HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:00 AM
Click eagle to read my blog
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,012 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mochaboy View Post
Phew - I'm on page 30 - have to stop there - need some sleep before work

If you gentlemen could be so kind as to send me links you think should be referenced - I'll add them to the indexes.

I'll go about ordering everything a little more sensibly later - just trying to get all the links assembled for now...
I few links that may be useful

Reasons for NOT using or relying on ESC BEC
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1320

Programming ATMEGA32U2 on ArduFlyer 2.5 when Atmel FLIP doesn't work
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...9#post23901426

Reliable way to calibrate ESC One At A Time
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1275

Extend wires from Lipo to ESC or ESC to Motor ? effect of wires on Compass
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1786064
jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by jabram; Jan 30, 2013 at 02:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2013, 03:56 AM
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
United States, HI, Kailua
Joined Feb 2012
2,253 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramnes View Post
Hi
I've configured Flight Modes on the 3 pos switch and the Ail switch on my Turnigy er9x Tx with FrSky V8HT Tx module and thought it worked and showed the right modes a few days ago, but now almost all modes shows that the Current mode in MP as Stabilize. Take a look at the picts.

What can cause this?

Thanks

J
You don't have a GPS lock yet, so all modes that require it default to Stabilize.
iskess is offline Find More Posts by iskess
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 04:11 AM
Registered User
deleted's Avatar
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Joined Apr 2007
543 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by critical_limit View Post
Set AHRS_GPS_GAIN to 0 in advanced parameters, than auto-trim.
Or disconnect GPS and than auto-trim
Thanks for the response but I haven't connected the GPS as yet...
deleted is online now Find More Posts by deleted
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:07 AM
CDW
Registered User
CDW's Avatar
Vienna, Austria
Joined Jun 2004
61 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mochaboy View Post
Phew - I'm on page 30 - have to stop there - need some sleep before work

If you gentlemen could be so kind as to send me links you think should be referenced - I'll add them to the indexes.

I'll go about ordering everything a little more sensibly later - just trying to get all the links assembled for now...
Thank you very much. I subscribed !!
CDW is offline Find More Posts by CDW
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:22 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,236 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by deleted View Post
Hey guys,

I recently got a Rctimer APM 2.5 board and connected the board up 2 nights ago. I haven't connected the GPS up as yet. I am running V2.9 of the firmware.
I had no problems uploading the firmware and calibrating the ESC's and ran through the radio calibration and accelerometer level calibration which all worked perfectly.

I then did a test flight in the backyard with stock settings and was pleasantly surprised to find it hovered very well with no tuning. It was late and I was satisfied so I went to bed and last night I thought I would have another test flight and start the tuning process. I had read about the "Auto Trim" feature and thought I would give it a try - this is where things went weird.

I followed the procedure for Auto Trim and subsequently found the quad now had a strong roll to the left. I tried the auto trim process several times more and found it was still the same. I also tried holding the disarm position for 15 sec to try and relevel the quad but that didnt seem to do anything. So I thought I would just connect it back up to Mission Planner and run the Accel calibration process again and all would be well but after running through the calibration process several times it still showed the craft as tilting to the left in the Flight data pane of Mission planner.

I then proceeded to uninstall Mission planner, deleted the folder and reinstalled it and ran through the updating the firmware again and calibrated everything from scratch again with the same results. Always the tilt in quad. Eventually the only thing I could do was to manually go into the Advanced config area and manually overwrite the accel Y (or X? cant recall now) setting till it looked level in the flight data pane of mission planner.

It hovers level again but I am worried why the accel calibration process no longer works. Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions that might help?

Thanks
had the same problem.. i think there is something with ver. 2.9...that auto trim worked well in ver. 2.8.. work around for me is, in MP at terminal window...type. "Level" it re-cal. and levels it..
barok is offline Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:35 AM
Still flying
Ramnes's Avatar
Oslo, Norway
Joined Feb 2009
595 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by barok View Post
had the same problem.. i think there is something with ver. 2.9...that auto trim worked well in ver. 2.8.. work around for me is, in MP at terminal window...type. "Level" it re-cal. and levels it..
barok
There is'nt a level command in the MP CLI, Take a look at post #1307 and #1309. But you can use the "erase" command in CLI to delete all config and start over. Been there, done that, but am i wrong about the level command in CLI please showa screenshot of it.

J
Ramnes is online now Find More Posts by Ramnes
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:37 AM
Still flying
Ramnes's Avatar
Oslo, Norway
Joined Feb 2009
595 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by iskess View Post
You don't have a GPS lock yet, so all modes that require it default to Stabilize.
iskess
Actually, i did know that but there are so many things to remember about the APM so i get a little confused.

