Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Steveis, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Oct 14, 2012, 10:24 AM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,554 Posts
Discussion
KK2 Software for Broken LCD

Edit - New KK2 V1.6 NoLCD and PC Client V2.3 available here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...0#post25405668

Well, I've finally finished it. If you have a broken LCD then use this PC client and (if you want extra functionality) use the NoLCD version of KK2 code.

NoLCD is a DOS program that enables you to set up you KK2 board without an LCD. It works with the standard V1.2 code with reduced functionality. For enhanced usability, update the KK2 board with the specially made NoLCD software (there is also a Shane Colton ACC ModS2 version).

The solution to a broken LCD (until HK start selling them) is as simple as I could make it. No cables to make up.

Requirements: -

Programming cable (the one you use to flash your board).
A PC that can run a command prompt.
A working LED on the board.
A working buzzer on the board.

Run the NOLCD program with the board connected to the programmer. The default programmer is 'usbasp' however, you can enter your programmer type at the command prompt: EG

C:\NOLCD>NOLCD usbtiny

Don't connect the battery to the KK2 board when using this program.

Why upgrade the KK2 board firmware with the NoLCD firmware: -

- Provides a way of checking the receiver signals (Receiver Test).
- Provides a way ot checking the transmitter trims (Receiver Test).
- Enables you to see sensor values when calibration fails (Sensor Test).
- Provides audio and visual feedback of status and errors.
- You still get the full menu so it can be used with an LCD or try to navigate blindly!
- Skips some menu key presses - like asking you to press continue after a Factory Reset.

Changes are not made on the fly. You load the boards config, make changes and then write the changes back to the board. Current settings are read when you run the program but there is a menu option to read them in again.

Flashes and Beeps already in the V1.2 code

- Arming and Disarming Beep, armed beep, lost model beep
- Led On all the time = armed or in calibration mode
- Led short flash with short beep on power up = I'm alive
- Quick blast of beeps = come out of factory reset
- Low Voltage Alarm (recommend setting to zero volts while setting up the board)

Flashes and Beeps in the NoLCD code

(On the SAFE screen)
Single Quick beep to copy Trim values from SRAM to eeprom (about 30 secs after power up).
Pulsing Quick beep if self level is on (at same time Led is on - aka 1 second flash below).
1 second flash followed by a number of quick flashes to report Status
0 short flashes = OK (allows you to arm the board and fly).
1 short flash = Sensor not calibrated (You shouldn't see this).
2 short flashes = Error: no Roll input
3 short flashes = Error: no Pitch input
4 short flashes = Error: no Thro input
5 short flashes = Error: no Yaw input
6 short flashes = Not used
7 short flashes = Error: Sanity check (Some parameters are out of range)
Note, leave in this state for at least 30 seconds to ensure no errors are seen. Once an error is seen, it does not clear.
A slow flashing LED is good to go (1 second on / 1 second off)!

(Sensor Calibration)
5 beeps = going into Calibrate Sensors
5 beeps = Calibration successful
1 continuous beep = Calibration failed (you will need to power cycle - values can be checked in NOLCD)
Note that a Factory Reset forces a Sensor Calibration so make sure it is level after the 5 beeps.
Normally, you press Continue in Sensor Cal but there are now no button presses required.
.
Steveis is online now Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Steveis; Jun 29, 2013 at 06:07 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 14, 2012, 10:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
53 Posts
Steveis;

Excellent, I had just started working through the EEPROM map to look at doing something similar, just saved me a lot of work

There is however a problem with the current nolcd.exe binary. I run 64-bit Windows 7 and the binary is incompatible;

nolcd.exe
This version of c:\Users\andrew\Downloads\NOLCD\NOLCD.exe is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running. Check yo
ur computer's system information to see whether you need a x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact
the software publisher.

Not sure how easy this is or is not to fix. Looking forward to testing your software!

Andrew
dopplet is offline Find More Posts by dopplet
Old Oct 14, 2012, 10:56 AM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,554 Posts
You will need to find an old PC I'm afraid
Steveis is online now Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Old Oct 14, 2012, 11:37 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveis View Post
You will need to find an old PC I'm afraid
Less than ideal but you know what they say about beggars.....

Found one, kind of, I had a windows 2003 server VM kicking around so used it and passed the USBASP usb device to it. Software works and seems to work well, I had the same idea which is to pull the eeprom down from avrdude, decode it, recode and upload. I haven't looked at your diffs yet on the KK2_vNOLCD software yet, need to commit it to my local svn against the original code.

Would you consider open sourcing your tool? I'm not a very good programmer, hence why no tool from me yet, but taking a stab of converting what you've done to an interpreted language like python or processing might not be out of the realm of my or other's abilities.

