SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 08, 2012, 08:09 PM
Arizona
Joined Jan 2006
166 Posts
Discussion
Sterling Stinson SR8 Reliant 31in ws

So I just won that airplane on an online auction today and was wondering about the plastic parts. Is there any way to somehow reproduce the plastic parts that come with the kit without destroying the originals? I know it would involve vacuum forming, but I've never done that before, so am in the dark. I would like to copy the patterns and build the airplane using all new wood and all new plastic parts as a control line airplane if possible. Thanks for the response!
65stang is offline Find More Posts by 65stang
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 09, 2012, 10:04 AM
Arizona
Joined Jan 2006
166 Posts
No ideas?
Old Sep 09, 2012, 11:15 AM
United States, KY, Taylorsville
Joined Mar 2010
1,697 Posts
Get some mold release wax and apply to the plastic 'molds' (inside surface). Get some PVA mold release (I use the kind for spray guns but there is the type you just 'wet' a cloth then wipe into the mold) apply and let dry. Now, just get some inexpensive 'Bondo' brand polyester resin and some 0.75oz cloth and lay that up into your plastic molds. A couple of layers should be plenty. After you pop the part out you can put more glass inside it if it seems 'thin'.
ARUP is offline Find More Posts by ARUP
Old Sep 09, 2012, 12:03 PM
Arizona
Joined Jan 2006
166 Posts
ARUP,

Thanks for the idea....but won't I have to break the original cowling to get the rocker blisters out in one piece? Is this wax fairly strong? Thanks
Last edited by 65stang; Sep 09, 2012 at 12:09 PM.
Old Sep 09, 2012, 11:06 PM
Joined Mar 2010
1,697 Posts