HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:09 AM
The New Guy
Joined Aug 2012
61 Posts
Discussion
What should be the next plane AFTER the high wing trainer ???

Hello again Fellow Pilots,

I am a newbie who has a question on the next plane AFTER the high wing trainer. I would like to start investing in it and take my time getting all parts needed. I have narrowed down my selections to the following could you please give me some advice or direction:

The Cherokee - http://www.greatplanes.com/airplanes/gpma1033.html
The Escapade - http://www.greatplanes.com/airplanes/gpma1200.html
The Shoestring - http://www.greatplanes.com/airplanes/gpma1328.html
The Super Sportster EP - http://www.electrifly.com/largeelectrics/gpma1161.html
The SR22 Turbo - http://www.electrifly.com/largeelectrics/gpma1166.html

And a Follow up Question are Biplanes a good choice to get into after a trainer?

Thank you,
Robert
PS I want to stay in electric
rbgordon is offline Find More Posts by rbgordon
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 31, 2012, 01:07 PM
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Jan 2010
3,035 Posts
I wouldn't invest in one of those planes until you have a little bit more practice. Get a parkzone T-28 and bash on it for a bit. Then you may have better luck. If you crash the T-28, it's an easy, quick fix. Not a bunch of woodwork and covering.

As for biplanes, the WWI style (short noses) are a bit more advanced than say a Tigermoth or Stearman, which are quite easy to fly.
restlessswind is offline Find More Posts by restlessswind
Old Aug 31, 2012, 05:52 PM
Rocket Programmer
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2007
25,419 Posts
Yeah, those are nice planes, and a couple of them are high performance types. You're going to want at least one more park-basher, preferably foam, in between your trainer and planes like the ones in your list.