SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 17, 2012, 10:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
88 Posts
Sorry I haven't had time until now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy View Post
Put that in terms of 1, 2, 3, and 4. Just to be sure, that would be one probe in slot one and the other in slot 2. and so forth Just move the probes down one pin at a time.
1-2 ?V
2-3 ?V
3-4 ?V
Okay, so starting from the red wire this is what I get:
1-2 = 3.86
2-3 = 0
3-4 = 3.86


Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy View Post
To test the main power leads, push a needle through the insulation of the red lead near the connector. Push another needle through the wire insulation on the black wire near the battery. It doesn't matter exactly, you just don't want them to accidently touch one another. Measure the voltage here. If it's 11.xx something, resolder your connectors. One or both of them is not connected.
I tried this and it reads 0.

Thanks.
kjur is offline Find More Posts by kjur
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 17, 2012, 02:13 PM
Registered User
tacx's Avatar
United States, MI, Macomb
Joined Apr 2009
2,554 Posts
Sounds to me like you have a break inside the battery. The connection between cell 1 and cell 2 or between cell 3 and cell 2 has been lost.

The cells are connected in series, which means the cells are connected in a loop, as in plus of cell 1 to minus of cell 2 and plus of cell 2 to minus of cell 3.

You may have a break at either end of cell 2 within the battery.
tacx is offline Find More Posts by tacx
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 04:35 PM
Frankenstein recycled packs
rampman's Avatar
USA, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jan 2006
8,772 Posts
Yulp. You did not mention that you shorted the wires when replacing the connectors in your original post.
Battery is a gonner.

Rick
rampman is offline Find More Posts by rampman
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 09:24 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,906 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjur View Post
Sorry I haven't had time until now.

Okay, so starting from the red wire this is what I get:
1-2 = 3.86
2-3 = 0
3-4 = 3.86



I tried this and it reads 0.

Thanks.
Yes, I agree that the pack has an internal open in the wiring. This has occurred when a modeler shorted a pack while working on it..

Did you perform these same checks on the second "dead" pack? What happened?
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Brand-New DX8 Won't Hold a Charge banzi28 Radios 64 Aug 11, 2012 09:31 AM
Discussion PowerLab 8 won't auto discharge after charge (won't cycle) martinwinlow FMA Direct 6 Apr 08, 2012 05:26 AM
Discussion New thunder power 250 mah 2cell lipo 20c i think problem charging (won't charge) GreenAce92 Batteries and Chargers 24 Jan 27, 2010 06:17 PM
Rant New LiPo Pack Won't Charge??? Frothingslosh Batteries and Chargers 3 Oct 22, 2004 01:23 PM
Why won't my brand new NiMH Aerohawk batteries charge correctly? ucsdgemini Batteries and Chargers 14 Mar 13, 2004 07:21 PM