HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 23, 2012, 08:00 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
Discussion
Problem with Fly Sky FS-T6 (Need some advice)

Well today was the 2nd flying session to test my new Fly Sky FS-T6 radio. The first 2 flights went fine but when I when I turned the radio on & then plugged the aircraft battery on, the elevator on the aircraft went to full down. I accidentally touched the throttle stick & that moved the elevator. What is happening here? Did I just lose the bind? Also, one of the more experienced guys in the club picked up the radio & noticed a "clunk" at the bottom of the throttle stick travel & he mentioned it seems pretty loose which I would have to agree with. Does anybody have any instructions how to tighten up the throttle stick on this radio? And what's with the elevator & throttle becoming reversed ??

- Thanks -
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:15 AM
Registered User
neosunrise's Avatar
United States, KY, Lexington
Joined Jul 2012
139 Posts
I think I encountered a similar problem a couple of days ago. When I was viewing the bars of the sticks (the "Display" function in the menu), the motor suddenly started to spin at full throttle. I swear that I didn't do anything at that point and all the screen was just not responding to any input. I can only turn it off and then back on. Fortunately, my motor was not fixed on the helicopter, otherwise, I cannot imagine what would happen!

Yesterday, I emailed with a CR at Flysky and she told me the first version of T6, which is what we bought, is immature, meaning that there could be a bunch of bugs in the software. Damn it! How could they release a product without extensive test? I cannot say for sure that what we encountered was due to the bugs but it is highly possible that there are other potential risks to use this TX.

The CR said they are now testing the new version and it will be released in the near future. The changes include both hardware and software. However, she said the changes on hardware are just different labels or names of the buttons. They will not alter the circuit design but ungrage the software instead. I hope they can release their new version soon so that we can ungrade ours just to KEEP SAFE!
neosunrise is online now Find More Posts by neosunrise
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 02:10 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
Wow! that's just great so a ticking time bomb then? I think I might have to return this radio to Hobbypartz but I will first do some more testing starting with Re-Binding this receiver & see what happens. For what it is worth I have 5 full flights with the FS-T6 & no problems in the air but just the problem yesterday on the ground & if I would have had a binding plug with me i would have tried re-binding but did not, I will do that this evening.

P.S. - Does anybody have a link regarding tightening up the throttle stick? probably something from the Turnigy 9X would work also.
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 10:23 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
OK, I figured out what the problem was with the radio & it is working OK now but still baffled as to WHY it did this. When I checked, the radio had changed itself to Mode 1 & that is why the throttle & elevator were reversed. Curiously also the elevator was reversed so I had to go back & change the servo reversing. I don't know what happened but I had a lot of guys at the field who wanted to hold this radio so don't know if any of them did anything & there are some jokers there. However, i will keep a close watch on the radio, I can't have this changing modes on me in the middle of a flying session or worse right in the middle of a flight. Now that I have reprogrammed the radio, everything is working correctly but I will know what to look for if this happens again & I am planning on going out again this weekend.

P.S. - I still need to tighten up that throttle stick, anybody know how to do it?
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 10:45 AM
Registered User
neosunrise's Avatar
United States, KY, Lexington
Joined Jul 2012
139 Posts
Emailed my problem to the CR and she replied to it. She claimed that the first version sometimes can lose the settings and they should have already fixed it in the new version. Now I'm just waiting for the new version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrebman View Post
OK, I figured out what the problem was with the radio & it is working OK now but still baffled as to WHY it did this. When I checked, the radio had changed itself to Mode 1 & that is why the throttle & elevator were reversed. Curiously also the elevator was reversed so I had to go back & change the servo reversing. I don't know what happened but I had a lot of guys at the field who wanted to hold this radio so don't know if any of them did anything & there are some jokers there. However, i will keep a close watch on the radio, I can't have this changing modes on me in the middle of a flying session or worse right in the middle of a flight. Now that I have reprogrammed the radio, everything is working correctly but I will know what to look for if this happens again & I am planning on going out again this weekend.

P.S. - I still need to tighten up that throttle stick, anybody know how to do it?
neosunrise is online now Find More Posts by neosunrise
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 12:47 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
Any fix for those of us with the first verison? Do you have an email address for Fly Sky? I may want to see if they will swap out my radio for the new version.
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 05:00 PM
Registered User
neosunrise's Avatar
United States, KY, Lexington
Joined Jul 2012
139 Posts
You may simply go to their website and you will find their email. I think we need more people to give them some pressure, otherwise, they will not take care of us.

btw, my battery door cannot close tightly when I put 8 AA's in the tray. I told them the problem, they just simply said they didn't find the problem. I have no idea if you have the same problem and if so, just let them know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrebman View Post
Any fix for those of us with the first verison? Do you have an email address for Fly Sky? I may want to see if they will swap out my radio for the new version.
neosunrise is online now Find More Posts by neosunrise
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 12:27 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
Neo:

