HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 09, 2012, 05:35 PM
United States, NJ, Newark
Joined Aug 2012
53 Posts
Discussion
Banana Hobby...the good, the bad, the frustrating

There are thread of this sort either praising or lambasting Banana hobby at least once a week. Since I have some experience with them, both good and bad, I figured I'd give my two cents for those still sitting on the fence, and Banana Hobby management who monitor the forum.

First off I have to say that for all the numerous times I've called, I've never had to be on hold for longer than five minutes. The representatives were always generally courteous. And though they didn't have the great technical knowledge on the product, I never had to wait long to eventually get my question answered.

Continuing with the "good," the production values of your review videos is nothing short of excellent. The general performance of everything I've purchased is similar to what is shown (apart from Pete's flying skills), so I can't be count among those who think the product is modified from stock to give a better showing (unless of course stated by Pete). One thing you might consider doing is moving to a different flying field to film. Since Nitroplanes also films at that location, it leads a perspective buyer to think you are related companies, which can affect reputation (positively or negatively).

Lastly, I think your prices are generally fair. Mostly, I appreciate that fact that they don't fluctuate up or down on a regular basis (like your competitor Nitroplanes). If but for you, I'd probably never get into EDFs due to the expense. In the same vein I like the performance value of your batteries and I am slowly converting my entire fleet to that standard.