HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Dec 13, 2012, 07:29 PM
5th
Mediocre Pilot Extraordinaire
5th's Avatar
United States, OR, Eugene
Joined Jun 2012
436 Posts
FC: http://witespyquad.gostorego.com/fli...ontroller.html
GPS: http://witespyquad.gostorego.com/fli...backplane.html

Thank you jabram.
5th is offline Find More Posts by 5th
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 13, 2012, 07:54 PM
It's Just a Hobby!
Sudsy's Avatar
Joined May 2012
911 Posts
OK Here Weego!

I have the board and the GPS on a back plate (homemade) mounted temporarily on the frame. I am going to page one and following the instructions. This board came from Hobby King and I just got it within the last month.

Sudsy
Sudsy is offline Find More Posts by Sudsy
Old Dec 13, 2012, 07:57 PM
Registered User
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,392 Posts
Thanks, that avoids any possible confusion, the whitespy board you linked to is exactly 100% the same as the Hobby King Mega, so instructions apply 100%

The GPS uses the same module as the CN-06 V2 that I refer to in the instructions.

With that GPS - DO NOT LOAD MULTIWII - in order to set up GPS as that does NOT work with ublox GPS.

I don't know what default setting withespy ships his ublox GPS with, so first of all just connect it and see if it works, do that outside and wait a good while before deciding it doesn't work, say 20 minutes.

If you want to be certain that the GPS is set up optimally scroll down toward the end of the instructions in the first post and follow the instructions to load 3dr txt.

EDIT: I just read more information on whitespy website, he sets up the GPS to 115K and 5Hz, which is intended for Multiwii, with MP NG just go ahead and follow the instructions to load 3DR txt which will set up the ublox GPS optimally for MP NG at 38400 baud and 4Hz.
jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by jabram; Dec 13, 2012 at 08:22 PM.
Old Dec 13, 2012, 08:00 PM
Registered User
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudsy View Post
I have the board and the GPS on a back plate (homemade) mounted temporarily on the frame. I am going to page one and following the instructions. This board came from Hobby King and I just got it within the last month.

Sudsy
Well, finally you can have some fun
jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 13, 2012, 08:30 PM
It's Just a Hobby!
Sudsy's Avatar
Joined May 2012
911 Posts
Sorry But I give Up.

I am just going to fly my now 5 quads with the KK v3 boards and the KK2s with 1.2 and FLY!

I am sorry but I guess I am just not cut out for all of the flashing and firmware BS.

I am going to quit following these threads and spend more time in the air.

Maybe I'll visit and post some of my stuff captured with a system that cost less than $200 excluding the TX.

Sudsy
Sudsy is offline Find More Posts by Sudsy
Old Dec 13, 2012, 09:06 PM
Registered User
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudsy View Post
Maybe I'll visit and post some of my stuff captured with a system that cost less than $200 excluding the TX.
Looking forward to seeing that.
jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:06 AM
5th
Mediocre Pilot Extraordinaire
5th's Avatar
United States, OR, Eugene
Joined Jun 2012
436 Posts
Thank you, Jabram. That is great news.
5th is offline Find More Posts by 5th
Old Dec 14, 2012, 08:53 AM
Registered User
Nederland, DR, Anderen
Joined Dec 2009
22 Posts
Mega pirate board on Sat receiver wih cmposit signal

Hi Friends,
I've got myself the Chinese Mega Pirate board with the Atmega 2560 controller .. How can I get a satellite receiver with composit signal to connect this board=
Probably on RxD pin of the controller?
The software will need to be adapted, but who can give me there to help?

Thank you Jan. NL
Jan Heinen is offline Find More Posts by Jan Heinen
Old Dec 14, 2012, 08:59 AM
Registered User
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Heinen View Post
Hi Friends,
I've got myself the Chinese Mega Pirate board with the Atmega 2560 controller .. How can I get a satellite receiver with composit signal to connect this board=
Probably on RxD pin of the controller?
The software will need to be adapted, but who can give me there to help?

