HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 25, 2012, 09:53 PM
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
United States, HI, Kailua
Joined Feb 2012
2,360 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by octane81 View Post
I think its strange bevrc says i need to drain the battery to 9v for the current sensor to show the true capacity of the battery,

Does anyone here really drain their battery to 9v? i think you would get a puffy lipo then

At what voltage is a lipo actually empty?
I try to land at 10.8v. Your battery won't last as long below that. This seems to leave 10-15%. The battery should never go below 9.6. Below 10v, it drops off very fast, there is hardly any mAh left it isn't linear.
iskess is offline Find More Posts by iskess
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:20 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,432 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ror1 View Post
IMO: why do you need mah used?
you have voltage and that tells you the true discharge state of the battery.
why make things more complicated. I have not even installed the mah reader on the old NOVA OSD.
if something is defective with the battery the mah may not be the expected value and you keep flying only to crash. If you watch the voltage, you will know something is wrong and land..
I wonder how long water must flow on the Danube to realize people that measuring a lipo capacity using a current sensor is the most misleading and useless gimmick in our hobby...
You all fly in too hot countries it seems, else should know that under 5 Celsius degrees ( not minus ) any lipo start to diminish it's real capacity drastically ! And it's even forbidden to charge one at outdoor negative temperatures.
Voltage rules ! and if having a per cell sensor, it's even better !

3.7V per cell under no load means 15% capacity remaining, if you go under 10% you halve the battery life, i.e. charge cycles. Your battery will appreciate very much if you land always with 30% on board, i.e. about 3.75V per cell.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:18 AM
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
United States, HI, Kailua
Joined Feb 2012
2,360 Posts
I don't know if the Storm uses the same GPS cable as the Nova, but if so read this: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1886
iskess is offline Find More Posts by iskess
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:31 AM
Registered User
spleen's Avatar
Joined May 2012
16 Posts
Rssi with Rmilec

I have resolved thanks
spleen is offline Find More Posts by spleen
Last edited by spleen; Sep 26, 2012 at 02:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 11:32 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
341 Posts
New V1.02 firmware

comming soon
extraline is offline Find More Posts by extraline
Last edited by extraline; Sep 27, 2012 at 11:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 11:56 AM
RTFM
octane81's Avatar
Antarctica
Joined Oct 2010
1,178 Posts
Very cool ... heading + altitude lock in PA mode good work!!
octane81 is offline Find More Posts by octane81
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 12:08 PM
RTFM
octane81's Avatar
Antarctica
Joined Oct 2010
1,178 Posts
Also it would be nice to have a CURRENT SENSOR FACTOR in the menu.
For example CS Factor: 1.3

So we manualy can adjust the mAh reading to be perfect for the battery.

My test flight show 2087mAh used , then I would like to put in a CS factor of 1.3 ... and the OSD would show about 2713 which is about the same as what I charged back.
octane81 is offline Find More Posts by octane81
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:03 PM
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
United States, HI, Kailua
Joined Feb 2012
2,360 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by extraline View Post
comming soon
Yang, it is very good to hear from you and have you on this forum. The more presence you have here, the more confidence the community will have in your brand.
We are all very impressed with what you have done with the Storm, and we look forward to consistent improvements in the future.

Is it possible to have the GPS coordinates disappear when above a selectable altitude/distance ratio? That's how other OSDs do it, and it's nice to have the screen clutter removed when you don't need it.
Thank you again for being here.
iskess is offline Find More Posts by iskess
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:06 PM
RTFM
octane81's Avatar
Antarctica
Joined Oct 2010
1,178 Posts
Gps cordinates is only shown when rth is active
octane81 is offline Find More Posts by octane81
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:48 PM
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
United States, HI, Kailua
Joined Feb 2012
2,360 Posts
Oh yes, I see that now. That is a very simple solution that should work just fine. Well done.

A question: do you still have over-ride authority on the sticks while in RTH just like the Nova?
iskess is offline Find More Posts by iskess
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 03:04 PM
RTFM
octane81's Avatar
Antarctica
Joined Oct 2010
1,178 Posts
yes , tested
octane81 is offline Find More Posts by octane81
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 03:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
61 Posts
So when the new firmware is released how do i go about upgrading it?

new to FPV and OSD tech, could do with a little runthrough.

Cheers
mawright89 is offline Find More Posts by mawright89
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 03:21 AM
Registered User
spleen's Avatar
Joined May 2012
16 Posts
On there 2th screen OSD show an voltage 7,7, but manual say that osd work only with 3s battery or more, that's right? Someone have try to connect only an 2s battery for everything (esc,osd,video tx)?
spleen is offline Find More Posts by spleen
Last edited by spleen; Sep 28, 2012 at 03:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 09:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
341 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spleen View Post
On there 2th screen OSD show an voltage 7,7, but manual say that osd work only with 3s battery or more, that's right? Someone have try to connect only an 2s battery for everything (esc,osd,video tx)?
you can use 2S lipo for OSD, but your camera and video transmitter need 12V
extraline is offline Find More Posts by extraline
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 10:43 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
341 Posts
test mAh again.
i use medusa wattmeter a bulb.
i have a 3S Life battery in home so i use it.
but i tested only 404mAh.
tomorrow i will test more
extraline is offline Find More Posts by extraline
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! CYCLOPS OSD 1.5 GPS problem. grassiew FPV Equipment 2 Apr 26, 2013 09:30 PM
Discussion Use the CYCLOPS NOVA OSD System Auto-return function Rc Heli Halle Multirotor Talk 14 Dec 22, 2012 08:08 PM
For Sale For sale Cyclops OSD NOVA Schmoopiebunny FPV Equipment (FS/W) 26 Mar 26, 2012 11:18 PM
For Sale Cyclops Easy OSD V1.6 New In Package stewtheman FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Mar 23, 2012 12:08 AM
For Sale burned mainboard Cyclops nova osd parts for sale or trade rellik demanon FPV Equipment (FS/W) 11 Mar 09, 2012 09:13 PM