New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 14, 2012, 08:44 AM
MAVA is online now
Find More Posts by MAVA
Registered User
MAVA's Avatar
El Dorado Hills, California, U.S.A.
Joined Mar 2000
554 Posts
You know...Because in the USA we SUPER SIZE EVERYTHING!!!
MAVA is online now Find More Posts by MAVA
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 15, 2012, 06:34 AM
kapteinkuk is offline
Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Quad Whisperer
Joined Jul 2008
953 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiloschista View Post
Do you mean the one on ground side ? I can't see one on plane side.

Is it right I should divide 3.3V into 1V ?
Specs for usual FPV video tx are :
10k ohm impedance, 1Vp-p

I guess then than I should have :
Arduino D2 output Voltage 3.3V
R1 10000Ohm in serie
R2 4348Ohm to ground
Input Voltage to video TX 1V

Am I on the right way ?
Thanks,

Ric
Yes, except that D2 output is 5V.
Impedance matching is not important.
kapteinkuk is offline Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 03:07 PM
srnet is online now
Find More Posts by srnet
Stuart
srnet's Avatar
UK, Cardiff
Joined Dec 2008
3,459 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAVA View Post
You know...Because in the USA we SUPER SIZE EVERYTHING!!!
Supersized something, that obvious.
srnet is online now Find More Posts by srnet
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 12:15 AM
chiloschista is online now
Find More Posts by chiloschista
T.ing to put on air 100 models
chiloschista's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Feb 2008
728 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
Yes, except that D2 output is 5V.
Impedance matching is not important.
Thanks a lot KK
Will try, it's too much interesting.

Best regards,

Ric
chiloschista is online now Find More Posts by chiloschista
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 08:10 AM
arielba is offline
Find More Posts by arielba
Registered User
Spain
Joined Nov 2009
44 Posts
Hello.

Great work an very simple circuit.

But, the MS5611 work at maximum of 4.0 volts and the tx send 5Volts.

I'm confused.

Regards
Ariel
arielba is offline Find More Posts by arielba
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 03:07 PM
kapteinkuk is offline
Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Quad Whisperer
Joined Jul 2008
953 Posts
The module the MS5611 is mounted on has is own 3V regulator.
kapteinkuk is offline Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 05:21 PM
MAVA is online now
Find More Posts by MAVA
Registered User
MAVA's Avatar
El Dorado Hills, California, U.S.A.
Joined Mar 2000
554 Posts
Ariel,

The MS5611 sensor is mounted on a board by third-party vendor. The vendor provides the power conditioning and possibly the signal conditioning. MS5611 "circuit board" is not made kapteinkuk. Look here:

http://dx.com/p/gy-63-ms5611-high-re...-148866?item=1

Actually, the sensor the bare sensor is rated for a maximum of 3.6v

http://www.servoflo.com/pressure-sen...69-ms5611.html

Hope this helps.

Martin
MAVA is online now Find More Posts by MAVA
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 02:26 AM
Gary Warner is offline
Find More Posts by Gary Warner
York Electronics
Gary Warner's Avatar
Dallas Tx USA
Joined Apr 1999
2,505 Posts
kapteinkuk,

I got my sensor fired up today. I'm using the Parallx MS5607 module - similar raw sensor - and bit 'denting' it with a PIC12F629. I haven't the time today to play with the temperature compensation, but I have read the raw pressure data. The lower byte is all over the place by as much as +/-128 (255 full span) with the average 'noise' +/- 40 in still stable air (A/C is off, no light, on the bench and on the breadboard). Seems little difference using lower resolution settings other than locking the lower byte on the lowest resolution setting. Seeing that it's patched together with jumper wires, I can't say it's not RFI causing the noise in the reading.

Is your raw pressure data this noisy too? Do I have to get the MS5611 version to get results like you have?

BTW, great project... at least it got me off my butt to mess with mine.
Gary Warner is offline Find More Posts by Gary Warner
Last edited by Gary Warner; Oct 22, 2012 at 02:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 11:58 AM
kapteinkuk is offline
Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Quad Whisperer
Joined Jul 2008
953 Posts
Yes, the raw values is very noisy. And it increases if it is windy outside.
The MS5611 has double the resolution, but I think you will get a good performance with yours.
kapteinkuk is offline Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 09:44 PM
Gary Warner is offline
Find More Posts by Gary Warner
York Electronics
Gary Warner's Avatar
Dallas Tx USA
Joined Apr 1999
2,505 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
Yes, the raw values is very noisy. And it increases if it is windy outside.
The MS5611 has double the resolution, but I think you will get a good performance with yours.
You know, I thought about it being windy outside. Last night the winds were 20-25MPH. Today the winds are calm. This reduced the noise by about 30%. Sensitive sensor!

Thanks!
Gary Warner is offline Find More Posts by Gary Warner
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 12:35 AM
pprioverde is offline
Find More Posts by pprioverde
M Griffith
Ecuador, Tungurahua
Joined Jun 2012
58 Posts
Very, very nice Rolf. Thanks for sharing.

It sounds just like the old analog vario I used to hang glide with. Except of course more sensitive and not the size of a small brick.
pprioverde is offline Find More Posts by pprioverde
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 12:48 AM
pprioverde is offline
Find More Posts by pprioverde
M Griffith
Ecuador, Tungurahua
Joined Jun 2012
58 Posts
Can I ask what ddsAcc stands for?
pprioverde is offline Find More Posts by pprioverde
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 01:31 AM
Taurus Flyer is offline
Find More Posts by Taurus Flyer
I bail out, anywhere, anytime
Taurus Flyer's Avatar
The Netherlands, OV, Almelo
Joined Nov 2010
3,367 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pprioverde View Post
Very, very nice Rolf. Thanks for sharing.

It sounds just like the old analog vario I used to hang glide with. Except of course more sensitive and not the size of a small brick.
To compare, an analog vario.
ASK18 glider 4.3m TE compensated variometer (1 min 13 sec)




Taurus Flyer,
Taurus Flyer is offline Find More Posts by Taurus Flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 08:11 AM
Gary Warner is offline
Find More Posts by Gary Warner
York Electronics
Gary Warner's Avatar
Dallas Tx USA
Joined Apr 1999
2,505 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pprioverde View Post
Can I ask what ddsAcc stands for?
I can't answer for him, but to me it's the "descend/ascend" flag/mask in constructing the output tone.

Then again, I'm still figuring out how I'm going to bit wise code the 64 bit x 64 bit math on my 8 bit PIC.

So much to learn and so few brain cells (left).
Gary Warner is offline Find More Posts by Gary Warner
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 07:05 PM
kapteinkuk is offline
Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Quad Whisperer
Joined Jul 2008
953 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pprioverde View Post
Can I ask what ddsAcc stands for?
Direct digital synthesizer Accumulator. It is used for the amplitude modulation of the vario sound and gives the intermittent sound when ascending.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_digital_synthesizer
kapteinkuk is offline Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Arduino based IR tag module for combat sh4nce Combat 38 Feb 18, 2015 04:02 PM
New Product DIY OpenPilot based FlightControl (F4) lilvinz Multirotor Electronics 271 Jan 04, 2015 05:58 AM
Mini-HowTo DIY arduino twin video receiver diversity controller. Updates allways in post #1 Richard_s FPV Equipment 144 Jul 13, 2014 11:27 AM
Idea DIY Video Diversity with Arduino - Please Review! MayMayDay FPV Talk 2 Sep 23, 2012 12:36 PM
Help! Engineering student and first arduino based build? cad2blender UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 3 May 17, 2012 07:59 AM