Thanks for the answer

J
Ramnes is online now Find More Posts by Ramnes
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:37 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,236 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramnes View Post
barok
There is'nt a level command in the MP CLI, Take a look at post #1307 and #1309. But you can use the "erase" command in CLI to delete all config and start over. Been there, done that, but am i wrong about the level command in CLI please showa screenshot of it.

J
@work ...
.if i remember..in MP CLI.. type setup..then help.. a list will show.."level" is there..
barok is offline Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
1,881 Posts
So we use latest calibration acc own with use cli method?
titeuf007 is offline Find More Posts by titeuf007
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:22 AM
Still flying
Ramnes's Avatar
Oslo, Norway
Joined Feb 2009
595 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by barok View Post
@work ...
.if i remember..in MP CLI.. type setup..then help.. a list will show.."level" is there..
barok
You are right, i could'nt find the command before and someone in here said it was a menu selection in MP, i'll try to find a command list to learn exactly what that and the other commands do

J
Ramnes is online now Find More Posts by Ramnes
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:54 PM
Registered User
United States, ME, Skowhegan
Joined Sep 2012
71 Posts
I am working on building a quadcopter from scratch using the RCTimer ArduFlyer. I have a F450 Flamewheel w/ Naza & GPS, but wanted something new, with a little challenge so that I can learn more.

Here is what I already have...

Fatshark Dominator 3rd w/ Battery
ImmersionRC 600mw 5.8ghz A/V Transmitter
FatShark 5.8Ghz vRx Receiver Module
5.8 GHz SpiroNET Omni Antenna Set (RHCP)
GoPro Hero 2 (Grey) w/ DIY Video Out Video Cable
Turnigy Nano-Tech 4000mah 3S Battery
Turnigy Accucel-6 50W 6A Balancer/Charger
Spektrum AR8000X DSMX Receiver

This is what I currently have on order...

Reptile 500-V1 (TBS Discovery Style) 500mm Quadcopter Frame
4x Black DJI Arms (OEM)
4x Sunnysky X2212-980KV Brushless Motor
4x Hobby King 30A ESC 3A UBEC
4 Pairs 10x4.5" 1045 Propellers (CW & CCW)
ArduFlyer 2.5 (APM 2.5 Style) Flight Control System
Crius CN-06 V2 GPS (NEO-6M)
Radio Telemetry Kit 915Mhz
Ardupilot Mega 2.5 Case, Side entry
APM Power Module with XT60 Connectors
MinimOSD v0.1 (Clone) On-Screen Display OSD Board
Power Distribution Board
Scorpion Lipoly Lock Strap 205mm (Small)
Extended Landing Skid Set
USBasp AVR Programming Device for ATMEL proccessors
FTDI Adapter USB Controller - 5V
L-C Power Filter for FPV A/V Systems
2x M3 Nylon Nut (10pcs/bag)
2x M3x8 Nylon Screws (10pcs/bag)
2x 5.6mm x 13mm M3 Nylon Threaded Spacer (10pc)
10CM Male to Male Servo Lead (JR) 26AWG (10pcs/set)
Spektrum DX8 Transmitter w/ Battery, Charger, SDCard, Strap
Aluminum Transmitter Stand
Aluminum Transmitter Case

-------------

Now, my question is.. Am I missing anything to get the ArduFlyer wired up and get this quad going once the parts come in? If so, I'd like to know so I can order it now. I don't want to have a pile of quad stuff while I wait a month to order a special cable I forgot. lol

Thanks in advance for your time.

Rick
Sisco is offline Find More Posts by Sisco
Last edited by Sisco; Jan 30, 2013 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:00 PM
Registered User
lakis21's Avatar
Greece, Makedonia Thraki, Nikiti
Joined Dec 2006
251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisco View Post
I am working on building a quadcopter from scratch using the RCTimer ArduFlyer. I have a F450 Flamewheel w/ Naza & GPS, but wanted something new, with a little challenge so that I can learn more.

Here is what I already have...

Fatshark Dominator 3rd w/ Battery
ImmersionRC 600mw 5.8ghz A/V Transmitter
FatShark 5.8Ghz vRx Receiver Module
5.8 GHz SpiroNET Omni Antenna Set (RHCP)
Turnigy Nano-Tech 4000mah 3S Battery
Turnigy Accucel-6 50W 6A Balancer/Charger
Spektrum AR8000X DSMX Receiver

This is what I currently have on order...

