HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 08, 2012, 11:08 PM
Joined Oct 2012
2 Posts
Discussion
Good starter plane for a 6yr old

Hi, I am brand new to this myself but my 6yr old really wants an RC Airplane (and so would I so double the bonus). I have had a look around online but don't really know what to buy. I have seen a "5CH Skyartec Cessna 182 Li-Po Brushless RTF RC Electric Plane 2.4Ghz BL for $144. It also comes with a free flight simulator. This sounded good to me so I could get my boy to practice online so he doesn't destroy it on the first flight.
Is this sound logic? Does the controller that comes with the plane plug into your computer so you fly the simulator with it?
I would like any advice on what to buy or how to get started.
Thanks in advance for your help!!
Cheers
Baz
baz23 is offline Find More Posts by baz23
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2012, 02:10 AM
20 years on the Internet
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined May 2012
797 Posts
Champ...

Blue Skies
Nightstone
Nightstone is offline Find More Posts by Nightstone
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Downtown Phoenix Skyline
Old Oct 09, 2012, 03:45 AM
in the beginning...
United States, MO, De Soto
Joined Mar 2012
475 Posts
my 8 yr old boy practices with this...
http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dyu-10...FQSe4AodASgAMw
and use the clearview sim.
http://rcflightsim.com/

I'd then recommend the Hobbyzone Champ, if you think he's ready to give a real plane a shot.
http://secure.hobbyzone.com/HBZ4900.html
boats
bm2thirsty is offline Find More Posts by bm2thirsty
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My staple plane the UM P-51
Old Oct 09, 2012, 06:12 AM
Joined Jul 2012
43 Posts
i am going to let my 7 year old son have a go with my firebird stratos tonight (once i get it to a suitable altitude). have a look at that, i am confident my son will be able to do well with it, its super easy to fly.
jack3auer is offline Find More Posts by jack3auer
Old Oct 09, 2012, 06:34 AM
20+ years of RC flying