HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 20, 2012, 11:29 AM
Cape Cod
tom3holer's Avatar
Cape Cod
Joined Sep 2010
912 Posts
No, actually it was more like 3 min.

Tom
tom3holer is offline Find More Posts by tom3holer
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 20, 2012, 12:49 PM
Registered User
jndell's Avatar
United States, NY, Otego
Joined Oct 2011
3 Posts
also known as FOREVER
jndell is offline Find More Posts by jndell
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 05:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
286 Posts
Ya, lost confidence in GoPro with the Hero2. Features listed on the packaging of the Hero2 that never happened, then lots of "fluff" added in buggy firmware releases. And now they've come out with a new camera?

Wish they'd just complete what they promised in the Hero2 first.
bladeaudio is offline Find More Posts by bladeaudio
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 06:43 PM
DroneWorksUSA.net
flohio117's Avatar
United States, TN, Clarksville
Joined Dec 2011
3,675 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bladeaudio View Post
Ya, lost confidence in GoPro with the Hero2. Features listed on the packaging of the Hero2 that never happened, then lots of "fluff" added in buggy firmware releases. And now they've come out with a new camera?

Wish they'd just complete what they promised in the Hero2 first.
What did you want it to do? I never knock on wood had problems with my hero 2 or ever did any updates to it.
flohio117 is offline Find More Posts by flohio117
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:02 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,117 Posts
The only thing I know they promised in the Hero2 (before release) was all FoV at all res.
I wanted 720p@60fps at medium wide. At time of release they said
they'd try to get that feature into a firmware update, but never did (and judging by
the Hero3, never will). Haven't experienced any "fluff" or bugs in the firmware itself.

Hero2 is a good camera. Unfortunately I had to take mine apart to clean a water spot
off the inside of the lens (submerged without case), and now I'm having a bear of a time
getting the focus just right again.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:06 PM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,144 Posts
THe only features I can think of were the wifi streaming to phone (which works now) and the 720 narrow view, which never happened as far as I know.

Those of us who have had them all (960, Hero, Hero 2), know how big of an improvement the Hero2 was. Night shooting was way better, overall image qaulity was easily much better, and some of the added features (120fps Wvga mode) were really cool for certain scenes.
gundamnitpete is offline Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:41 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
286 Posts
Seems like they spent time adding stuff like wifi backpacks and ProTune and what not, but never finished the feature set they originally advertised. Yes, the various FOVs that were promised!

Latest firmware seems buggy to me. Randomly stops recording for no reason, it tries to create a new clip and continue recording, but the 2nd clip is only a few seconds long and then stops all together.
bladeaudio is offline Find More Posts by bladeaudio
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 09:34 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,117 Posts
What latest firmware? The Protune stuff? You using a quality class 10 card?

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 20, 2012, 10:35 PM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bladeaudio View Post
Seems like they spent time adding stuff like wifi backpacks and ProTune and what not, but never finished the feature set they originally advertised. Yes, the various FOVs that were promised!

Latest firmware seems buggy to me. Randomly stops recording for no reason, it tries to create a new clip and continue recording, but the 2nd clip is only a few seconds long and then stops all together.
If a different FOV is what you want, use 1080.

In any case the GP3 will have that at 60fps in 1080. It's that exactly what you want...?
gundamnitpete is offline Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 11:00 PM
DroneWorksUSA.net
flohio117's Avatar
United States, TN, Clarksville
Joined Dec 2011
3,675 Posts
That's wierd my gopro doesnt do anything wierd luckily. I really like it I just want different fov options at 720p.
flohio117 is offline Find More Posts by flohio117
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2012, 03:12 AM
MK3
Aerial Loitering
MK3's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
432 Posts
I know some picky people but man you guys are a different class.

All the different sports are lauding the new GP3 while at RCG we have a thread basically people complaining already
MK3 is offline Find More Posts by MK3
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2012, 03:33 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,117 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gundamnitpete View Post
It's that exactly what you want...?
No. The problem is, it's double the bitrate. I wanted, 720@60fps at medium wide FoV
as a decent compromise.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 21, 2012, 04:00 AM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
No. The problem is, it's double the bitrate. I wanted, 720@60fps at medium wide FoV
as a decent compromise.

ian
Fair enough, if that is what you want.

I think you'll agree storage is fairly cheap. A 32 gig card will hold about 2 hours of 1080 60fps video (my 64 gig in my HX9V will hold 333minutes when empty).
gundamnitpete is offline Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2012, 04:14 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,117 Posts
That's great if you throw away all your raw footage regularly, but I don't.
It adds up quick.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 21, 2012, 04:19 AM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,144 Posts
I've got 4TB in my home PC for just that reason.
gundamnitpete is offline Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold *SOLD* NIB GoPro HD Hero 2 Motorsports Edition plus NIB GoPro Wifi Combo Kit. jbj620 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 11, 2012 12:54 PM
Discussion FPV using GOPRO HD Hero 2 + bacpac WIFI Link69 Multirotor Talk 4 Feb 26, 2012 08:24 PM
Build Log HD FunJet v2 (mini) build log with GoPro HERO HD jbpilot FPV Talk 14 Oct 31, 2010 10:36 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 10:40 AM