Reptile 500-V1 (TBS Discovery Style) 500mm Quadcopter Frame
4x Black DJI Style Arms
4x Sunnysky X2212-980KV Brushless Motor
4x Hobby King 30A ESC 3A UBEC
4 Pairs 10x4.5" 1045 Propellers (CW & CCW)
ArduFlyer 2.5 (APM 2.5 Style) Flight Control System
Crius CN-06 V2 GPS (NEO-6M)
Radio Telemetry Kit 915Mhz
Ardupilot Mega 2.5 Case, Side entry
APM Power Module with XT60 Connectors
MinimOSD v0.1 (Clone) On-Screen Display OSD Board
Power Distribution Board
Scorpion Lipoly Lock Strap 205mm (Small)
Extended Landing Skid Set
USBasp AVR Programming Device for ATMEL proccessors
FTDI Adapter USB Controller - 5V
L-C Power Filter for FPV A/V Systems
2x M3 Nylon Nut (10pcs/bag)
2x M3x8 Nylon Screws (10pcs/bag)
2x 5.6mm x 13mm M3 Nylon Threaded Spacer (10pc)
10CM Male to Male Servo Lead (JR) 26AWG (10pcs/set)
Spektrum DX8 Transmitter w/ Battery, Charger, SDCard, Strap
Aluminum Transmitter Stand
Aluminum Transmitter Case

-------------

Now, my question is.. Am I missing anything to get the ArduFlyer wired up and get this quad going once the parts come in? If so, I'd like to know so I can order it now. I don't want to have a pile of quad stuff while I wait a month to order a special cable I forgot. lol

Thanks in advance for your time.

Rick
Hello I am waiting similar things almost the same.
It will be nice to share latter your build.
thanks
lakis21 is online now Find More Posts by lakis21
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:11 PM
Registered User
United States, ME, Skowhegan
Joined Sep 2012
71 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakis21 View Post
Hello I am waiting similar things almost the same.
It will be nice to share latter your build.
thanks
That would be great.

Rick
Sisco is offline Find More Posts by Sisco
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:24 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
403 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakis21 View Post
Hello I am waiting similar things almost the same.
It will be nice to share latter your build.
thanks
I have the same frame... the arms are really poor quality if they are the same...

They flex really badly compared to genuine DJI arms... was causing me issues tuning PID's

The centre plate of the Reptile frame is really tough... thicker than my genuine TBS and less flex....

Check what they are like when you get them.. if you can twisty them easliy.. do youself a favour and buy some decent arms.. they are cheap anyway

Jumpy07 is online now Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:34 PM
Registered User
lakis21's Avatar
Greece, Makedonia Thraki, Nikiti
Joined Dec 2006
251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
I have the same frame... the arms are really poor quality if they are the same...

They flex really badly compared to genuine DJI arms... was causing me issues tuning PID's

The centre plate of the Reptile frame is really tough... thicker than my genuine TBS and less flex....

Check what they are like when you get them.. if you can twisty them easliy.. do youself a favour and buy some decent arms.. they are cheap anyway

Thanks Jumpy for your update! Thank you also for your tutorials!!! In my CRIUS AIO Pro 1.1 you help me a lot thanks!

What about the carbon props they are good? Are the balanced? I am interesting for my DJI FF550. Maybe I have to replace the graupners...

Here is what I am waiting
FLYCAT MWC X-Mode Alien Multicopter Quadcopter Frame Kit with Gopro PTZ Glass Fiber Black
Tower Pro Micro Servo MG90S
Futaba S3003 Standard Servo
Quadcopter Hexacopter DIY Universal 200mm Tall Landing Skid Kit with Damping Rubber
4xEMAX Multi Copter Motor MT2213-935KV
4xHobby King 30A ESC 3A UBEC (SimonK)
Multi-Rotor Power Distribution Board (DIY 8 x output PCB)
RCTimer 433Mhz Radio Telemetry Kit
RCTimer ArduFlyer V2.5 Kit Flight Controller
ArduPilot Mega 2.5 Protective Case Side Opening
Multiwii MWC FC CN-06 GPS Receiver V2.0
UBEC 3A UBEC, 5V Switching BEC

lakis21 is online now Find More Posts by lakis21
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 4 Oct 01, 2012 09:32 AM
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 28, 2012 10:58 PM
Sold Apm 2.5 and Gps Panzlflyer FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Sep 26, 2012 08:30 AM
Sold APM 2.5 with Ublox Gps Panzlflyer Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Sep 25, 2012 07:03 PM
Discussion APM 2.5 clone - MegaFlight 2.5 ralphwu Multirotor Electronics 1 Sep 24, 2012 01:18 PM