Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 09, 2012, 02:55 PM
Registered User
Denmark
Joined Jan 2007
100 Posts
I have not really used the Protune mode, så that probaly why i have no lockup issues yet.
Have flow FPV about 10times(15min per flight) with the GP3 in normal mode now.
LoopForEver is offline Find More Posts by LoopForEver
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
778 Posts
How many people who are having issues have the very first batch of cameras from Best Buy and how many have gotten their cameras more recently?
epyonxero is offline Find More Posts by epyonxero
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:31 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,219 Posts
So here's one of the clips from the earlier vid shown first raw as it comes out of the camera
and then again lightened a bit to see just how far into the shadows it can see.
Night - Hero 3 Black - Protune - Raw and brightened (2 min 46 sec)

Don't focus on the path, but all the things far from the path.. structures, trees and other vegetation.
And as usual, must watch at 1080p to see the noise. Downscaling tends to blend noise away.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 09, 2012, 04:53 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
San Francisco, CA
Joined Jun 2002
961 Posts
Daemon, judging by most of your recent posts, you must be bored of flying during the day!
compuatic is offline Find More Posts by compuatic
Last edited by compuatic; Nov 09, 2012 at 04:53 PM. Reason: ddd
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:25 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2012
752 Posts
Just picked up mine yesterday at bestbuy for 339. Its the second batch AD far as I know. And no issues that I can tell. Haven't gotten it on a bird yet due to weather
jcmonty is offline Find More Posts by jcmonty
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:28 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
San Francisco, CA
Joined Jun 2002
961 Posts
i thought they sold for $399?
compuatic is offline Find More Posts by compuatic
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:45 PM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,228 Posts
ian...
nice vid..like seeing the shadow of the tri..
are you using flying live feed from the gp3..
barok is offline Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 06:09 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by compuatic View Post
Daemon, judging by most of your recent posts, you must be bored of flying during the day!
With the daylight savings change, it's dark by the time I get off work.
Also often a lot less wind at night which makes it suitable for FPV.
In other words, I fly when I can.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 09, 2012, 06:11 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by barok View Post
ian...
nice vid..like seeing the shadow of the tri..
are you using flying live feed from the gp3..
Discussed on previous page of this thread, along with the full version of the vid,
in case you missed that one.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 09, 2012, 08:02 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2012
752 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by compuatic View Post
i thought they sold for $399?
Mine was an open box that some guy bought earlier that day and then decided he didn't wanted. So, I got lucky
jcmonty is offline Find More Posts by jcmonty
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 08:25 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2012
752 Posts
Hey guys, what's your work flow generally looking like when using the GP with protune on? Are you importing the file with cineform as an AVI or MOV and then exporting as MP4? For some reason, after I export, the file is much smaller and everything looks green. Not sure what's going on there.
jcmonty is offline Find More Posts by jcmonty
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 09:41 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,219 Posts
I doubt that most people using Protune mode are using Cineform Studio in any way.
Every step is a lossy conversion. It's designed to snip out individual clips
and post them on the web, and that's about it.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 09, 2012, 11:08 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2012
752 Posts
That's what I have gathered as well. Are you using protune or standard currently? I am going to try and take some comparison clips tomorrow between all of the different modes to see what I prefer. So far it's looking good though
jcmonty is offline Find More Posts by jcmonty
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 11:16 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,219 Posts
Protune simply turns off most of the in camera processing.
That means little or no sharpening, no contrast, no noise filtering, and lower level of compression.
You get more total detail, higher dynamic range, but also more sensor noise and a generally paler
appearance. I think it also uses a more or less fixed white balance, but not sure about that.
The idea is that good quality post processing will be superior to on-the-fly in-camera processing.
So far, I've only used Protune for my latest night flights because the lack of in-camera contrast
allows us to see much deeper into the dark (added constrast makes dark areas black, and light areas white
and expands the mid-tones range, which isn't useful if you want to see into the shadows). For daytime footage,
standard modes work just fine.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:05 AM
Alex USA
usa.alex's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
510 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
So here's one of the clips from the earlier vid shown first raw as it comes out of the camera
and then again lightened a bit to see just how far into the shadows it can see.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRdx1dNCfqQ
Don't focus on the path, but all the things far from the path.. structures, trees and other vegetation.
And as usual, must watch at 1080p to see the noise. Downscaling tends to blend noise away.

ian

Ian, you are flying Deamon !
usa.alex is offline Find More Posts by usa.alex
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold *SOLD* NIB GoPro HD Hero 2 Motorsports Edition plus NIB GoPro Wifi Combo Kit. jbj620 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 11, 2012 11:54 AM
Discussion FPV using GOPRO HD Hero 2 + bacpac WIFI Link69 Multirotor Talk 4 Feb 26, 2012 07:24 PM
Build Log HD FunJet v2 (mini) build log with GoPro HERO HD jbpilot FPV Talk 14 Oct 31, 2010 09:36 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 09:40 AM