HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 20, 2012, 10:53 AM
Registered User
jymz's Avatar
Delaware, Ohio
Joined Nov 2006
306 Posts
If your using standard servos that are rated for 6v you can use a LiFePo without a regulator.

I use 1000mah on 40 size planes, 700 on smaller and the big 2300 A123 on gas planes.

Jim
jymz is online now Find More Posts by jymz
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 20, 2012, 11:23 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined May 2012
35 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 600Bob View Post
The ones linked in my post, #9 are more than 1500mah, as high as 3200mah. I like as much as I can fit in the plane, generally a 2100mah for a plane the size of the Cherokee.

Maybe not the best prices but a list of whats available from one brand.

http://www.towerhobbies.com/products...hcam6415m.html

Another option with standard JR plug.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ter_Pack_.html

Do not go by pack voltage to determine when to stop flying, go by MAH used like with a Lipo.
How do I check the MAH used??
SohoR1 is offline Find More Posts by SohoR1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 11:49 AM
Registered User
United States, OR, Canby
Joined Aug 2011
2,247 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SohoR1 View Post
How do I check the MAH used??
You need a good programmable charger that has a display that shows how many MA have been put into the battery. The general rule for Lipos is to use no more than 80% of capacity, so for a 2000mah battery after charging the display would show 1600ma put back into it. For an RX pack you might fly 3 times then charge the battery and see what % of capacity you used then figure out what your max number of flights.

I have a 2100mah LiFe in a 72" gasoline plane that also runs the ignition, I can fly six 15 min. flights with plenty of battery left.
600Bob is offline Find More Posts by 600Bob
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 11:54 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined May 2012
35 Posts
Where can I find a good voltage tester that puts a load on the battery for when I am flying with NiMH for my rx?
SohoR1 is offline Find More Posts by SohoR1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 12:25 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Canby
Joined Aug 2011
2,247 Posts
One of these, lets you select the load.

http://www.hangar-9.com/Products/Def...?ProdID=HAN171

I have this one but I don't know what the load is. It displays the % of battery remaining.

http://media.hyperion.hk/dn/sentry/
600Bob is offline Find More Posts by 600Bob
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 12:38 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined May 2012
35 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 600Bob View Post
One of these, lets you select the load.

http://www.hangar-9.com/Products/Def...?ProdID=HAN171

I have this one but I don't know what the load is. It displays the % of battery remaining.

http://media.hyperion.hk/dn/sentry/
I have the sentry one as well, but I don't think it puts a load on it...or does it?

I'll check out the hangar 9.
SohoR1 is offline Find More Posts by SohoR1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 12:42 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Canby
Joined Aug 2011
2,247 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SohoR1 View Post
I have the sentry one as well, but I don't think it puts a load on it...or does it?

I'll check out the hangar 9.
I'm sure it puts some kind of load on the battery. A friend had a bad battery that showed good voltage on a Volt Watch indicator but when I put my tester on it after a moment the % bar went from 100% down to 0%.
600Bob is offline Find More Posts by 600Bob
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 08:41 PM
Garfield is my Pilot
acdii's Avatar
Joined May 2011
201 Posts
I had a 5c Nimh pack for my Kadet and found it would not test well after being in the back of the truck for a day in the heat(the plane), so I replaced it with an 1800mah Life, charged it once, and flew at least 6 flights over 3 weeks before sticking it on a charger, and it only needed 600 mah to fully charge. I use Futaba rx and servos, so no regulator needed.
acdii is offline Find More Posts by acdii
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 09:10 PM
Zor
Suspended Account
Ontario,Canada
Joined Feb 2007
9,742 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SohoR1 View Post
I have the sentry one as well, but I don't think it puts a load on it...or does it?

I'll check out the hangar 9.
Looking at the links_ _ _
This the first I ever read of a checker that can tell how much charge is left in a battery pack.

I sure wonder how it can do that.
It cannot be done by voltage measurement.

Zor
Zor is offline Find More Posts by Zor
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 22, 2012, 06:25 AM
Registered User
Mtn Home, Idaho
Joined Feb 2010
443 Posts
U wondered that to.

I run the castle CC bec. And a 1800 2cell lipo . The reason I run it is it has two power leads to the reciever. Piece of mind kinda thing
Evan03 is offline Find More Posts by Evan03
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 07:09 AM
Airplane Addict
LeeHene's Avatar
Spartanburg, SC
Joined Jan 2008
241 Posts
I'm running the Castle BEC in my Revolver 70 with a 3cell 2100 pack. (I fly a lot of electrics, so that's what I had on-hand)
The battery helps balance the plane by offsetting weight of the four stroke. After a full day at the field, I still go home with 50-60% left.
I've also got a CC BEC in my Escapade 40 with a 2cell 1600 lipo.

I run Turnigy BECs in all my electric foamies, and they work great. Maybe paranoid, but I just prefer Castle Creation and their solid reputation to power my two gas planks. Everybody knows ...BALSA CRASHES BETTER!!!
LeeHene is offline Find More Posts by LeeHene
Last edited by LeeHene; Sep 22, 2012 at 07:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 05:06 PM
Registered User
Tucson
Joined Nov 2009
980 Posts
I always use a RX battery. 2-3 cell LiPo with a 8-15A voltage regulator (aka switching Bec) that puts out 5 or 6v selected power to the RX and servos.

For 6 lb planes I have been using 1300 mAh LiPos. Larger planes could easily carry 2200 mAh batteries.

Make sure that the system will put out more than 5A, for 4 or more regular servos.
wuest3141 is online now Find More Posts by wuest3141
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 08:19 PM
Garfield is my Pilot
acdii's Avatar
Joined May 2011
201 Posts
Lipo or Life? The Life I have for my Kadet held up OK when it went in today, cracked the plastic covering, but remained cool and undamaged. I have had a lipo that didnt fair well in a crash and ballooned up, thankfully it didnt flare up, but did get pretty warm.
acdii is offline Find More Posts by acdii
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:53 AM
Zor
Suspended Account
Ontario,Canada
Joined Feb 2007
9,742 Posts
From post #24

I do not think we will ever get an explanation "how any device can tell us how much charge remains in a battery pack".

We can make deductions from how much charge a charger put in to reach full charge.

The link just had one more statement that I think was misleading like so many statements we read.

Zor
Zor is offline Find More Posts by Zor
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 24, 2012, 03:45 PM
Garfield is my Pilot
acdii's Avatar
Joined May 2011
201 Posts
The charger I have can discharge a pack down to a certain voltage, and show how many mah it used, but it has odd settings that could discharge past the low voltage of the pack, so you have to sit and watch it so you can stop when it reaches the correct voltage. I did that with my Life pack, and the low cutoff for that pack is 5 volts, the discharge cutoff was 4. After 75 minutes I stopped it at 6.35 volts and 800 mah used. Then I recharged it back up and it put in 1250 mah.
The discharge was after 2 hours flying time too. It is an 1800 mah pack.
acdii is offline Find More Posts by acdii
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Thunder Power 5S, 3300mA, 65C LiPO...NEVER USED drice Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 7 Jun 14, 2013 09:51 PM
Question Using LiPo for Rx FWCXC Batteries and Chargers 34 Sep 19, 2012 10:08 PM
Idea Using lipo charger to power laptop from 12 volt sammyc Batteries and Chargers 0 Apr 13, 2012 11:50 PM
Question Using 3 cell lipo to run RX directly (Nitro plane) maverick64 Fuel Plane Talk 17 Mar 16, 2012 08:47 PM
Discussion Question about using LiPO for Rx power RickAvery Power Systems 3 Nov 17, 2007 07:19 PM