/* Perfectly understanding that this is your work, and no hard feelings etc if you wish to keep things as is, if that needed to be said */

Andrew
dopplet is offline Find More Posts by dopplet
Old Oct 14, 2012, 04:27 PM
Enjoying the sunshine
HappySundays's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Feb 2011
2,906 Posts
Nice work Steveis!
I'm curious how the USBasp works as an interface to the PC.
I really thought it was only for programming.
Did you write a custom driver for it?
HappySundays is offline Find More Posts by HappySundays
Old Oct 15, 2012, 02:25 AM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,554 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySundays View Post
Nice work Steveis!
I'm curious how the USBasp works as an interface to the PC.
I really thought it was only for programming.
Did you write a custom driver for it?
No custom driver - I am only using it for programming. My program spawns avrdude to read and write to the eeprom. If you run the nolcd.exe program without an argument, it defaults to the usbasp programmer. If you have a different cable, it can be used by adding the name as an argument - eg C:\>nolcd usbtiny

The custom bit is in the nolcd kk2 code where I save the transmitter trim values and receiver signal flags to eeprom so they can be read out. I also save failed sensor calibration values.

The downside of this approach is that it's not real time.
The benefits of this approach are that you don't need a custom cable and most things work with the stock kk2 v1.2 code.

Also note that the nolcd kk2 code can be used without the PC client to give you audio and visual feedback, via the buzzer and led.
Steveis is online now Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Old Oct 15, 2012, 09:46 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,551 Posts
That approach is quiet interesting. I did something similar for the 4.7 and earlier firmwares in the flashtool. For the KK2.0 I were always to lazy, because it has a display.

If you like to share the mapping I could add it too the flashtool.

Best christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Old Oct 15, 2012, 10:24 AM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,554 Posts
KK2 V1.2 eeprom mapping

Mapping attached
Steveis is online now Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Old Oct 16, 2012, 01:07 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,551 Posts
Thank you Steve.

I will have a look on it this evening. Let's see what is missing in my code to get the configure screen work also for KK2.

Best Christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Old Nov 17, 2012, 09:26 AM
Learn to fly with thumb..
Indonesia, West Java, Depok
Joined Aug 2012
116 Posts
Thanks Steve, you save us.. a lot.

Btw, can it also work with fw 1.5 ?
waladi is offline Find More Posts by waladi
Old Nov 18, 2012, 03:58 AM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,554 Posts
I'm afraid it won't work with any code other than V1.2. Best to flash kk2.0 with my nolcd code.
Steveis is online now Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:31 AM
bmj
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
4 Posts
(I was just crashing and breaking my LCD)...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveis View Post
I'm afraid it won't work with any code other than V1.2. Best to flash kk2.0 with my nolcd code.
I was just wondering because the FW 1.4 and 1.5 work much better in autolevel mode than 1.2 is there any chance to have a fw 1.5 nolcd ?

and just to be sure, is there anyone that knows a partnumber for the LCD or a similar LCD that can be connected to the socket even though it would just be connected while configuring?
bmj is offline Find More Posts by bmj
Last edited by bmj; Nov 25, 2012 at 11:37 AM.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 04:11 PM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,554 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmj View Post
(I was just crashing and breaking my LCD)...

I was just wondering because the FW 1.4 and 1.5 work much better in autolevel mode than 1.2 is there any chance to have a fw 1.5 nolcd ?
Soon my friend, soon
Steveis is online now Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Old May 22, 2013, 06:32 AM
Registered User
Repubblica Italiana, Puglia, Statte
Joined Jul 2006
42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveis View Post
Soon my friend, soon
Hello I must flash my friend's kk2 with crashed LCD and I would use FW 1.5.
Any news about nolcd for FW 1.5?

Thank you

Angelo
angelo.p is offline Find More Posts by angelo.p
Old Jun 05, 2013, 08:59 AM
Registered User
shauntot's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
405 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelo.p View Post
Hello I must flash my friend's kk2 with crashed LCD and I would use FW 1.5.
Any news about nolcd for FW 1.5?

Thank you

Angelo
I second the motion! I have a broken kk2 that won't arm (but some reason I can still flash it with 1.6), and LCD is just displaying white. Would really love it if NOLCD can support at least 1.5
shauntot is offline Find More Posts by shauntot
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion OpenAero2 open-source stabilisation software for KK2 boards HappySundays FPV Talk 3222 Yesterday 10:31 PM
Discussion Hobbyking KK2.0 Multi-rotor LCD Flight Control Board MoRaLeSD Multirotor Talk 5 Apr 09, 2014 11:05 AM
Sold Gopro broken lcd Alwayscrash FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Oct 03, 2012 03:50 PM
Discussion Power Distribution for a KK2 Board with LCD screen jabbey71 Multirotor Electronics 1 Sep 03, 2012 04:19 AM
Wanted WTB: LCD for Titan charger, or broken charger TurboRacer Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 3 Mar 02, 2007 09:38 AM