oh also much better in dull light. My last flight of the day was fine, but once I took the cinemizers of I though, was I really flying in this.

Wayneo trying to hit me :) (3 min 40 sec)
mudlark is offline Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 05:17 PM
I Toast Planes
bakon's Avatar
Joined Jul 2010
945 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
60fps doesn't buy you much unless
you plan to slow the video down at some point. Vimeo and YouTube still won't
play back at any higher than 30fps.


ian
They don't have options to playback at any speed other than 30 fps but the speed you use is still very apparent in the video. 24fps will be "more blurred" (that might not be the right usage) than say a video shot at 60fps.
bakon is offline Find More Posts by bakon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold *SOLD* NIB GoPro HD Hero 2 Motorsports Edition plus NIB GoPro Wifi Combo Kit. jbj620 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 11, 2012 11:54 AM
Discussion FPV using GOPRO HD Hero 2 + bacpac WIFI Link69 Multirotor Talk 4 Feb 26, 2012 07:24 PM
Build Log HD FunJet v2 (mini) build log with GoPro HERO HD jbpilot FPV Talk 14 Oct 31, 2010 09:36 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 09:40 AM