HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 08, 2012, 11:02 AM
Registered User
Northern California
Joined Sep 2002
402 Posts
Discussion
Help! F-86 DOA???

Hi guys, just got my Great Planes F-86, but I think it might be DOA.
I am using the Anylink module that came free with the plane. I have tried the module on both my Hitec Eclipse 7 and also my DX6i. On both radios the green light comes on the AnyLInk as it is supposed to. When I plug the battery into the plane though, I get nothing. No lights. No sound. Nada. Is there a way to bind it that I don't see? It seems others have come bound already. I tried moving all sticks to attempt to arm it in case it was mapped wrong. I am thinking it may be dead?

Shouldn't I have some sort of light on the receiver as soon as I plug a battery in even if it isn't bound? Never had a plane that didn't beep or something when you plug in the battery.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
I was SO ready to maiden today too...
fogflyer is offline Find More Posts by fogflyer
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 08, 2012, 11:27 AM
Registered User
Northern California
Joined Sep 2002
402 Posts
Oh, just wanted to add that I tried two different batteries also.
fogflyer is offline Find More Posts by fogflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 01:18 PM
BVM Viper Fever
pdawg's Avatar
United States, OH, Dayton
Joined Apr 2004
5,539 Posts
I fly futaba so it's tough to say what the problem is. Overall though I haven't heard of anyone reporting a GP f-86 that didn't work out of the box.
pdawg is online now Find More Posts by pdawg
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 01:22 PM
Registered User
Northern California
Joined Sep 2002
402 Posts
Could you possibly check and see what your F-86 does if you plug the battery into it while your TX is OFF? Is there any light or sound at all? If so, then I think my plane is dead. If not, perhaps it is just not bound to the AnyLink. Thanks for the response!
fogflyer is offline Find More Posts by fogflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 02:39 PM
"Unappreciative tosser"
eltreato's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Oct 2011
566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fogflyer View Post
Could you possibly check and see what your F-86 does if you plug the battery into it while your TX is OFF? Is there any light or sound at all? If so, then I think my plane is dead. If not, perhaps it is just not bound to the AnyLink. Thanks for the response!
i believe mine has a red light on the esc that illuminates when powered on. Right away I get control surface movement ,but the throttle doesnt activate until armed as per the manual. Hopefully it is just a loose connection 4 you. Good luck it lots of fun when it works
eltreato is offline Find More Posts by eltreato
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 02:49 PM
Registered User
Northern California
Joined Sep 2002
402 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eltreato View Post
i believe mine has a red light on the esc that illuminates when powered on. Right away I get control surface movement ,but the throttle doesnt activate until armed as per the manual. Hopefully it is just a loose connection 4 you. Good luck it lots of fun when it works
Thanks, it probably IS a loose connection, but seeing as I can't get to the ESC, it will probably have to go back. I would still like to verify that a light should come on even if there is no transmitter turned on. I am just trying to rule out that it is a problem with binding.
fogflyer is offline Find More Posts by fogflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2012, 12:25 AM
"Unappreciative tosser"
eltreato's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Oct 2011
566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fogflyer View Post
Thanks, it probably IS a loose connection, but seeing as I can't get to the ESC, it will probably have to go back. I would still like to verify that a light should come on even if there is no transmitter turned on. I am just trying to rule out that it is a problem with binding.
i will try checking for you tomorrow.
eltreato is offline Find More Posts by eltreato
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2012, 01:21 AM
"Unappreciative tosser"
eltreato's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Oct 2011
566 Posts
goog news. I just went out to my car in the driveway and put a battery in my Sabre. Nothing happened at all, no light, no sound, so yours ia probably fine. I fly with a dx6i on anylink so I think my usefulness ends here.

Good luck its a fun plane! Make sure you do a cg balance when you're ready to toss it up.

Edit. Oh wait u do have a dx6i. Make sure it is powered off, insert headphone jack then power to anylink. Once on I believe I powered on my tx and it boun the first time. I think there is a way to force a bind, but you may need a forum search for that. I got mine back in March so it has been a while. All I recall doing was reversing some controls and setting some expo and DR. I soon got rid of the d/r as I find responsiveness important with this little jet. I am sure you will get this sortrd out.
eltreato is offline Find More Posts by eltreato
Last edited by eltreato; Sep 09, 2012 at 01:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2012, 01:28 AM
Registered User
Northern California
Joined Sep 2002
402 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eltreato View Post
goog news. I just went out to my car in the driveway and put a battery in my Sabre. Nothing happened at all, no light, no sound, so yours ia probably fine. I fly with a dx6i on anylink so I think my usefulness ends here.