Thank you Jan. NL
Hi Jan,

There are many different Mega boards, we need to know what you have in order to help you.

Can you post a link to the exact Mega board you purchased.

Satellite receiver, I think you mean a GPS

Can you also post a link to the exact GPS you intend to use

Joe
jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 14, 2012, 10:47 AM
Registered User
Nederland, DR, Anderen
Joined Dec 2009
22 Posts
Jeti sat composit receiver on the Mega pirate board

Hi Joe,
I have the CRIUS all in pro v 1.o from Hobby King. Here in Europe we use a lot of the Jeti satellite recievers in Mikrokopters.from Germany
The composit signal is connected with one wire at pin RxD of the Atmega controller.
This must surely also on the Mega Pirate Board?

www.mikrokopter.de then go to- shop - Jeti sat receivers

Regards Jan
Jan Heinen is offline Find More Posts by Jan Heinen
Old Dec 14, 2012, 10:54 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW
Joined Sep 2006
138 Posts
Do you have the link to the hobbyking Cruis AIOP?
LegendLength is offline Find More Posts by LegendLength
Old Dec 14, 2012, 11:34 AM
Registered User
Nederland, DR, Anderen
Joined Dec 2009
22 Posts
Sat receiver whit coder signal on the Mega pirate

Hi Joe,

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ega_2560_.html
Jan Heinen is offline Find More Posts by Jan Heinen
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:12 PM
Done Posting, Gone Flying
JNJO's Avatar
Sweden, Uppsala County, Balsta
Joined Jun 2012
1,235 Posts
Jan,
This is the thread you're looking for. -> http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1677726
Jumpy07 made a good guide there for the Crius AIOP, which should work for the board you have.
Guide -> http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=432794

/J
JNJO is online now Find More Posts by JNJO
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:28 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Berkeley
Joined Dec 2012
7 Posts
Jabram:
I am reading your instruction to set up the mega board. you mentioned using 3 lead plug into the A8 ch and the other end goes to the rx Yaw/rudder ch. and the rest just need signal wire to each ch. But the board connection scheme said A8 is throttle while A11 is yaw/rudder ch. Am I missing something here?
I am new to multiwii.
kaos0306 is offline Find More Posts by kaos0306
Old Dec 14, 2012, 04:08 PM
Registered User
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaos0306 View Post
Jabram:
I am reading your instruction to set up the mega board. you mentioned using 3 lead plug into the A8 ch and the other end goes to the rx Yaw/rudder ch. and the rest just need signal wire to each ch. But the board connection scheme said A8 is throttle while A11 is yaw/rudder ch. Am I missing something here?
I am new to multiwii.
Well spotted, thank you.

That was a mistake which has escaped so far, fixed now thanks to you
Quote:
One 3 lead cable cable you connect to A8 on the board, other end of that cable goes to your Receiver Throttle. That cable connects Throttle from your Receiver and also connects GND and 5v to power your Receiver.

The other 3 lead cables you connect in a straight line along the length of the inner side of J1 pins so that;
the first cable connects to A9,
second cable to A10,
third cable to A11
and connect the single cables to your receiver.

If you need to re arrange any cables at your receiver end you can use a sharp knife to lift the plastic tab [gently, don't break it off] on the cable header pull the cable out and swap it to another location.
jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion [UNOFFICIAL] New HobbyKing MultiWii PRO Flight Controller w/MTK GPS Module benybee UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 391 Nov 17, 2014 02:21 AM
Help! PROBLEM on Crius AIO Pro Y6 With MegaPirate NG 2.7 R4. RQuad Multirotor Electronics 3 Jan 22, 2013 01:13 AM
Found MultiWii PRO Flight Controller w/MTK GPS Module Koo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 4 Oct 11, 2012 12:47 AM
Yippee! New AirStudio universal Flight Controller for Mega Pirate NG and MultiWii AirCopter Multirotor Electronics 44 Sep 10, 2012 05:56 AM