HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:24 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
409 Posts
Have been looking at the eagles files and the I/O pin outs for the APM 2.5, which def don't match my early Rctimer APM 2.5 board. The GPS and Telemetry port pin outs are different.

Rctimer when they started selling the second batch included a double ended cable, although I don't have one of these (I have another on order) looking at the pictures... the pin outs and wiring looking different and seem to match the genuine APM 2.5

Can someone post decent pictures of the new style cables so I can double check.. the ones I can find are low quality and rctimer is still down at the moment..

Thanks
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Last edited by Jumpy07; Nov 15, 2012 at 08:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
41 Posts
APM 2.5 (5wires/pin plug) -> module wires (GPS ou 3DR)4pins plug

Red -> Red

Black -> Green

Yellow -> Yellow

Green -> NOTHING

Blue -> Black


Hope this help for the first batchs of rctimer packs with just wire ended plugs
SiLiKi is offline Find More Posts by SiLiKi
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:17 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Dearborn Heights
Joined Dec 2009
251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
Yeah just been checking my RCtimer board, and this does not seem to be the same.... this is how my GPS is currently wired and working.. (first version of board)

Would be good to double check the latest versions that come with the double ended cable.. if the diagram I posted for the APM 2.5 is right.. then the Rctimer port pin outs look different.. can anyone else confirm ?.. I don't have a genuine board to check..
I have the RCTimer board that came with the open ended connectors. I tried hooking up he GPS using the scheme from your earlier post, could not get any GPS lock. The Power and GND are correct though. The telemetry port pins are marked on the back of the board (GND, N/A, RX, TX, +5V). I will try to hook the GPS up later today in this scheme which is the same one in the EAGLE files for the connector labeled "DF13-5P-1.25DSA".
RaySuave is offline Find More Posts by RaySuave
Last edited by RaySuave; Nov 15, 2012 at 09:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:57 AM
KK4NOP
Mike Freas's Avatar
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Aug 2005
3,370 Posts
Is anyone else bothered by rctimers website being down so much?
Mike Freas is offline Find More Posts by Mike Freas
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pan/Tilt servo mods
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:03 AM
Lt Col, USAF, Retired
United States, IL, Swansea
Joined Jan 2010
288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Freas View Post
Is anyone else bothered by rctimers website being down so much?
Yep.
kc10kevin is offline Find More Posts by kc10kevin
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
310 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Freas View Post
Is anyone else bothered by rctimers website being down so much?
Yep also...
geotete is offline Find More Posts by geotete
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:23 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
409 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiLiKi View Post
APM 2.5 (5wires/pin plug) -> module wires (GPS ou 3DR)4pins plug

Red -> Red

Black -> Green

Yellow -> Yellow

Green -> NOTHING

Blue -> Black


Hope this help for the first batchs of rctimer packs with just wire ended plugs
Ok, got mine wrong.. had green connected to green on GPS.. still worked as I had set the GPS at 38400 baud.. (was rx line on GP)

Makes sense as matches Eagle files..will update the guide..
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:27 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
409 Posts
Ok.... have matched the colors / pins against the Eagle files and added details of the New Style GPS port which was not on the Eagle files for some reason..
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:11 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Scotland, Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2010
786 Posts
Thanks Jumpy for keeping us up to date your a star,Marty.
NEAGRON is offline Find More Posts by NEAGRON
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:12 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Scotland, Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2010
786 Posts
Hope rc timer's site is up and running soon,Marty.
NEAGRON is offline Find More Posts by NEAGRON
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:12 AM
KK4NOP
Mike Freas's Avatar
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Aug 2005
3,370 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotete View Post
Yep also...
Makes me concerned I'll have to purchase the board from someone else and pay twice as much.....
Mike Freas is offline Find More Posts by Mike Freas
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pan/Tilt servo mods
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:15 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
310 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Freas View Post
Makes me concerned I'll have to purchase the board from someone else and pay twice as much.....
That's my problem I was reading more info to buy the RCTimer version, when the decision was ready, the RCTimer website went down...

Geotete
geotete is offline Find More Posts by geotete
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:24 AM
Lt Col, USAF, Retired
United States, IL, Swansea
Joined Jan 2010
288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotete View Post
That's my problem I was reading more info to buy the RCTimer version, when the decision was ready, the RCTimer website went down...

Geotete
Same here....
kc10kevin is offline Find More Posts by kc10kevin
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:31 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
409 Posts
Just tested the 3DR text configuration on the NEO-6 GPS, it was written for the LEA-6 but I can confirm it works on the NEO-6 v2.

You get an error when you load it up.. but seems to configure the GPS in the same was as the LEA-6.. process is exactly the same to load it..


(PS: TX and RX on my NEO-6 were reversed. compared to my LEA-6)
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:57 AM
Still flying
Ramnes's Avatar
Oslo, Norway
Joined Feb 2009
689 Posts
APM2.5 vs YS-Xx or?

Hi guys
I have this luxury problem called "cant make up my mind" about what FC to buy for my hexacopters.
I've been looking at the YS-X6, and now the YS-X4, and they both cover what i'm interested in, normal flying, FPV and filming with a HD videocamera. The APM seems to me to be the best choice, but i'v listen to the guys over at the YS-Xx thread, and i think you know what they are recommending me.

I've tried to read about the APM and the problems with it, but cant find very much other than things allready fixed in some code version.

After reading this thread i was introduced to another APM board as well, so what do you guys think?
As a newbie to APM, how long should it take to get me going with the APM board? I've been flying planes and helis, but no acro(my wallet dont like that)

Today i have the KK2 and a Crius MW SE boards. The Crius might be a cameracontroller on the hexa with the KK2 board.

I'm kind of lost in this FC jungel right now, so please help me see the end of this tunnel.

J
Ramnes is offline Find More Posts by Ramnes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 4 Oct 01, 2012 09:32 AM
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 28, 2012 10:58 PM
Sold Apm 2.5 and Gps Panzlflyer FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Sep 26, 2012 08:30 AM
Sold APM 2.5 with Ublox Gps Panzlflyer Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Sep 25, 2012 07:03 PM
Discussion APM 2.5 clone - MegaFlight 2.5 ralphwu Multirotor Electronics 1 Sep 24, 2012 01:18 PM