HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by pm1, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Sep 15, 2012, 02:13 PM
pm1
Registered User
Germany, BY, Gestratz
Joined Oct 2008
244 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by godwisper View Post
most probably its the gps unit thats faulty as when I connect to ucenter even if I see data at 115200 I dont get any satellite fix... the wire connecting the antenna had gone off and had asked a friend to resolder it back....can it be that it got damaged ?
Hi, sorry to say, but the soldering looks really bad. I broke the antenna connector off at my board too. It is not so easy to solder it correctly again, since it is surface mounted. But there must be an other problem too, otherwise it should communicate with u-center....
pm1 is offline Find More Posts by pm1
Last edited by pm1; Sep 15, 2012 at 03:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 15, 2012, 02:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
276 Posts
It communicates with ucentre...its just doesnt get a fix as if there is no signal. Now its either I did solder on different points the antenna or else something else....
godwisper is offline Find More Posts by godwisper
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 05:40 PM
CD-ROM Junkie
Art Newland's Avatar
Camas, Washington, USA
Joined Apr 2001
13,841 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by godwisper View Post
It communicates with ucentre...its just doesnt get a fix as if there is no signal. Now its either I did solder on different points the antenna or else something else....
Did you try it outside?
Art Newland is online now Find More Posts by Art Newland
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 12:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
276 Posts
Yes I did
godwisper is offline Find More Posts by godwisper
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 10:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
276 Posts
I might order another one but to which points does the antenna wire connect too ?
godwisper is offline Find More Posts by godwisper
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 11:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Bought the SE Flight Control Board V1.0 + IC2 board and the GPS module on a whim from RCtimer. Thanks to this great thread and directions I was able to get the GPS up only moments after opening the package!



Sadly I believe this was probably the easy part..
JackinFtLaud is offline Find More Posts by JackinFtLaud
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:18 AM
Registered User
Brazil, So Paulo, So Jos dos Campos
Joined Aug 2012
68 Posts
Everytime I receive I2C errors (showing error number 26 now).
Im using firmware v2.1 on Crius Multiwii v1.0

My GPS configuration:

UBLOX with 38400 baud rate...soldering pin 13 /14.
I2C updated with the lasted version - v2.1.

May you help me? How can I fix it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackinFtLaud View Post
Bought the SE Flight Control Board V1.0 + IC2 board and the GPS module on a whim from RCtimer. Thanks to this great thread and directions I was able to get the GPS up only moments after opening the package!



Sadly I believe this was probably the easy part..
QUENAZ is offline Find More Posts by QUENAZ
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 02:51 PM
pm1
Registered User
Germany, BY, Gestratz
Joined Oct 2008
244 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by QUENAZ View Post
Everytime I receive I2C errors (showing error number 26 now).

May you help me? How can I fix it?
26 errors in what time? If it is not counting up continosly, it`s not fine, but it should works in principle. I seem to have some i2c errors at startup. The counter often shows errors....
pm1 is offline Find More Posts by pm1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 09:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by QUENAZ View Post
Everytime I receive I2C errors (showing error number 26 now).
Im using firmware v2.1 on Crius Multiwii v1.0

My GPS configuration:

UBLOX with 38400 baud rate...soldering pin 13 /14.
I2C updated with the lasted version - v2.1.

May you help me? How can I fix it?

I only get IC2 errors when the IC2-GPS board is not plugged into the Multiwii board. Otherwise it stays at 0 as you can see in the screen shot. It was running for a while when I took that. Perhaps you have a bad connection or a damaged connector on one of the two boards?
JackinFtLaud is offline Find More Posts by JackinFtLaud
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 02:38 PM
beo
Registered User
Trs Coraes - MG - Brasil
Joined Oct 2008
5 Posts
GPS Position Hold dont work

Hello everyone and pm1.
I use the board CRIUS SE V1.0 with GPS-NAV and GPS uBlox.
I soldered pins.
I uploaded the new firmware for the card NAV.
I configured correctly the file gps.ino (for pids) and the parameters related to the config.h gps even hit the magnetic declination (and others) in config.h.
I did the calibration mag.
The led in the NAV blinks 3x indicating positioning 3D and the software MultiWiiConf show location and from about 10 satellites.
But anyway, I tried with several PIDs and does not hold position. Tried with pids standards and was increasing and then decreasing, gps hold woks inverse, on acc only is better.
Tried with mag mag on and then off and the result are the same.
The baro is disable.
It simply does not work.