My battery door works just fine even with Eveready e2 batteries in there, not tight at all, about perfect. I really like the radio but if it "forgets" my settings on a regular basis that opinion will change pretty quick. At least now I know what happened & if it happens again at the field I can at least reprogram & get back in the air instead of being shut down with nothing to fly.
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 03:39 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
OK, now it has happened to me again & this time it completely erased it's memory & is showing Flysky1 under model 1 instead of Funtana. I am going to request an RMA number from Hobby Partz. What good are 20 model memories if the radio randomly erases it's memory?
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 07:39 PM
Registered User
neosunrise's Avatar
United States, KY, Lexington
Joined Jul 2012
139 Posts
Does that mean it was RESET by itself?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrebman View Post
OK, now it has happened to me again & this time it completely erased it's memory & is showing Flysky1 under model 1 instead of Funtana. I am going to request an RMA number from Hobby Partz. What good are 20 model memories if the radio randomly erases it's memory?
neosunrise is online now Find More Posts by neosunrise
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 09:13 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
Yes, it reset itself completely & lost all settings & it took me several minutes to get my plane trimmed out & now I have to do it all over again. I will rebind this one more time & do a couple more flights while I am waiting for my RMA number. the frustrating thing is that it works great up until it resets itself. What it does first is that it won't hold Mode 2, it eventually reverts back to Mode 1 on it's own (Fortunately not while I am in the air at least).
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 09:38 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
I have one last test/theory I will try this weekend. On my Turnigy 9X radio, I avoided Model memory #1 because I had some funky results on that particular memory so I programmed a plane on Model #2 instead. I just copied my settings onto Model #2 & will try to fly my Funtana on that model memory& see if it does the same thing. I am also starting to think that heat may be playing a role as our tables have no shade & the sun can heat thinks up. I have a box that I use as a sunshade but the sun moves & sometimes gets to the radio. I have not been able to replicate this anomaly at home but just when I am at the field & consistently it is the Mode change that is what I am running into. I will let you know my findings but I really like this radio, I just wish it liked me.
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 09:57 PM
Registered User
neosunrise's Avatar
United States, KY, Lexington
Joined Jul 2012
139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrebman View Post
Yes, it reset itself completely & lost all settings & it took me several minutes to get my plane trimmed out & now I have to do it all over again. I will rebind this one more time & do a couple more flights while I am waiting for my RMA number. the frustrating thing is that it works great up until it resets itself. What it does first is that it won't hold Mode 2, it eventually reverts back to Mode 1 on it's own (Fortunately not while I am in the air at least).
Fortunately, you are flying fixed-wing plane. What if you are tuning a 450 class or higher class helicopter and it suddenly reset itself to Mode 1? I cannot imagine! Since the right stick is always in the middle, the main rotor is gonna spin very fast which will easily injure the pilot. This is what I worry about most.
neosunrise is online now Find More Posts by neosunrise
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 09:59 PM
Registered User
neosunrise's Avatar
United States, KY, Lexington
Joined Jul 2012
139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrebman View Post
I have one last test/theory I will try this weekend. On my Turnigy 9X radio, I avoided Model memory #1 because I had some funky results on that particular memory so I programmed a plane on Model #2 instead. I just copied my settings onto Model #2 & will try to fly my Funtana on that model memory& see if it does the same thing. I am also starting to think that heat may be playing a role as our tables have no shade & the sun can heat thinks up. I have a box that I use as a sunshade but the sun moves & sometimes gets to the radio. I have not been able to replicate this anomaly at home but just when I am at the field & consistently it is the Mode change that is what I am running into. I will let you know my findings but I really like this radio, I just wish it liked me.
I also like it. It looks nice and runs smooth. And the price is really good. I do not want to return it but if Flysky fails to respond to the issues, I will think about doing so.
neosunrise is online now Find More Posts by neosunrise
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 07:36 PM
Registered User
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
OK, well you're not going to believe this but my theory appears to be correct. I copied my setting from Model #1 to Model #2 & today put in 4 flights on my Mini Funtana & had ZERO problems with the Fly Sky FS-T6. I have no idea what is up with model memory #1 but I am going to avoid it & quite frankly with 20 model memories I really don't need it. I just erased the model name Funtana to "Do not use". I know it sounds crazy but changing to Model #2 seems to work. As it stands now I am going to keep the radio unless I find any other anomolies but not today that's for sure, it was fine.

P.S. - I want to make 1 correction, when I had the problems the radio did not "Reset" itself it just changed from Mode 2 to Mode 1 but my other settings were there.
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Fly Sky FS-T6 Radio - I got it! Here's the review. mrebman Radios 112 Mar 31, 2014 04:09 PM
Discussion Fly Sky FS-T6 Transmitter, Need help!! mrebman Radios 43 Jan 30, 2014 04:13 PM
For Sale 2.4G Fly-Sky (FS) CT6B 6-Channel Transmitter with 6 rec. chrisb22 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Dec 31, 2013 06:20 AM
Discussion New Fly Sky FS-T6 Timer Mod! mrebman Radios 1 Sep 19, 2012 08:40 AM
Discussion Fly Sky fs-th9x gear switch problem Easyrider1269 Radios 2 Jun 18, 2012 05:48 AM