SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 09, 2012, 12:17 AM
Joined Oct 2012
1 Posts
Help!
New to RC

Hey everyone, I attempted to do some searching on the site before I asked my question but I feel that my questions are so broad that there was no one question that really helped me.

I am new to the RC world. Not too long ago I purchased an AR.Drone 2.0 and thought it was pretty fun to fly. I purchased the "Macgyver Mod" to make it controllable by remote control. The receiver and transmitter were included in the purchase. I have become proficient flying with the transmitter instead of an Iphone and can even fly with the front of the aircraft facing me. I want to move forward in my RC experiences and would like to start flying a quad or hex rotor. I was looking at a DJI F450 or 550 arf kit. The problem is I really don't understand the whole transmitter/receiver relationship. I know that I need 4 ch/6 ch on a quad/hexa but how many more do I need on top of that? I also noticed people talk about "Modes" and "switches" on their transmitters, what are these? I was thinking about putting a DJI GPS on my F450/550 do I need an extra Chanel for this? My main lack of understand comes from features of a trasnmitter and reciever. (Gain,CH, Modes,Switches etc) Can you help me learn to understand this new and exciting hobby?

Thanks everyone I really appreciate it.

If you know of a thread that would help instead of an answer please feel free to post it!
atppilot is offline Find More Posts by atppilot
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2012, 12:46 AM
Joined Jun 2012
245 Posts
Unless you got experience with electronics, or understand how to fix them, which comes with experience stay away from kits in the time being. If you read these forums, many who have put kits together have trouble setting them up, etc. A kit is not as straight forward as it sounds.

Go for a complete setup, minimum set-up only, like a witespy Quad.