HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 04, 2012, 01:16 AM
Joe_Crash
United States, MD, Gaithersburg
Joined Oct 2010
422 Posts
Help!
Any opinions of this R2 e glider?

I'm just getting into gliders, and stumbled on what appears in the picture to be a nice plane at an attractive price. : "3 Channel RC EP 1.8M Passer Thermo Glider Sailplane" at http://www.r2hobbies.com/rc-aircraft...sailplane.html

I've not heard much about these planes, and was hoping someone more experienced could give me a hint on whether or not it would be a good first glider. I plan to use a high start.

They also have this: 3Ch RC EP 1.8M Passer-X Thermo Glider Sailplane - for not a lot more - less than $90.00
I don't seem to be able to find a thread about it and was hoping you guys could point me in the right directon. I am always suspicious if something looks great but costs little - what do you all think?
joe_crash is offline Find More Posts by joe_crash
RCG Plus Member
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 04, 2012, 07:59 AM
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,017 Posts
Found the following:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=passer+glider

The treads are old but if you post to them you may get some opinions from people who have had them a while.

The link you posted was to the pure glider, but your photo is of an electric glider. Which one interests you?
aeajr is online now Find More Posts by aeajr
Old Oct 04, 2012, 04:51 PM
United States, MA, Waltham
Joined Dec 2001
6,855 Posts
IMHO, it's usually best to start with a simple RES glider. (rudder, elevator, spoiler). However, since you have other flying experience you may be comfortable with the ailerons. But the less brain you devote to handling, the more you have left for figuring out the thermals.