SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Mar 06, 2013, 04:10 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Mar 2011
342 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_lm_70 View Post
LiPo + USB can be risky.

In a quadcopter, with no servo connected, it is way better to use only USB for power the board ... USB has enough power for allow board and RX to work fine. On top ... the propeller will never ever spin ... so no risk at all

If you plug USB and Battery (this will use the BEC of one or more ESC), if the voltage has a difference .. like 6v BEC ... you may damage either the board or your computer ....

Thanks guys! That information would also be useful at the OP.
HolgiB is offline Find More Posts by HolgiB
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 06, 2013, 06:46 AM
Registered User
Schweiz, AG, Schneisingen
Joined Mar 2011
708 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Alex View Post
@e_lm_70,
Your propellers destroyed by your hand. Because you used totally untested development sources!
ups - does not make sense.
totally untested stuff should NEVER appear in a repo.

will cause a drop of the level of trust
robert b is offline Find More Posts by robert b
Old Mar 06, 2013, 07:10 AM
Aleksey Kharlanov
Беларусь, Минская область, Минск
Joined Sep 2011
705 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert b View Post
ups - does not make sense.
totally untested stuff should NEVER appear in a repo.

will cause a drop of the level of trust
It's not totally untested. All versions tested at least by me. But there is lot of boards/ESC/receivers or other stuff. I cannot physically test all things.
Sir Alex is offline Find More Posts by Sir Alex
Old Mar 06, 2013, 07:13 AM
Registered User
Austria
Joined Jan 2004
8,069 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert b View Post
ups - does not make sense.
totally untested stuff should NEVER appear in a repo.

will cause a drop of the level of trust
Saying untested is 100% bulls

2.9.1 MegaPirate, for APN 2.5 is out since a while

Multiple people report to have no problem using MegaPirateNG 2.9.x ... so ... it is tested ... and the base, is mega tested ... NG is just porting the base from APN board to other one.

Make it sense now ?



ps: Enough virtual ink lost on this topic ... but ... I don't accept to pass like a dummy that I'm not ...
e_lm_70 is offline Find More Posts by e_lm_70
Old Mar 06, 2013, 10:14 AM
Registered User
Donjuanzx9's Avatar
Canada, QC, Stanbridge East
Joined Jul 2010
356 Posts
My quad looks right in flight planner and everything works correct in testing but pitch is reversed?
Should I just reverse my pitch on my Tx or am I missing something?
I'm using megapirate 2.7 R4 on a new hobbyking multiwii pro /GPS.
Donjuanzx9 is offline Find More Posts by Donjuanzx9
Last edited by Donjuanzx9; Mar 06, 2013 at 10:40 AM.
Old Mar 06, 2013, 12:25 PM
eak
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
267 Posts
If you are runing stable 2.8r3
put your quad level. then yaw to the left for 15 sek (untill the lights start to flash so maby count to onethousand twenty )
wait untill it stops flashing you are done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by squiggy2 View Post
Sorry if this has already been answered, it seems to be a common problem, but I haven't found a solution anywhere yet.

When I try to calibrate accelerometers in Mission Planner it doesn't give me any commands, it just hangs on "command received".

I went to CLI mode and typed
setup
level
And it gave me the accel and gyro offsets, but what do I do with them?
eak is offline Find More Posts by eak
Old Mar 06, 2013, 12:27 PM
eak
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
267 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donjuanzx9 View Post
My quad looks right in flight planner and everything works correct in testing but pitch is reversed?
Should I just reverse my pitch on my Tx or am I missing something?
I'm using megapirate 2.7 R4 on a new hobbyking multiwii pro /GPS.
yes. pitch is reversed in APM for soe odd reason for everyone. just reverse tx.
eak is offline Find More Posts by eak
Old Mar 06, 2013, 12:30 PM
eak
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
267 Posts
You know there is alot of stuff they need rewrite and alot is changed every time. it can't be done over night. And porting introduces new bugs because maby orignal version takes asumptions in their code and such things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by e_lm_70 View Post
Saying untested is 100% bulls

2.9.1 MegaPirate, for APN 2.5 is out since a while

Multiple people report to have no problem using MegaPirateNG 2.9.x ... so ... it is tested ... and the base, is mega tested ... NG is just porting the base from APN board to other one.

