HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:01 PM
Hong Kong
Joined Sep 2012
2 Posts
Discussion
Second Motor turns really slow after crash

Hey guys,

I'm new to the hobby and just got a Dynam PBY Catalina. On my first flying attempt the plane took off, immediately rolled to the right and fell top first into the water from about 2m or 3m height. Now that everything has dried and I was trying to asses the damage, it turns out that one of the motors won't really turn anymore. If I push the throttle all the way forward, the right motor runs at full speed, but the left runs so slow i can see the screw turning. (It's not really smooth, more like turn - turn - turn - turn, like something would block the motor).

Any ideas? Throttle control broken? The receiver seems to be fine, I packed it into a plastic back, so it didn't get any water in it. The wiring doesn't seem to be faulty either, the motor gets the signal, just doesn't turn.

I hope I can get it fixed without having to purchase new parts.

Thanks a lot.
mrgoodkat is offline Find More Posts by mrgoodkat
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 25, 2012, 03:29 AM
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Nov 2003
1,486 Posts
Does the motor stop and start, or just pulsate? If its a rough start and stop motion you may be missing a phase on your motor.

You can do a bit more testing since it is a twin. Plug the suspect motor into the working ESC and test it. Then plug your working motor into your suspect ESC. That should isolate where the fault is.
Eclipse_7 is offline Find More Posts by Eclipse_7
Old Sep 25, 2012, 06:01 AM View Post
bunnyboy
A moderator felt this post violated the following rule: Off Topic Advertisement. Show it to me anyway.
Old Sep 25, 2012, 06:08 AM
Hong Kong
Joined Sep 2012
2 Posts
Thank's Eclipse_7,
It's a pulsating start-stop motion.

I connected the motor to the other side and it works flawlessly with the other ESC.