See the video
Quadcopter MultiWii 2.1 GPS Hold Failed (1 min 25 sec)

In this video I try 3 times, when I say "GPS on" I move the switch for GPS Hold and wait, when it goes away I disable "GPS OFF".

Please someone help me.

Thank you very much (sorry by English)
beo is offline Find More Posts by beo
Last edited by beo; Sep 29, 2012 at 03:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 06:23 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Fort Gratiot Township
Joined Apr 2011
41 Posts
Great thread. I'm sure with this instruction in this thread I will have it working in no time. I am a little stuck however.

I have had the Crius multiwii running 2.0. I just got my ftdi programer and had no problems doing the multiwii upgrade with the fc to 2.1.

Problem: I added pins to the Crius I2c board and plugged it in and it seems to communicate appropriately, however when I upload the sketch it just stalls during the upload. Arduino program never errors, just shows uploading, and the fdti and i2c board blink. Like its flashing ok, but never finishes.

Byte wise it seems to be about half of what multiwii 2.1 is so I don't think it should take all that long.

Any guidance? I have worked thru other flashing issues in the past, but this is new to me. I have tried changing boards in the Arduino prog too.


Thanks
Mahskeeter is offline Find More Posts by Mahskeeter
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 09:56 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Fort Gratiot Township
Joined Apr 2011
41 Posts
Walking away and coming back later apprently helped. I had the ftdi plugged in backwards. I thought I checked it a few times before. I have since been able to flash the Ic2 board.

One of the reasons I have no posts is because I can usually find what I need by searching around. I'm usually just a lurker.

Anyways, Great group!

Thanks!

Scott
Mahskeeter is offline Find More Posts by Mahskeeter
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 08:04 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
20 Posts
I receive I2C errors

I got a lot of I2C errors.... i updated the 2 a version

If i disable #define I2C_GPS in config.h the errors are gone...

I didn't soldering the 14 + 15 pins. If i do that wil the i2c errors maybe gone?

The GPS it self is working i got afix within 40 seconds....
mast3rwurm is offline Find More Posts by mast3rwurm
Last edited by mast3rwurm; Oct 01, 2012 at 08:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 02:49 PM
pm1
Registered User
Germany, BY, Gestratz
Joined Oct 2008
244 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mast3rwurm View Post
I got a lot of I2C errors.... i updated the 2 a version

If i disable #define I2C_GPS in config.h the errors are gone...

I didn't soldering the 14 + 15 pins. If i do that wil the i2c errors maybe gone?

The GPS it self is working i got afix within 40 seconds....
If you get i2c errors, the connection between fc and i2c board is not ok. Did you connect +/+ rx/tx tx/rx -/- ?

This problem has nothing to do with the gps module!

- how does the i2c board blink?
- which fc you are using?
pm1 is offline Find More Posts by pm1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 02:55 PM
pm1
Registered User
Germany, BY, Gestratz
Joined Oct 2008
244 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beo View Post
Tried with mag mag on and then off and the result are the same.
Check, if mag orientation is ok. check, if the copter in the gui follows exactly the direction of the copter!
pm1 is offline Find More Posts by pm1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion CRIUS GPS with I2C little nellie Multirotor Electronics 72 Aug 27, 2014 03:14 PM
Discussion FC I2C-GPS NAV Module jy0933 Multirotor Electronics 7 Mar 28, 2014 06:46 PM
Discussion Crius NEO-6M Ublox GPS+Nano Mini Board+ Multiwii Control Board I2C GPS Kit godwisper Multirotor Electronics 5 Aug 25, 2012 04:03 AM
Discussion RC Timer GPS and I2C-NAV module for MWC Foam boy Multirotor Electronics 3 Jul 16, 2012 08:41 PM
Sold ArduPilotMega autopilot board, APM IMU Sensor Shield, I2C Magnetometer and GPS pilot006 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Mar 13, 2012 05:07 PM