HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 16, 2012, 08:36 PM
Joined Sep 2012
7 Posts
Discussion
FMS Rafale from Banana Hobby

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to this hobby and have just purchased a FMS Rafale from BH. I didn't do much research and know nothing about flying before I purchased the jet.

After buying and now waiting for it to arrive, I've done some research and have a few concerns that I'm hoping someone can help me out with.

1. I bought a RTF kit, and I'm not sure if I should invest more money to get a better TX.

2. with no flying experience, did I purchase the wrong first plane? I'm afraid that once I take it out and get it airborne, I'll just end up crashing it and getting turned off from flying.

3. Should I purchase a simulator to practice on before flying the new jet?

4. Is the supplied TX going to be that bad, or will it be good enough to learn on?

Any thoughts or hints would be appreciated.

JF
FU777 is offline Find More Posts by FU777
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 16, 2012, 08:48 PM
"Take Off" eh!
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,017 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FU777 View Post
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to this hobby and have just purchased a FMS Rafale from BH. I didn't do much research and know nothing about flying before I purchased the jet.

After buying and now waiting for it to arrive, I've done some research and have a few concerns that I'm hoping someone can help me out with.

1. I bought a RTF kit, and I'm not sure if I should invest more money to get a better TX.

You bought the wrong model to learn on. You need a high wing trainer like a foam Cessna or Cub. Yes! if you want to really learn how to fly RC planes..You need to invest in a quality programmable Tx like a Spectrum 5 or 6 channel.

2. with no flying experience, did I purchase the wrong first plane? I'm afraid that once I take it out and get it airborne, I'll just end up crashing it and getting turned off from flying.