Good luck its a fun plane! Make sure you do a cg balance when you're ready to toss it up.
Thanks, I appreciate that!
Problem is, now it could be either a power problem on the plane, or a problem with the Anylink. I will try and do a little troubleshooting with the power on the plane. Try and see if it is getting power,at the receiver when plugged in. Maybe it will just magically work in the morning :-)
fogflyer is offline Find More Posts by fogflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2012, 01:42 AM
Registered User
MUTCAKE's Avatar
USA, WA, Bremerton
Joined Mar 2009
946 Posts
Yeah I had the same problem. I can't even remember how it was fixed but it is fine now. I could not understand how to get it to work even though many here explained it several times. Then I finally figured it out from what others were saying. As soon as i figured it out i saw the short video of how to program the tx to respond to the any link, go figure. Any way there is a video from Great Planes that explains how to properly set it up. Google it . do what it says to do and you will be good to go !
BTW: There is nothing wrong with your plane or radio. ( I hope) you just need to get your tx in sync with the anylink. Watch the video.
Good Luck.
MUTCAKE is offline Find More Posts by MUTCAKE
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2012, 01:50 AM
"Unappreciative tosser"
eltreato's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Oct 2011
566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fogflyer View Post
Thanks, I appreciate that!
Problem is, now it could be either a power problem on the plane, or a problem with the Anylink. I will try and do a little troubleshooting with the power on the plane. Try and see if it is getting power,at the receiver when plugged in. Maybe it will just magically work in the morning :-)

No problem, it looks like u reponded b4 I edited my last post. I think it will just come down to messing with it until it binds.

cheers!
eltreato is offline Find More Posts by eltreato
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2012, 10:23 AM
Registered User
Northern California
Joined Sep 2002
402 Posts
OK, after a little troubleshooting today, here is what I have.
The batteries are all good . I DO have 5 volts at the plug coming out of the ESC. (Checking that was NOT an easy task... man those things are small!) I have watched the videos... twice... and seem to be doing everything properly as far as setup up the TX goes.

I do have one last thing I was hoping someone could check for me. I was thinking perhaps the ESC got plugged into the wrong spot on the receiver? Can someone verify that their ESC (the plug with the red/white/black wires) is plugged into the inboard copilot side? That would be the second closest one to the right wing. It is a shot in the dark, but I am running out of ideas.
Thanks to all of you that have helped me out!
fogflyer is offline Find More Posts by fogflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2012, 04:52 PM
"Unappreciative tosser"
eltreato's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Oct 2011
566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fogflyer View Post
OK, after a little troubleshooting today, here is what I have.
The batteries are all good . I DO have 5 volts at the plug coming out of the ESC. (Checking that was NOT an easy task... man those things are small!) I have watched the videos... twice... and seem to be doing everything properly as far as setup up the TX goes.

I do have one last thing I was hoping someone could check for me. I was thinking perhaps the ESC got plugged into the wrong spot on the receiver? Can someone verify that their ESC (the plug with the red/white/black wires) is plugged into the inboard copilot side? That would be the second closest one to the right wing. It is a shot in the dark, but I am running out of ideas.
Thanks to all of you that have helped me out!
i will check mine tonight for you.
eltreato is offline Find More Posts by eltreato
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2012, 07:17 PM
"Unappreciative tosser"
eltreato's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Oct 2011
566 Posts
confirmed it is inboard on starboard side.
eltreato is offline Find More Posts by eltreato
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2012, 11:39 AM
Just some guy
D Johnson's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
662 Posts
Contact GP Hobby Services. The contact info is in your manual.

DJ
D Johnson is offline Find More Posts by D Johnson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold F-16 and F-86 80mm edf airframes drats Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 3 Jul 03, 2012 03:13 AM
Sold Freewing F-86 and Starmax F-35 Kenneth Henius Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 9 Jul 02, 2012 12:16 AM
For Sale F-16 and F-86 80mm edfs drats Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 3 Jun 28, 2012 10:24 PM
Sold LPU San Antonio TX: JPower 50mm MiG-15, F-86, F-22 and F-35. FoamJunkE Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 3 May 09, 2012 12:00 PM
For Sale Freewing F-86 and Starmax F-35 Kenneth Henius Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 3 Mar 02, 2012 10:59 AM