HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 25, 2003, 10:23 PM
Scratch fly,Scratch crash
Roswell, N.M.
Joined Nov 2003
384 Posts
Question
Hot Glue? Tape?

OK. I'm an electric rookie. I'm crossing over from glo. Our traditional construction methods call for CA and epoxy. I am reading and hearing alot about hot glue and tape!??? Does hot glue really hold up to G force? Crashes? Repair? Hot glue is as heavy as epoxy, isn't it?? I can see how hot glue would be somewhat flexible. And tape? I'm so used to using actual hinges. Am having a problem adhering them to the EPS and EPP though! Is this why you use tape?? Comments please!?
scratchbildr is offline Find More Posts by scratchbildr
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 25, 2003, 10:28 PM
nw ohio
Joined Jan 2002
491 Posts
tape on most planes is not hold hold it together as much as to strengthen it. as well as give color. im not sure what types of planes you're talking about. we have foam safe ca that is used alot that is lightweight.
easy2fly is offline Find More Posts by easy2fly
Old Nov 25, 2003, 10:31 PM
Scratch fly,Scratch crash
Roswell, N.M.
Joined Nov 2003
384 Posts
Some planes I see have tape on alerons, rudder, elevator. Used as a hinge? Mostly FFF planes. A few EPS too.
scratchbildr is offline Find More Posts by scratchbildr
Old Nov 25, 2003, 11:12 PM
Whadda YOU lookin' at?
United States, CA, Folsom
Joined May 2002
2,609 Posts
Hello,

Welcome to the FOAMIES group. I'll try to help a bit.

As for sticking anything to EPP or EPS you will need to first spray or brush on some "stick-um". Typically folks use 3M 77 spray adhesive - my choice as well.

HOWEVER before you apply ANY adhesive on EPS foam do a test on some scrape or may end up MELTING your wing!