SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 10, 2012, 09:23 AM
Registered User
Hungary, Szabolcs-Szatmar-Bereg, Csenger
Joined Aug 2010
189 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Freas View Post
RC Timer site down? Tried all day and get this.


Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'shopexdb123'@'173.201.196.113' (using password: YES) in /home/content/93/6600593/html/include/mysql_db.php on line 28
Database error,Session halted.
Currently working.
feket663 is online now Find More Posts by feket663
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 10, 2012, 11:34 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by danger_mouse View Post
Hey Jumpy, some good work there.

One thing I noticed is your motor connections look different to on the Wiki.

I like how you can use the "motors" command in the terminal window to check correct motor order and direction.

http://youtu.be/BBdIFZYbFh4

The Auto ESC Calibration is also a cool function.
Cheers never noticed that.. have amended the document .. have also added a section re: tests via CLI . as you made a good point.. these are very handy

PS: Would not recommend using auto ESC if your running PPM SUM.
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 11:35 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by danger_mouse View Post
Yes.

While you are at home bring up the map of your field in the Flight Planner screen. Right Click on the map > Map Tool > Prefetch. You can then cache map tiles for either the whole screen or use your mouse pointer to select an area.

The next time you go to the field and get GPS lock your cached map will appear. Program waypoints as you wish.

Didn't know you could do that.. thanks for the info
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 04:54 PM
Registered User
danger_mouse's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Gatton
Joined Jan 2007
946 Posts
Here is a video of my 3rd flight.

APM2.5 3rd flight (8 min 6 sec)
danger_mouse is offline Find More Posts by danger_mouse
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:44 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by danger_mouse View Post
Here is a video of my 3rd flight.

http://youtu.be/LBGK88xal8s
Looking really good, PH looked very good

Can you post ur PIDS and setup for others ?
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:51 PM
Registered User
danger_mouse's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Gatton
Joined Jan 2007
946 Posts
All stock PID's and settings. The baro is still in its' default disabled state.

I'll put up a few pics and details of the bird later.
danger_mouse is offline Find More Posts by danger_mouse
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:21 PM
KK4NZS
Nelapaty's Avatar
Virginia
Joined Sep 2006
1,488 Posts
Beautiful mate Im pleasantly suprised even at stock settings its super smooth.. I need to get one. has anyone tried the gps yet. Im assuming the gps and fc package that rc timer sells is a good one to get
Nelapaty is offline Find More Posts by Nelapaty
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:44 PM
Registered User
danger_mouse's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Gatton
Joined Jan 2007
946 Posts
Yep, using the cn-06 v2 GPS that comes with the Rctimer package. Position hold works quite well with it.
danger_mouse is offline Find More Posts by danger_mouse
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 08:29 PM
Gone Multicoptering
bwww's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
42 Posts
I have done so much testing with different 3DRs, batteries, etc and concluded that my APM 2.5 must be faulty. I cannot think of any other reason why the MavLink telementary would be messed up. I will try return it to RC Timer and report back how good/bad their customer service is.
bwww is offline Find More Posts by bwww
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 08:53 PM
Registered Aircraft Offender
Truglodite's Avatar
Carmichael, CA
Joined Feb 2007
3,537 Posts
Excellent thank you very much danger. My combo shipped today and after watching your video I am not scared of what I'll end up with.

Kev
Truglodite is offline Find More Posts by Truglodite
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 05:31 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwww View Post
I have done so much testing with different 3DRs, batteries, etc and concluded that my APM 2.5 must be faulty. I cannot think of any other reason why the MavLink telementary would be messed up. I will try return it to RC Timer and report back how good/bad their customer service is.
Could be ypur board but if you havent done these checks would try these first..

Telemetry port is 57,600 check my guide for setiing 3DR set up and make sure both local and remote have same settings.. use the 3DR tool to check....

If this is ok, loop the TX and RX on the remote and use Hypterminal on your PC and check if characters are echo'd back. (57600 baud, 8, N, 1 no flow control)..if they do then this proves the 3DR radios are working..


Reset your APM board, (use CLI to do this in terminal window) and reload Arducopter..

If all checks ok, re-attach to APM telemetry port and check again

Hope this helps
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Last edited by Jumpy07; Nov 11, 2012 at 09:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 07:56 AM
Videopilot
Derek_S's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined May 2009
2,814 Posts
Got mine and it is working ok for now. It was really dark outside before I could get her together, so here it is risking house, life, and dog.

Hex 1st Flight (2 min 29 sec)



Me setup also includes the RCtimer clone of the DJI550 frame, with all black arms. The quality looks really good to me but I don't have an authentic DJI frame to compare it to. I will be flying it a lot more outside today, so more vids to come, hopefully


I do have one big issue, and that is that I also picked up the Neo 6 gps from RCTimer, and have yet to get it to work. I am not really sure where to start, but I did try Jumpy's instructions on flashing the LEAH6 on a whim, and it didn't work. If anyone can maybe explain to me how to get the APM and Neo to communicate it would be much appreciated.
Derek_S is offline Find More Posts by Derek_S
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Iconic X
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 08:06 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_S View Post

I do have one big issue, and that is that I also picked up the Neo 6 gps from RCTimer, and have yet to get it to work. I am not really sure where to start, but I did try Jumpy's instructions on flashing the LEAH6 on a whim, and it didn't work. If anyone can maybe explain to me how to get the APM and Neo to communicate it would be much appreciated.
Arducopter should interrogate the GPS and auto configure it .. if it doesent then you need to make some changes either to the GPS or Arducopter in Arduino.

Is its a V1 or V2 Neo 6 ?

I take it works with Ucentre and you get a fix ?

Baud rate for the GPS on the APM IS 38400 as default..

If its a V1 NEO 6 you will need to configure the APM in Arduino and edit the APM_config.h and set the GPS port baud to 9600.

If its a V2 NE0 6 you can change the baud rate of the GPS using ucentre and save it to EEPROM. (38400 baud)
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Last edited by Jumpy07; Nov 15, 2012 at 08:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 08:58 AM
Videopilot
Derek_S's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined May 2009
2,814 Posts
A couple more pics
Derek_S is offline Find More Posts by Derek_S
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Iconic X
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 09:10 AM
Videopilot
Derek_S's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined May 2009
2,814 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
Is its a V1 or V2 Neo 6 ?

I take it works with Ucentre and you get a fix ?

Baud rate for the GPS on the APM IS 38400 as default..

If its a V1 NEO 6 you will need to configure the APM in Arduino and edit the APM_config.h and set the GPS port baud to 9600.

If its a V2 NE0 6 you can change the baud rate of the GPS using ucentre and save it to EEPROM. (38400 baud)

It says it is a V2 Crius/Neo 6. What I am trying is to change the "ports" baudrate to 38400 and then click "send". This starts the timer and it runs on forever. I do get sats and all the graphs on baud 9600 though, unitl I tried to load the 3dr Ublox.txt file..
Derek_S is offline Find More Posts by Derek_S
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Derek_S; Nov 11, 2012 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 4 Oct 01, 2012 10:32 AM
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 28, 2012 11:58 PM
Sold Apm 2.5 and Gps Panzlflyer FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Sep 26, 2012 09:30 AM
Sold APM 2.5 with Ublox Gps Panzlflyer Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Sep 25, 2012 08:03 PM
Discussion APM 2.5 clone - MegaFlight 2.5 ralphwu Multirotor Electronics 1 Sep 24, 2012 02:18 PM