HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 12, 2012, 03:28 AM
Honolulu, HI , United States
Joined May 2000
317 Posts
Discussion
Long Distance Sailplane Transportation

Looking for sources of boxes into which I can fit two Open Class sailplanes.

I have been using a Sportube for the past 10 years, but abandoning this after repeated & recent damage to my planes.

Anyone know of and/or using airline approved boxes? (I think the limit is 80" in length).

Would be interested in manufacturers/models/pricing/etc.

Thanks in advance,

Joe
joesoar is offline Find More Posts by joesoar
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:42 AM
launch high, go fast
Australia, TAS, Devonport
Joined May 2008
152 Posts
Ask us Aussies :-) we travel the world with models.

My Mate Steve has seen his box thrown from a 737 cargo door onto the tarmac. Ouch, it damaged the wing tips. Another mate, with a black sportube had his model left on the tarmac in 50 deg heat in Dubai.... The wings puffed like popcorn :-(

Apart from sportube, I have taken models overseas in 2 ways without problems:
1. Custom made cardboard box within a box with foam between the layers. Model supported by bulkheads within the inner box, or
2. Custom made box with aluminum extrusion edges and hard plastic sides made from a coroplast type material. Again, the model parts are supported by bulkheads ( these were the boxes that Cobra sailplanes were exported from the UK to Australia in back in the '90's)

Another solution I have seen is a simple coroplast box with models packed in plenty of bubble wrap ( Joe W can maybe provide more detail)

The secrets are:
A. Strong enough that luggage packed on top will not crush the box