SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 27, 2012, 01:13 PM
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
Discussion
Did my first QUAD long range FPV flight and it was awesome. Using 500mw 900Mhz

Well for me this was long range. I have a DJI F450 and with the inverted Vee I could go about 1,500ft so I put the cheap stock whip antenna back on and this time I got 2,600ft until there was some interference. My DX8 showed I had full signal the whole time. I'm still learning FPV and to fly multi copters so forgive the crappy flying.
I want to try a 8bd patch antenna to see if it helps.
My ground station is very basic and just a lunchbox and my CCTV-900 sitting on it and my Vizux 920 goggles. I use a GoPro2 for recording and FPV camera.

I was at a HUGE park and I was the ONLY PERSON there. Everyone else was too smart to be outside playing in the 110 degree scorching Arizona heat.

In the winter time I could never do this flight since there would be tons of people below.

It's a very boring video (I don't know how to edit). Fast forward to 3:50 and I start my journey home.

FPV flight with DJI F450 quadcopter. Went out 2,500ft (8 min 1 sec)
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Last edited by jasper7821; Aug 27, 2012 at 02:32 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 28, 2012, 10:09 AM
Joined Jul 2012
2 Posts
well done.. I'm still learning all this.. lots of parameters and things to learn..
Hebar is offline Find More Posts by Hebar
Old Aug 28, 2012, 10:34 AM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,392 Posts
nice Jasper...im getting better at this too...going out on lunch breaks and after work flying everyday and its getting easier all the time.

My next venture is to build up my ground station. Im using the wrap 920's as well and I have a 9" lcd coming so that others can watch when i have an audience...or if i dont feel like using the goggles.