HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 03, 2012, 04:01 PM
United States, AK, Ketchikan
Joined Mar 2008
1,377 Posts
Discussion
Building Pat Tritle's 53" Piper Super Cub

Hey all! I know this plane is a few years old now, but I thought I'd start a build thread on it anyway, as this is my first short kit, and my first build thread, so I'm sure I'll have some questions along the way.

I received the kit as a birthday present, but wasn't able to start it until a few days ago, as I was busy with a couple little items such as getting married and going on a honeymoon (Mediterranean Cruise!!) - Anyway, I'm back and settled in, so I thought it was time to start building something.

So far I have the tail surfaces framed up, and am a good way into getting the fuselage framed. The pictures show where I'm up to so far. This is my first time building with magnets, and I have to say I really like it. I don't know if it was the easiest way to laminate the bowed outlines, but it worked, and I didn't even break any wood. They definitely worked well for keeping the fuselage parts lined up, then I glued them up when I was satisfied.

The only issue I ran into was trying to keep F6 in place. The fuselage sides needed a bit more force than I expected to bend them, and the very small gluing surface holding F6 on wasn't quite enough. I don't know if it'll show up in the photo, but I ended up making a small gusset to keep it in place.

I do have one question at this point. I've installed the 1/16" stringers, and filled out the sides of the fuse with the 1/16" square pieces, but for the 1/8" x 1/16" outfill on the window frames, I'm not sure if I should glue the acetate for the window in first, or if I outfill with the balsa, then glue the acetate on top of everything?

Has anyone else used ply in place of the cardstock for the front? I bought a sheet of 1/64 when I purchased my balsa that I was thinking about using.