HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 29, 2012, 05:04 PM
Joined Sep 2012
12 Posts
Discussion
Your recommendations: A RTF Multi Rotor setup for under $2400

Hi everyone

My name is Herman and I am from South Africa. I just signed up after finding your amazing forum and reading many helpful discussions here.

I am a complete newbie to the world of flying RC models. I want to invest in a RTF Multi-rotor setup with remote to be used for the primary purpose of aerial photography. I am thinking of using something like the Canon S100 or Sony Nex... do not need DSLR carry capabilities at this stage.

I am not interested in building a kit or programming, but instead want to buy a setup that is easy to fly and reliable for my needs. I will be shooting houses in residential areas for my real estate clients. The Go Pro 2 looks interesting, but I am concerned that the image quality of the stills is not at the level I am aiming for.

If you had a budget of $2400 dollars for something ideally suited to my needs, what would you suggest I get and please kindly list the website where I can find the unit in question. Keep in mind that I am in South Africa so parts may be harder to come by - minimal maintenance will be ideal.

I look forward to your feedback.

Best,

Herman
HermanBo is offline Find More Posts by HermanBo
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 29, 2012, 06:18 PM
United States, CA, Santa Monica
Joined Jul 2011
498 Posts
Just a tip- you might want to do some simulator training or buy a crappy quad to learn on before splurging $2400 and then crashing it along with the camera gear. There's nothing wrong with being a "complete newbie" but you don't want to lose $ if you don't need to. That being said, you might want to look into something DJI based (w/ gps) in terms of flight control, I'm not sure about the frames since I've always designed and machined my own.
Lpbug is offline Find More Posts by Lpbug
Old Sep 29, 2012, 06:29 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.