HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:07 PM
Joined Jun 2010
90 Posts
Build Log
Sig 1/6th clipped wing cub build/ questions

Hi all, this will be my first "build log". I had previously posted this in fuel plane talk but I think if fits better in the builders section as many of my questions will be about the build. I know there are a lot of cub build logs but they are usually vague on some of the details once they are framed up. I am building it semi scale/stand off scale. I have everything basically framed up but am creating this thread as a way to ask many of the questions I will have over the next few months. I have built a decent amount before but the hardest part for me is getting all the final details figured out especially on a kit that gives little advice for these steps. I figure this will be a great way to collaborate all of my struggles in one place. It will be a slowish process because I am also a college student and unfortunately tests take priority. Here are some pics of the progress so far and here is a list of the things I have been contemplating as well. Let me know any input you might have on this topic.

-One piece or two piece wing? - like the idea of a two piece with one servo for each aileron but only done one piece wings with one servo in all of my previous builds.

-Where to get tubing (and what size) to make it a two piece wing- is it too late to go that route with the wings framed up? The two wings halves are not glued together yet.

-Should I do the recommended dihedral or do zero dihedral? What are the pros/cons of either way?

-Engine selection: I have O.S. 48 surpass and a Saito .45 four stroke engines, any thoughts appreciated. I am leaning to toward the O.S. 48 as it is newer and I have ran it successfully multiple times.

-Gas tank size- I have a 10, 8, 6oz and smaller tanks but am leaning toward the larger for longer flights. The 10 will fit but would it make it too heavy??