SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 03, 2012, 08:01 AM
Erik with a K
tvcasualty's Avatar
Toledo, OH
Joined Aug 2007
1,123 Posts
Discussion
Sketchup as Foamcutting Software

For some time now I have been working on a plugin allowing Sketchup to be used as a CAM program. I have two needs, mill and hotwire.

I have a basic interface built up to allow these operations to be used in one CNC sequence for my machine. We include the software with our machine, however it could be altered slightly to allow it to be used for other hotwire machines that run off of 4 axis driver cards that accept g-code.

Please take a look at this thread:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1618001

I've posted a few videos here showing the different CAM operations from inside Sketchup.

Here is another video showing how to develop a hotwire path:
Sketchup as Hotware CAM Software, NCGen to gcode out (6 min 27 sec)


Is there any interest in making this software (NCGen) available to people who don't have our machine?
tvcasualty is offline Find More Posts by tvcasualty
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2012, 06:10 AM
tau
Registered User
Joined Aug 2006
43 Posts
Quote:
Is there any interest in making this software (NCGen) available to people who don't have our machine?
You bet!
tau is offline Find More Posts by tau
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 01:20 PM
Firecracker!
BillO's Avatar
San Francisco & Santa Cruz
Joined Oct 2004
2,362 Posts
I would be interested! I'm in the process of figuring out Sketchup and would like to be able to make parts directly as you describe.
BillO is online now Find More Posts by BillO
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 01:06 PM
Registered User
D_FAST's Avatar
Denver CO
Joined Apr 2008
2,085 Posts
i would love such a plugin,but i don't have the cnc rig. Really love the play back of the gcode! enable guys to fix things before they cut,and with that said.

Now what would be the bees knees is

If you included a 6in boom arm on that rig. Then have the ability to setup different work stations all in the same gcode.

If we are using a 4"x4" block on a 36"x36" work surface i could see at list 4 pieces being cut one right after another.

Dabbled in C+, C++, Lua and python code myself.Mainly for PC Games.
Never checked into the Ruby Script language, so i wouldn't even know if its doable.
D_FAST is online now Find More Posts by D_FAST
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dassualt Alpha Jet
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 11:00 PM
Erik with a K
tvcasualty's Avatar
Toledo, OH
Joined Aug 2007
1,123 Posts
NCGen is now available at FoamCasualty.com

Please have a look if you are interested!
tvcasualty is offline Find More Posts by tvcasualty
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 09:18 PM
Erik with a K
tvcasualty's Avatar
Toledo, OH
Joined Aug 2007
1,123 Posts
Made up a pilot, check it out here in this really nice thread:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=398
tvcasualty is offline Find More Posts by tvcasualty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Laterst HP22 software detected as a virus -S- Hitec/Multiplex USA 1 Apr 08, 2012 02:35 PM
Discussion Realtek chip can be used as a Software Defined Radio 64Mhz to 1700Mhz NorCalMatCat FPV Talk 5 Apr 03, 2012 08:46 PM
New Product CNC Workbench foamcutting software with GCode Martin@ul.ie CAD/CAM 9 Feb 10, 2011 04:26 AM
Discussion Lama v4 software the same as one that you buy? NewShockerGuy Coaxial Helicopters 1 Jan 21, 2008 02:37 PM
Discussion MSFS as controller software rjfon1 UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 7 Oct 10, 2006 12:00 PM