SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 30, 2012, 12:46 AM
Joined Aug 2012
3 Posts
Discussion
Noob here, just got my first Heli and it's was DOA out of the box

Hey everyone,

I just picked up a Double Horse 9117 from my local fair in MN. I practiced for about 3 days with a small unit to get the hang of flight, Now it was time to take out the big dog. So I did my first charge and prepared for launch. I turned the helicopter on then the remote. After about 3 seconds, a servo on the side started buzzing and spinnging until it broke the connector buckle. If I turn the helicopter on with out the remote it's fine, but right when I turn the remote on, the servo starts spinning, and doesn't stop.

Do i have a bad servo or motherboard? Any thoughts?

Thanks
schreif is offline Find More Posts by schreif
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 30, 2012, 01:24 AM
Fly Runaway Fans
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Jan 2009
9,387 Posts
Sorry to hear.

Do the instructions specify to turn the transmitter ("remote") on AFTER the heli? Some do but many insist the transmitter be on first.

Even if "heli first" is what the instructions say, what happens doesn't narrow the problem much. That is, the heli may do nothing until it sees the TX. So when it does wrong (servo) it could be the TX telling it to, or it could have just been waiting to go wrong.

There will be a model thread for 9117. Try the search in the 'micro' section.
arbilab is offline Find More Posts by arbilab
Old Aug 30, 2012, 03:44 AM
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
11,999 Posts
Welcome to the forum

Most radio controlled models require you to switch on the transmitter first, and then the receiver in the model. But like arbilab has said, check your manual to be sure.