Make it sense now ?



ps: Enough virtual ink lost on this topic ... but ... I don't accept to pass like a dummy that I'm not ...
eak is offline Find More Posts by eak
Old Mar 06, 2013, 01:31 PM
Registered User
Schweiz, AG, Schneisingen
Joined Mar 2011
708 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_lm_70 View Post
Saying untested is 100% bulls

2.9.1 MegaPirate, for APN 2.5 is out since a while

Multiple people report to have no problem using MegaPirateNG 2.9.x ... so ... it is tested ... and the base, is mega tested ... NG is just porting the base from APN board to other one.

Make it sense now ?



ps: Enough virtual ink lost on this topic ... but ... I don't accept to pass like a dummy that I'm not ...
ups, quite a few stuff inside does not make to much sense.
to me it is not well tested
haven't tested/flown since more than a year because of fly-aways ...
robert b is offline Find More Posts by robert b
Old Mar 06, 2013, 02:18 PM
Registered User
Donjuanzx9's Avatar
Canada, QC, Stanbridge East
Joined Jul 2010
356 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eak View Post
yes. pitch is reversed in APM for soe odd reason for everyone. just reverse tx.

Thanks,
I wanted to try a test flight but that was the only thing holding me back.
When I try to calibrate the Acc in planner it sometimes hangs but shows level in planner so I think its fine.
Donjuanzx9 is offline Find More Posts by Donjuanzx9
Old Mar 06, 2013, 04:11 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined Jul 2012
627 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert b View Post
ups - does not make sense.
totally untested stuff should NEVER appear in a repo.

will cause a drop of the level of trust
Only by people that cannot understand that it is unreleased software, in beta, and not for general use.

If you chose to use unreleased software, you do so at your own risk. It isn't difficult to understand. If you don't know how to properly test the behaviour of this software with your gear, before flying, you shouldn't use it.

I am using MPNG 2.9 and have had no problems but I did test it carefully before flying and for each mode that I use.
Robert_AU is offline Find More Posts by Robert_AU
Old Mar 07, 2013, 07:54 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Blackpool
Joined Sep 2002
177 Posts
Help please :)

Well just built my first quad, the hquad from flite test. Calibrated esc's individually as suggested but now all connected up all my dt750's just judder/stutter and don't move. I tried disconnecting a motor and tried a cheap suppo 2012 which worked fine.
Any ideas?
Cheers,
Nick
Shorty is offline Find More Posts by Shorty
Old Mar 07, 2013, 08:40 AM
eak
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
267 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shorty View Post
Well just built my first quad, the hquad from flite test. Calibrated esc's individually as suggested but now all connected up all my dt750's just judder/stutter and don't move. I tried disconnecting a motor and tried a cheap suppo 2012 which worked fine.
Any ideas?
Cheers,
Nick
Sorry I dont understand your post.
eak is offline Find More Posts by eak
Old Mar 07, 2013, 08:48 AM
eak
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
267 Posts
Did you hawe the motors connected to the escs when calibrating? They work as speakers for ESC. Did they work before calibrating? Hawe you tried to reset all ESC to factory settings. Did they work? Did you try to recallibrate escs. When I program my escs I put y servo leads in a tree to all ESC. Plug battery in so they power up and programming them all. I use opto ESC cheaper and no need to cut middle servo lead wire off.
eak is offline Find More Posts by eak
Last edited by eak; Mar 07, 2013 at 09:00 AM.
Old Mar 07, 2013, 09:12 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Blackpool
Joined Sep 2002
177 Posts
I bought everything new from HK. I did try before calibration but all just stuttered. Calibrated each esc individually with the spare suppo motor I had and each esc worked with that the suppo motor.Put the dt750 back on and still stutters???
MMMMMM, what to do?
Cheers,
Nick.
Shorty is offline Find More Posts by Shorty
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion [UNOFFICIAL] New HobbyKing MultiWii PRO Flight Controller w/MTK GPS Module benybee UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 408 Dec 08, 2014 02:10 PM
Help! PROBLEM on Crius AIO Pro Y6 With MegaPirate NG 2.7 R4. RQuad Multirotor Electronics 3 Jan 22, 2013 01:13 AM
Found MultiWii PRO Flight Controller w/MTK GPS Module Koo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 4 Oct 11, 2012 12:47 AM
Yippee! New AirStudio universal Flight Controller for Mega Pirate NG and MultiWii AirCopter Multirotor Electronics 44 Sep 10, 2012 05:56 AM