HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 06, 2012, 11:47 AM
United States, NY, New York
Joined Nov 2011
366 Posts
Mini-HowTo
Need help with custom frame design? I can help with 3D prototyping

Hey guys and gals, I recently got into multi-rotor stuff for 2 main reasons :

- planes were taking up way too much room in my apartment (boxes of bits and pieces as)
- lack of car and inability to access a flying field on my own

I do 3D for a living, these days it's mostly developing/scripting, technical resolutions and lighting/rendering, but on top of that in early career I had 3-4 years of experience as a 3d modeler , where I did nothing but modeling/digital sculpting.
Now if I'm not using 3D for work, I use it for everything else - prototyping, various volume/area calculations, physics simulation etc.
I'm a fast modeler and for purpose of prototyping models don't have to be all that detailed and in most cases I dont even need to think about proper topology and other nuances, so I'd be more than happy to share my skill and help out anyone who might need it.
Mini portfolio - http://tinyurl.com/c4yuxdt

As I already mentioned I live in an apt building, and building stuff is quite challenging sometimes, lack of heavy machinery, a garage and a back yard is killing me, but I found ways to work around this (such as putting a chair in bathtub in drillign/cutting wood on it to avoid saw dust from spreading all over the place )

Lack of CNC, laser cutter or any precision tools suggested that I should be using plywood and wooden dowels as main build materials. They're cheap, easy to work with and could be painted, sanded, shaped just about any way you want.

Here is my current workflow

- I quickly design a frame in 3D, making sure that everything will fit, sometimes even animate arms and wires if I need the frame to be foldable
- make sure all parts are 2D and could be made from flat sheets
- export vector for each plate or "level"
- print parts on paper